We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet resort, however, far away from major city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponta Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #73 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet resort, however, far away from major city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I got this resort from RCI.com.

The resort is located in a quiet neighborhood, very close to beach ( 10 min walk, less than 5 min drive).

The room is spacious, 2 stories, more like townhouse in US. Two bedrooms are upstairs, family room and kitchen are downstairs. It can easily accommodate 4 people (2 separate beds in 2 rooms). In kitchen, there is almost everything for daily use: refrig, electric stove/oven, microwave, toast, kettle, and all the utensils, plates, teapot, etc. It is very useful and handy if you want to prepare your own food.

It is quiet because it is located far away from major city. It is also bad because it is so far away from major city ( 2 hrs from Lisbon, less than 1 hr from Faro). Without a car, it is almost impossible to reach there. Even you eventually reach there without a car, you will for sure be stuck inside the resort.

Even though there is a swimming pool, it is not heated. When the temperature outside is cold, it is impossible to use it. Other amenities like tennis court, mini golf, and chess if you like.

For those who do not speak Portuguese, a GPS is a must. Without it, it could be very hard to navigate the local area. Not many locals speak English, it is almost impossible to get directions from them. It can easily cause big family dispute during driving without a GPS.

The room is not cleaned daily, probably every other day. So keep it clean by yourselves is very important.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liuz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    23
    16
    1
See reviews for
79
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our rental unit was huge--actually larger than we needed. They unfortunately did not include basic needs. The website said each kitchen would include a coffee maker and blender. Neither were provided nor available at request. The advertised hair dryer was not in the unit, but we had to get one from the front desk and pay a 20 euro deposit. They did not even provide a simple roll of paper towels in the kitchen nor a box of tissues in the bathroom! There was an in-unit safe, but they charged 2.5 euro per day to use it!
No units offered an option for queen nor king master beds. Twin beds were very hard with tiny, flat pillows.
We ate dinner in their restaurant twice, and were very pleased with the food quality and service.
All the staff were very nice and helpful. The resort management, however, needs to bring the unit basics and amenities up to par. This was a very big negative for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene02_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for three nights between Xmas and New Year and the villa was fine. Obviously it was very quiet as there were few tourists around and many restaurants were shut for the holiday. The resort itself is well situated for the beautiful beaches nearby. I can imagine it is so much nicer in season, but we enjoyed our short stay. It would have been even better if we'd had fitted sheets and a duvet on the bed and some basic things like tea and sugar to welcome us.

Room Tip: Get a villa near the entrance and looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Apartment was spacious - 2 bedrooms, good sized lounge, large patio, even 2 fridges. The kitchen was missing a few basics - no wine glasses (we used tumblers!), no coffee maker (got one soon after arrival), only one sharp knife etc.
However, for the first week of our fortnight, the bar/restaurant was closed, which was disappointing. Once it opened, it proved to be a popular focal point at very reasonable prices.
There's no shortage of bars and restaurants within walking distance. During the daytime, if you want to do more than sit by the pool or on the beach, then a car is a must - there are plenty of places to explore, driving and parking is easy, but it's easy to get lost (an up-to-date map needed!).

Room Tip: Rooms 40 - 45 seem to be in an optimum position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auguri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I hate to be negative, but it really needs to be said like it is. This could be a very nice resort. However ....... although the villas are spacious and nicely designed, the kitchen, show/bathrooms are worse for wear. The sofas worn and very uncomfortable with no cushions to make them less so. There were only single beds in both of the bedrooms. There were no loungers on the patio and in the first unit we had been allocated there was not even a proper patio set - just 4 child size flimsy, uncomfortable plastic chairs. Also in that unit the TV didn't work, also the coat hangers totalled 5 each for the 2 wardrobes. After requesting a different unit, without any fuss (the reception staff and the cleaning staff were excellent) we were allocated one nearer to the pool and reception. However, this one didn't have a kettle, only wine glasses (no tumblers at all) and even fewer hangers - so I transferred the very basic kettle (no switch), one tumbler and some hangers from the original unit! We were dragging around like displaced refugees with our belongings on a trolley for the first couple of hours. The restaurant was closed (told it was just for a week due to electricity problem) and nowhere to get a drink. Then to add insult to injury, there wasn't even any sort of welcome pack so that we could at least make ourselves a drink. Since there isn't an on-site shop, this entailed walking downhill to the small mini-market (excellent fresh bread daily). The pool was freezing - only saw three use it, very briefly, during the whole week. Although we had seen the hot tub being used. on the day we went to use it, that too was not working. So Ponta Grande management, get your act sorted out - this must have once been a lovely resort and probably not too long ago. At the moment it gives an impression of being run down for some sort of take-over. You are being very unfair to your wonderful staff who must have days when they dread going into work (everyone we listened to were full of complaints and either been moved or were waiting to be moved) although they always remain helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at no. 57 booked through Portugal Haven. The apartment is large with two good sized bedrooms one with a larger than king size bed which has views over the swimming pool and the other a twin, both rooms have air con and loads of storage space. Downstairs there is a lrage lounge area with dining table. Kitchen was ample with every utensil you would need. Outside a large terrace with loungers and table with four chairs. The apartment was not as modern as some others we have stayed in previously but was of an excellent standard, clean and tidy. We paid extra to have wifi in the apartment which was a hit with two teenagers. The pool area was very spacious, we were there late September so was very quiet, no more than 15 people round the pool at any one time. Thereis also a small jacuzzi, kids pool which was all clean and safe for little ones. There is a bar and rstaurant o site but we did not use either so cannot comment. The closest beach is a ten min walk, if that, closest restaurant was about five minutes walk away. There is alos a small spermarket within five mins walk., but better to go to Apolina in Gale or Algarve shopping, both you would need a car. Albuferia is five ins by car, great olace to oeople watch. If your anything like me and like to read about prices of food and wine in the areq, good portuguese rose wine was 2.99euro, if you go to Continete shopping you can get 5lr of red for as litle at 5 euro up to about 14euro. Food was pretty reasonable, if you want a decent cheap chcken piri piri go to ramires in guia. We had three chickens, two chips, one rice, salad three soft drinks and a small bottle of rose wine, it came to 45 euro. This is a typical portuguese restaurant with alot of locals using it. Other restaurants in albuferia were around 8-20 euros for a main meal depending on what you had. oh mr singh restaurant in gale was also god, but came in at nearly 100 euros for four, but was good food and enough for the teens to have for breakfast. all in all a god week away in the algarve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at beautiful poolside villa in July 2013 with 3 teens. Villas are spacious, modern, bright and have full kitchens with all necessary appliances. Pool is lovely & gardens are well maintained. There are plenty of comfortable sunbeds & no booking allowed which was a relief & made a pleasant change; some people did try reserving one morning but the gardener removed the towels from the beds. Poolside cafe serves sandwiches, snacks etc & staff are nice. There is also a full restaurant service with a special price, all-inclusive lunch menu daily. Resort is very close to the beach, about 7 mins walk. It's about 2 km walk to old town Albufeira but taxis are plentiful & cheap. There are also some lovely restaurants close by which are well worth the visit. All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LikesToTravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#70 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
Vila Gale Atlantico
#39 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
3.7 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#22 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Property: Ponta Grande Resort
Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#42 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing