We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice resort - but make sure you've got a car.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponta Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponta Grande Resort
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice resort - but make sure you've got a car.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Apartment was spacious - 2 bedrooms, good sized lounge, large patio, even 2 fridges. The kitchen was missing a few basics - no wine glasses (we used tumblers!), no coffee maker (got one soon after arrival), only one sharp knife etc.
However, for the first week of our fortnight, the bar/restaurant was closed, which was disappointing. Once it opened, it proved to be a popular focal point at very reasonable prices.
There's no shortage of bars and restaurants within walking distance. During the daytime, if you want to do more than sit by the pool or on the beach, then a car is a must - there are plenty of places to explore, driving and parking is easy, but it's easy to get lost (an up-to-date map needed!).

Room Tip: Rooms 40 - 45 seem to be in an optimum position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auguri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    53
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
79
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I hate to be negative, but it really needs to be said like it is. This could be a very nice resort. However ....... although the villas are spacious and nicely designed, the kitchen, show/bathrooms are worse for wear. The sofas worn and very uncomfortable with no cushions to make them less so. There were only single beds in both of the bedrooms. There were no loungers on the patio and in the first unit we had been allocated there was not even a proper patio set - just 4 child size flimsy, uncomfortable plastic chairs. Also in that unit the TV didn't work, also the coat hangers totalled 5 each for the 2 wardrobes. After requesting a different unit, without any fuss (the reception staff and the cleaning staff were excellent) we were allocated one nearer to the pool and reception. However, this one didn't have a kettle, only wine glasses (no tumblers at all) and even fewer hangers - so I transferred the very basic kettle (no switch), one tumbler and some hangers from the original unit! We were dragging around like displaced refugees with our belongings on a trolley for the first couple of hours. The restaurant was closed (told it was just for a week due to electricity problem) and nowhere to get a drink. Then to add insult to injury, there wasn't even any sort of welcome pack so that we could at least make ourselves a drink. Since there isn't an on-site shop, this entailed walking downhill to the small mini-market (excellent fresh bread daily). The pool was freezing - only saw three use it, very briefly, during the whole week. Although we had seen the hot tub being used. on the day we went to use it, that too was not working. So Ponta Grande management, get your act sorted out - this must have once been a lovely resort and probably not too long ago. At the moment it gives an impression of being run down for some sort of take-over. You are being very unfair to your wonderful staff who must have days when they dread going into work (everyone we listened to were full of complaints and either been moved or were waiting to be moved) although they always remain helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at no. 57 booked through Portugal Haven. The apartment is large with two good sized bedrooms one with a larger than king size bed which has views over the swimming pool and the other a twin, both rooms have air con and loads of storage space. Downstairs there is a lrage lounge area with dining table. Kitchen was ample with every utensil you would need. Outside a large terrace with loungers and table with four chairs. The apartment was not as modern as some others we have stayed in previously but was of an excellent standard, clean and tidy. We paid extra to have wifi in the apartment which was a hit with two teenagers. The pool area was very spacious, we were there late September so was very quiet, no more than 15 people round the pool at any one time. Thereis also a small jacuzzi, kids pool which was all clean and safe for little ones. There is a bar and rstaurant o site but we did not use either so cannot comment. The closest beach is a ten min walk, if that, closest restaurant was about five minutes walk away. There is alos a small spermarket within five mins walk., but better to go to Apolina in Gale or Algarve shopping, both you would need a car. Albuferia is five ins by car, great olace to oeople watch. If your anything like me and like to read about prices of food and wine in the areq, good portuguese rose wine was 2.99euro, if you go to Continete shopping you can get 5lr of red for as litle at 5 euro up to about 14euro. Food was pretty reasonable, if you want a decent cheap chcken piri piri go to ramires in guia. We had three chickens, two chips, one rice, salad three soft drinks and a small bottle of rose wine, it came to 45 euro. This is a typical portuguese restaurant with alot of locals using it. Other restaurants in albuferia were around 8-20 euros for a main meal depending on what you had. oh mr singh restaurant in gale was also god, but came in at nearly 100 euros for four, but was good food and enough for the teens to have for breakfast. all in all a god week away in the algarve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsh37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed at beautiful poolside villa in July 2013 with 3 teens. Villas are spacious, modern, bright and have full kitchens with all necessary appliances. Pool is lovely & gardens are well maintained. There are plenty of comfortable sunbeds & no booking allowed which was a relief & made a pleasant change; some people did try reserving one morning but the gardener removed the towels from the beds. Poolside cafe serves sandwiches, snacks etc & staff are nice. There is also a full restaurant service with a special price, all-inclusive lunch menu daily. Resort is very close to the beach, about 7 mins walk. It's about 2 km walk to old town Albufeira but taxis are plentiful & cheap. There are also some lovely restaurants close by which are well worth the visit. All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LikesToTravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 9 days in May 2013. The Staff are friendly and not intrusive. The weather was great in May. There is a restaurant on the premises, which has a staff of 2.5 people. However,they are very friendly and work hard to make you feel at home.

The down side is that this is about half a mile from the beach, so don't book this place expecting you will be at the beach. Also, there is No fitness center, and No business center, as advertised. Also, breakfast is Not included, as advertised.

The pool is freezing cold, and the Jacuzzi never worked while we were there, despite requests to fix it.

The apartments are cozy and decently equipped kitchens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickMixmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We a family of two adults and four children have been to ponta grande a couple of times and find it superb for our holiday needs. The villas are very spacious and most are well furnished, some are showing some wear and tear from years of rental but the owner I spoke with told me that they try to upgrade every so often and therefore it is a continuing process of improvement. We find however that the accommodation is top class , these are houses not apartments and on ground level ,very easy access no high rise here. They have large terraces some with sea view and others with pool view. The Sao Rafael beach is 600 metres away and Coelha, Castella, Lourenco beaches are all walkable to. The fabulous Gale and Salgados beaches a short five minute drive. In the vicinity there are quite a few restaurants to chose from all excellent and Albufiera old town a five minute drive or taxi ride. While a car is handy I know many holidaymakers who don't hire one and have an equally good holiday.The attractions such as Zoomarine, Slide and splash, Aquashow, Albufiera Marina for water sports and trips and of course Algarve Shopping are all so easily reached from the resort. To sum up I would say that Ponta Grande is a 3star+, borderline 4star and as a result we as a family have been going back for a number of years. I would recommend it for families with children from toddlers to teenagers.

Room Tip: houses to the front of resort don't seem to be affected by dogs barking at least not in my exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have just returned from Ponta Grande Resort and enjoyed our break overall at the resort, however it is nearly a 3 Star hotel and in need of some major modernising. The rooms are very large and have a massive terrace in our 2 bedroom villa, when we arrived we had NO patio furniture, we asked for some and were told they were waiting on new furniture and would move some furniture from a vacant room to ours in the short term, this never happened and after 3 complaints a bend scabby table and 4 different coloured plastic very cheap chairs appeared. The kitchen was rotten and smelt of sick and smelly feet, we had to open the window every time we went into it to get rid of the smell, the shower down stair was black with mold and was not clean, the four single beds were like back packer hostel standard and reminded me of camping and lying directly on the ground they were so hard. There was black human hair in the oven and on the kitchen floor and in the lounge area. The staff were not very helpful or friendly with the barman worst off all he was grumpy and rude. The free wifi was only available in the reception area where their was only a 3 seated settee and it kept crashing so was only available some of the time. The restraunts and beaches in the area are very good and we enjoyed eating out every night, we had a hire car and that was a must as the hotel is isolated from the main part of the town. Every night their were lots off dogs barking all night from dusk till dawn about 100 metres from the hotel, this was quite a pain as it was very loud and woke most people up several times a night. Overall we enjoyed our holiday here but would certainly not go back.

Room Tip: Get a hire car as the nearest ATM is at the Marina about a couple of miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InvernessKidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos da Orada
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maritur
Hotel Maritur
#66 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#32 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#63 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Joinal Villas Apartments
Joinal Villas Apartments
#75 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponta Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponta Grande Resort

Property: Ponta Grande Resort
Address: Sesmarias Sao Rafael, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#23 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#41 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponta Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of Albufeira's marina, this 4-star resort offers luxury rooms and villas in a garden setting. It features an outdoor pool, tennis court and Albufeira views. Guests of the Ponta Grande Resort can soak up the sun on the terrace as they watch their children in the playground. The Ponta offers bright and air-conditioned accommodation. There are also self-catering villas that come with a fully equipped kitchen and a balcony with panoramic views. A grocery store is available inside the resort. If guests prefer, they can also visit the restaurant, which serves á la carte international cuisine. The Grande Resort is less than 1 km from the Atlantic Ocean. Guests arriving by car have free private on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Ponta Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponta Grande Hotel Albufeira
Ponta Grande Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing