We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Ranked #17 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been to the club 3 times and are returning this summer. We earn infinity points so we get the infinity rooms. Beautiful! The last two times we went with grandma but this summer we are going with our uncle/ aunt. The kids entertainment is great! They love the waterslides and enjoy playing pool in the evening, if you come here I recommend the beach with a tunnel through the cliff to another hidden beach, the beach bar is great! I forgot what the beach is called, just ask at reception!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a great view but make sure your high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 253EdwardT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your positive comments about our hotel. We do have a good range of entertainment on site and our Reception staff are helpful and knowledgeable and will be able to advise you on beaches and other local amenities. Hope to see you again at the Club soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our second visit to the Beach club, we stayed last year and enjoyed it so much we decided to go back again this February to March, we love the staff, the views and the Apartment.
Just a small criticism is the inside swimming pool area and the Spa area is getting tired, the lift to the pool is still awaiting repair.
But it has not put us off, and we are planning to go back this month April for another couple of weeks.

Room Tip: The higher floor you get the better the view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided great customer service. We have passed on your remark about the indoor swimming pool and Spa area to the Management Team. We look forward to seeing you again here in Albufeira!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we have stayed in several properties in the area over the past 20 years and this has to be one of the best. We hadn't been for 4 years and there were some nice new additions to the area.

I had read the reviews about how well equipped the kitchen is and they were not exaggerating , there was even a pinny in a drawer, I think there is only my 73 old mum who still wears a pinny in the kitchen.!!

We had a studio in one of the 3 blocks at the rear of the main building accessed by exiting the main building from the 6th floor . At first we were a bit worried about this but shouldn't have been as it meant we were already at street level and on the strip for the bars/ restaurants etc, within 5 mins. The weather wasn't always good so being closer to the pool was not priority.

Cleaning was a bit haphazard , one day they just emptied the bins then the next they would do a full clean down , we had our sheets changed after 3 days then not again for a week. Personally when staying in self catering apartments we wished they would leave us to do our own rubbish removal and just come in once a week to change the sheets . They did provide different coloured bags to encourage recycling which I thought was good.

There is a small supermarket on site but for a more reasonably priced one turn left when joining the main road , opposite the Mirage bar there is an Ali super. For a larger supermarket within walking distance there is an Intermarche beneath the Oura Praia hotel.

At the hotel there is free wifi in the reception area , it is a bit slow but it is free. For a faster ,free connection the Invictus bar ( new since our last visit ) , along the main road towards the Oura Praia , has cheap drink prices and good food.

Beneath our studio on cardiac hill a new restaurant had opened in the area since our last visit called Paula's pasta cafe. The food was fabulous and their inclusive menu at 11.50 Euros for soup or garlic bread starter , any pizza or pasta with a glass of wine/small beer was excellent value.
We went several times as we could shut our apartment door and be sitting down in the restaurant within 5 minutes.

All the staff we encountered at Oura View during our stay were very friendly and sorted out problems promptly.
Our electronic key cards wouldn't work on two occasions and maintenance were there quickly to sort it out.

We would definitely stay here again for a Winter long stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swintontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest, we are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. We have passed on your comments about the cleaning to the management team. We hope you book again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here for 12 days in mid March and the hotel and the accommodation were fantastic. We had a one bed apartment which was massive and had all the mod cons including a dishwasher, not that we stayed in much!! It was a shame that it was quite windy as it spoilt things a bit, but that is certainly not the hotels fault. We didn't eat in the hotel or their sister hotels and there seemed to be plenty of entertainment available in all 3 hotels. Very nice place all in all and would happily return.

Room Tip: The sea views rooms are great and one bed apartments a great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive remarks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Part of the old Petchey empíre but recently been sold . We are interested to see if it changes and if so is it for the better.
Like many others we are veterans here every winter for 13 years . We come because we like it as it is . We dont really want too much change.
We always use yellow fish transfer com to get us to the hotel as they are so reliable and Nice . The hotel use them to do their airport shuttle too but its more expensive with the hotel do it on the internet direct .
The complex is near to the Oura beach with cafes and bars .
Its a great people watching area..
Generally there is winter sunshine and we go home with a tan , not brave enough to go into the sea thought,its the Atlantic and its bitter cold in the winter..
The evenings are spent across the road in sister Petchey hotel club Pria da Oura. They put on some good turns and tribute acts ,bingo and quizzzes.
The old town is close and makes a good trip out , a local bus from the Back of the hotel well get You there for 1 euro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Oura View Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here last year and loved the place. We came in the off season and it was very peaceful. Our apartment was great, very spacious, modern and clean. Great location right next to beach. We will return.

Room Tip: The nearby strip wasn't my thing, make sure you go to the old town, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramsay182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Oura View Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from a seven week break at this lovely hotel. We walked into our apartment looked out and said Wow, Breath taking views of the sea . Apartment well equipped and kept very clean. Reception staff are outstanding, nothing is to much trouble. Antonio was the sweetest lady receptionist you could hope to meet. You must ask when booking for a club unit and a sea view. Unfortunately Petchey has sold to an Asian owner and the prices are ridiculous, a big increase. We could rent a villa for the prices they are asking, so we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a club unit with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review. Your comments have been taken onboard and sent to our collleague Antónia directly and to our management team.
I have also forwarded the information regarding the rates to our management team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Oura View Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club

Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $30 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing