We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Complex”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Ranked #18 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Complex”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Writing this in reception with the sun splitting the stones outside! We would highly recommend this hotel and an upgrade to sea view room is well worth it. Our one bed roomed apartment was huge (501) with an uninterrupted view of the pool and the sea. The living room had two sofa beds if required with air conditioning in both the living room and the bedroom. Fridge, cooker and dishwasher in the kitchen area with no shortage of utensils if you didn't want to eat out. All the staff very polite and helpful if required. Keep an eye out for "Happy Hour" in the bar as drinks are half price! Cannot comment on the food as we went out for our meals in the evening and would highly recommend Donaldos, Three Palms, Wild and Co, and for a relaxing drink Calipto Bar at the back of the hotel and around the corner. As previously stated you can get to the strip via the sixth floor which avoids "Cardiac Hill".
Would have no problem returning if the price was right but they do seem to have upped the rate which may make it expensive for self catering.

Room Tip: Room 501 is on the corner on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of the pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your positive feedback about our hotel. Hope to see you again at the Club soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    381
    193
    71
    48
See reviews for
359
455
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a hen weekend in oura view! Appartments r very well equipped, cleaned regularly and pool area and views r stunning! It's a very large complex but that didn bother us. The drinks in pool area are very over priced and service was slow, we just bought r drinks from the super market 2 mins away. Over all we had a really nice time and I would return :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanyafrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments about your stay at the Oura View Beach Club. We hope you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one week at Easter here in a two-bedroom apartment (the biggest we have ever been in). As there were five in our party we had loads of space which was fantastic. Super king-sized bed in one bedroom ( plus a sofa bed) and two large single beds in the other one. The living room also had two sofa beds. We also had two immaculate bathrooms which were ideal when sharing with two teenagers and Granny!!!!
Although we didn't have a pool or sea-view ( which was a bit disappointing at first) we realized our huge balcony got full sunshine all day. On checking in we asked at reception if we could have an apartment with a sea-view but we were informed that two-bedroom apartments didn't have a seaview. The bed linen and towels were changed every other day but the bins were emptied every day by very pleasant staff.
The pool and gardens were beautiful and spotlessly clean and just beside the beach which
was just perfect.
As we were self-catering the supermarkets were excellent especially The International under
The Praia da Oura hotel (in-store bakery- breakfast croissants to die for) !!!!
Plenty of good restaurants nearby especially Neto where the staff were so friendly and lovely food. We were far enough away from the Strip that the noise didn't interrupt our sleep.
The apartments above you can sometimes be noisy especially if there are young children running about on the tile floor - or some people running around in their stilettoes!!!!!
We viisited the indoor/heated pool just once as the surroundings were so dull and oppressive
compared to the outdoor pools. It could definitely do with a make-over!!
The hotel is beautifully situated in Santa Eulalia - we had a pleasant surprise when we arrived - as we thought it was right in Albufeira. It is a good 20 minute walk into The Old Town which we enjoyed but it is quite hilly on the way back. Hotel entertainment just adequate - we enjoyed the Arabian and Latin dancers and the Happy Hours in the Bar'
We will definitely be back to this fabulous place again .

Room Tip: two-bedroom apartments are huge with two bathrooms. Good idea when booking to check if they have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGR4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for the comments on your stay with us in Albufeira. We are happy that you liked our hotel and our customer service. We hope you come and stay again perhaps in one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are just home from portugal and spent 10 nights in the oura-view beach club hotel. By far the nicest hotel we have stayed in. We usualy choose self catering as we like to eat out and usualy go for budget accommodation. This was still fairly priced and was a very clean hotel. We had a sea view apartment and it was well worth paying extra for the view! All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The beach is directly infront of the hotel and the pool is lovely although cold (all outdoor pools abroad tend to be cold). We ate in the restaurant by the pool which has good food. Plenty of places to eat and drink very close so as a family with young kids this was an ideal location for us. The only down side was the drinks in the hotel bar were over priced and you don't get a double bed but apart from that we enjoyed every bit of our holiday!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. We hope to see you next soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

(M41/F35) We spent a long weekend Minimoon here in April 2013. I can honestly say we had a fantastic time. The hotel location is fabulous, situated right on the beach with stunning sea views to the front, and the main restaurants and bars a 5 -10 min stroll from the back of the hotel. We opted for a studio room with sea view on the 7th floor, which came with a full size double fold down bed. The bed was great and sooo comfortable. Room well furnished, spotlessly clean and a fab tv with BBC1 and ITV! I asked for an upper floor room and would recommend floor 3 or above to take full advantage of the stunning sea views. All staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Our first day was cloudy which allowed us to use the free indoor pool and jacuzzi. There is an additional indoor pool/spa at extra cost, however the free one was great. (you do need a swim cap tho so bring one or buy half price at the on site mini market). The outdoor pool was fab but cold in April, however i did brave it and was fine once your in. Would be amazing (and warmer) in the height of summer. Pool bar brilliant, can recommend the cheese/ham toastie with a beer in the sun for lunch! The gardens and pool area were also spotless and well looked after. Checked out at 11am for a 5pm pick up. Provided with a secure room area at reception for luggage and free use of a full size room to shower and change in later. What a brilliant service! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poolpocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer satisfaction is very important to us thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we stayed for 9 days at Easter we only paid around £400 for a 1 bed apartment we expected not to have a sea view but were pleasantly surprised, we were on the first floor facing the pool. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was immaculately clean. The maids came every day and put in fresh towels and loads of loo roll. There was kitchen roll, washing up liquid, cleaning cloths and 3 tea towels left for us. The only down side for us was the fact that other guests were noisy at silly times of morning / night. As it has a tiled floor you heard everyone coming and going and moving furniture around which woke us up but we soon went back off to sleep.

It was raining a few days so we used the indoor pool which was fine but you have to wear a swim cap. If you are prepared buy one before you go as they charged u 5 euros per cap at the hotel. The apartment was very well equipped we watched a dvd one day as it rained and we had a microwave and dishwasher. All the kitchen equipment was good quality and immaculately clean too.

The outdoor pool was beautiful but very cold (but it was March) The slide was only on during the last couple of days of our holiday and we also noticed there was no lifeguard whilst we were there, the pool is very deep in places (11ft). The access to the beach was directly at the back of the hotel and the beach was beautiful. The hotel bar was very quiet whilst we were there but this was quite nice to escape from the madness of the strip. Prices for a pint of lager was around 3 euro in hotel bar. They had a pool table (5e / hour) and internet access (1e / 10 mins) in the bar too.

The reception staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. One night we visited the sister hotel, we went to the piano bar for a drink. It was lovely we took the kids to the kids disco from 7 - 8 but were disappointing the room smelled of lager and wasn't very nice. There was 1 DJ trying to entertain the kids but not managing very well. we didn't go back to this again.

Overall an excellent holiday for extremely good value I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a high floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and yes, Oura View Beach Club is in a great location! We pride ourselves also on providing great value for money. Oura View Beach Club and our sister hotels are all located close to the beach and the night life. We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 3 weeks in March 2013 holidaying in the Algarve. We stayed in the Oura View Beach Club, which is not really a hotel, but is all apartments. Although the weather was very changeable, we had a great time, mainly due to the amenities and recreations available, and the fantastic entertainment staff.
We went on a couple of guided walks, for a very reasonable price, which included transport, a guide and lunch upon our return. I would recommend these days out to anyone capable of walking 5 miles or so.
We will definitely return to this location, as do numerous people every year.

Room Tip: Floor 6 is on the upper ground level (the hotel is built on a clif) and is just opposite the Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkjohnson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments about your stay at the Oura View Beach Club. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,153 reviews
3.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club

Property: Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing