We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club
Ranked #17 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day long weekend in search of some sunshine! The hotel was average - rooms clean and spacious but we felt the whole accommodation complex was too large.............Chose to pay an extra 120 euros on arrival for a room with a sea view...hotel was apparently "full" as also timeshare there.

Cafe by pool offers fresh and very good value food all day.
The on site grocery shop managed by a very helpful lady with lovely freshly baked bread rolls available from 8.30am in the morning - much better option that the 8.50 euro breakfast available!

Sunbeds..............They are all "anchored" in place by cable so can not be moved to follow the sun through the day - therefore very few sunbeds that are in a position to get the sun all day - also, not enough sunbeds - many people wandering around looking for one and some had to resort to placing a towel on the lawn area................

Location for us was in a too built up area - fortunately we hired a car so were able to explore nearby (within half hour) locations for dinner and a more Portugese experience.

As checkout was 10am and our flight was not until the evening, we were offered the use of the Spa for shower etc..if we stayed on site during the day...Spa was dated and we even had to pay for shampoo and soap for the shower!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thanks for your review. As part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests your comments regarding the sunbeds have been passed to our Management team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from Oura View Beach Club. Hotel is in a great location next to the beach and next to good nightlife that caters for all audiences.

Very impressed with hotel and its staff who were always helpful. The hotel is well maintained and our apartment cleaned every other day. As we have 2 children the pool area was a key factor for choosing the hotel and we were not disappointed with its slides, restaurant and general layout. The hotel is also next to a very nice beach which is very handy. We also tried out the hotel's indoor pool and spa centre which was very good.

On arrival which was late, we were not 100% happy with the room we were given however this was quickly resolved in the morning without any fuss and indeed a porter moved all our baggage for us whilst we lounged by the pool which was a nice touch.

Recommend making a trip to the old town which is about a 25 min walk from the hotel. Maybe want to get a taxi back as it uphill on the return. Taxi's were really cheap at around 5 euros. Also recommend getting yourself down to the marina for a boat trip. We paid 39 Euro for Adult and 18 Euro for children for 6 hour BBQ boat trip, which considering all food and drinks included seemed a good deal.

All in all, I would highly recommend Oura View Beach Club Hotel and its excellent customer service !!

Room Tip: 6th Floor is level with exit to main resort (shops, restaurant, bars etc) so very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CharlieTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Many thanks for your informative review. We are delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just back oura view great location seemed to be mainly portugese and spanish holidayed there during our stay .we didnt get pool view but ground floor app with balcony nice,really big apartments well equipped . Amazing swimming pools and kids pool and kids loved slides , great as location so close to beach , 6th floor access great to go to strip . It was my birthday during our stay was surspised with bottle champagne and balloons and card in my room ,it was lovely gesture. Used the spa facilities was lovely.only down side Internal sound proofing not great as we had been woken few nights by noise from neighbouring room , but all in all had great holiday , staff very friendly defenitely go back. Lovely restaurant on left at end of strip(beach end) always seems busy we had lovely meal there i think el rancho name of it , old town nice but taxi q to get back to apt most of time....found irish bar eirns ilse but very hidden but great fun for kids €3 tayto drink face painting and film they enjoyed it and so did we. steps to beach no distance nice restaurants along beach front too defenitely recomend but glad it was air conditioned as would have been very warm at night,
samantha

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfieldKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Oura View Beach Club week of 4th August 2012. We have been to the Algarve several times and always to the Oura area.
I booked via a holiday rental website last year and got a good deal, we had a 2 bed apartment at first and then my mum and her dh wanted to join u so we book a 1 bed apartment too (booked our flights separately).
On arrival (late evening) we arrived at reception, staff were very helpful and friendly and explained all of the necessaries. We met the rental company contact and the bell boy and he escorted us to our rooms and explained our location and how to get to everything.
As it was dark when we arrived we couldn't really see our view but i could see the boat lights out on the sea so knew we had a sea view as booked.
The 2 young ones grabbed the room with the double bed and en suite bathroom straight away, a lovely room with it's own TV and AC.
The second bedroom had twin beds and also had it's own TV and AC!! The sitting room was furnished nicely and also had it own TV and AC with the sofa being a double bed. Kitchen had a dishwasher which was very handy as there were 4 of us. The oven was also a microwave and there was a kettle, coffee maker and toaster as well as all the other items you will need.
Towels were plenty, pillows and beds were quite hard, but i didn't mind that at all. The only one issue i had with the apartment was the shower head was an old plastic thing, which is a shame as the rest of the bathroom was modern?? The water trickled out but was good enough to take a decent shower - the en suite one was much better!
Anyway - we had a great holiday, spent most of the time at the pool as the sea was very rough and extremely cold (colder than usual). We did always find loungers but as usual there were people up at the crack of dawn to reserve their loungers. The pool was great, i spent a lot of time on the ledge trying to keep cool as it was very hot and humid. Pool was cleaned every morning and it was lively at times but nice.
We ate at the Sunset restaurant which was ok (and convenient). The complex had 2 shops selling essentials and news papers, supermarket is not far if you walk along the promenade overlooking the sea.
Staff very helpful, the apartment was booked to the 11th Aug but we had some issues with return flights when we booked them so were coming back on the 12th instead. Because of this we booked 1 night at Club Praia da Oura as we had stayed there before (in a timeshare). When we left our beautiful apartments and taken over to CPO by the helpful staff at OV, we arrived to a busy reception and were told "follow my colleague" when we gave our paper work to the lady at reception. We asked that she confirm that they had noted the apartment we had booked had a sea view and that my mum had mobility problems and again she replied "follow my colleague". We were taken to a set of apartments called Sunflower terrace which faced the road leading from OV to CPO, on a fairly steep hill. The apartment was shabby and old, no modern facilities with one of the bedrooms off of the kitchen directly behind the front door :( no sea view either just a forest outside.
We were horrified and me and my sister went straight back to reception and informed Mario that we were not willing to stay the night there, for all of the above reasons, especially for 208 Euro. Mario picked up the phone and then calmly offered us 2 rooms back at OV (a 1 bed and a studio), we took him up on the offer and thanked him kindly for being so helpful and resolving the situation.
Got back to OV and reception were helpful again and gave us some wrist bands for the next day so we could go to the pool and use other facilities. We were located in the older apartments but these were still perfectly adequate and comfortable.
So all in all a lovely place with very, very helpful staff and good facilities. We loved Oura view and will definitely return soon. Thank you Oura View xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the oura view in June for 10 days. The apartments are huge,with everything you could need and more for self catering holiday. Our 1 bed apt had a great seaview and really well kept gardens in front of the balcony. The apartments are two mins walk to the beach where there are great restaurants/bars and shops. The strip with even more bars,shops,restaurants are a 2 min walk from 6th floor in the opposite direction,so great location. The swimming pool is really great,with views of the sea in the background and a slide and waterfall and diving board. There is also a nice little baby pool. Great holiday and we would definetly recommend to other families.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sshills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have been here a few times now as its such a relaxing place to be, accommodation is right on the beach so is purfect for families with small children. the restaurants on site are very reasonable and the service is excellent. All the staff here are excellent and are very helpful. Or there are plenty of bars and restaurants all around all at good prices. The strip is at the back of the resort where the night clubs, shops, bars and more restaurants. the Happy House chinese just up the road is a buffet and food is brilliant.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the left of reception as you look at the building as they all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing week in July with my two teenage kids. The Apartment was spacious and clean, the House Keeping was excellent, our cleaner even did the breakfast dishes! The complex is based right on the beach, with easy access to various bars and Restraunts along the beach front that were economical and far less noisy on an evening than up on the "Srip". The Oura View has a fantastic pool, although freezing when you first get in, it was a welcome relief from the 35c heat. Even though my kids are older, the pool kept them entertained for hours. There was a diving board, a waterfall, slides etc.....we always manged to get a lounger even in the afternoon and the pool bar and toilets were as usual spotlessly clean. We used the Tennis coutrs across the road at the Oura View in the evenings which cost to hire but at 10 Euros per hour + equipment was very reasonable. We made a couple of trips to "Old Town". On the first visit we walked, it took around 20 mins and was downhill most of the way. It was a charming place with lots of great places to eat and lots of local stalls. We took a Taxi back and could hardly believe that the fare was only 4 Euros.....We didn't walk there again!!! It transforms at night however into a bustling party town, not quite as charming as during the day!!! I would definitely go back, for a quick week away in the sun with great weather and clean spacious Apartments it was Great Value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#52 of 154 in Albufeira
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club

Address: Rua Ramalho Ortigao | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-604, Portugal (Formerly (formerly Montechoro Beach Club))
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $30 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oura-View Beach Club is located directly on Praia da Oura Beach. It features wide grounds with a large outdoor swimming pool area situated within gardens overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.The spacious self-catering apartments have large furnished balconies with beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean, Swimming Pools or Resort. They feature a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living and dining areas with comfortable seating area with satellite tv.Breakfast is served in the Terrace Bar or the Sunset Restaurant, the restaurant also has a variety of dishes for the guests to enjoy for lunch or dinner. The Pool bar is available providing views over the ocean and swimming pool.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.Xanadu Health Club provides a variety of treatments, an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and Turkish bath(additional costs can be charged). Water sports are available down on the beach, and there are numerous golf courses within a short drive of the hotel.The old town of Albufeira is a 20 minutes walk away and the main entertainment area with shops, clubs, bars and restaurants is 300 meters away.Oura-View Beach Club is 30 km from Faro International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura-View Beach Club Hotel Albufeira
Oura Beach Club
Grand Muthu Oura View Beach Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing