We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in Olhos d'Agua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in Olhos d'Agua”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Velamar Hotel is a comfortable clean hotel which is a 10 minute drive from the resort of Albufeira. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel where you can catch the bus easily for about €1.95, but a taxi will only set you back about €6 and may work out cheaper if there are a few of you. We also took a day trip to Faro which was well worth the €4.95 bus fare. If you’re happy being slightly away from the main resort, then this hotel is perfect but if you would rather be in the thick of things, you may want to consider going elsewhere.

As others have mentioned, there are several beautiful beaches in the area and there are enough restaurants in Olhos d'Agua that you don’t need to make the trip to Albufeira every day. There are also several supermarkets nearby so you can stock up on essentials and make packed lunches if you get a little tired of eating out every night.

The continental breakfast is excellent. There is plenty of choice and all the food is of good quality. Our room was on the ground floor and our balcony faced out onto the road. This was actually fine as, with the patio doors closed you couldn’t really hear the traffic and it meant our room was bathed in sunlight for most of the day.

My only complaint would be the internal soundproofing of the rooms. You can hear every little thing that goes on in the surrounding rooms (TV, opening drawers etc) so if you’re able to bring earplugs with you, I would recommend it. Otherwise, a great little hotel that provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    400
    96
    13
    12
See reviews for
175
780
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I can't really say anything new which hasn't already been said on this site. This hotel is fantastic value for money. The location was great for us as we did not want somewhere right in the center of Albufeira.

Our favourite beach was Maria Luísa beach which is only a 10 minute walk away. To get there turn left out of the hotel and then turn right after the bus stops, follow the road around to the right past the super market. Keep going until you get the end of the road. You will think it is a dead end but there are steps down to the beach on the left.

There is a bus stop right by the hotel. For 2 euros you can get to Albuifeira in 10 minutes. Going in the other direction to Faro takes about an hour and is about 4 euros.

The resturants in Olhos d'Agua (turn left out of the hotel and walk for about 5 mins) serve fantastic food, if you want more choice you can get a bus into Albuifera and then a taxi back (for about 6 euros).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoody1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We returned from 1 week holiday at the Velamar on November 6th and we had a really lovely holiday. There is not much to be said that has not been said already but I would definitely go back to the Velamar and we are planning a return next year.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the cleanliness was exceptional and the location was perfect for us. There are lots of shops and bars if you go left out of the hotel and also a supermarket we also went this way to the beach every day as the weather was fantastic. Also visited Old town which was very pretty and interesting. Just around the corner is Soft Caffe which is run by a lovely family and the son Bruno is the waiter his mum makes lovely food and cakes and this is worth a try but we would not recommend you visit 3 Marias as it was not a nce experience, staff were nice but food and decor were awful! Well just to say would recommend a stay at Velamar it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SitaTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Velamar Hotel is a lovely, comfortable and clean hotel in a reasonably good location. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the main strip and old town. Not sure how available public transport is. The hotel itself was nice, rooms were spacious and had everything you needed. The restaurant was good with a lot of choice, buffet style continental breakfast. It's definitely value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Having read previous reviews I decided to go for it. Upon arrival, which was late, the reception staff were very friendy and gave me a bottle of cold water as I had arrived at 12.30 in the morning.

The room was very spacious, clean with a fridge and tv. A bit disappointing that there were no tea/coffee making facilities, however having said that the apartment did have a safetey deposit box which is charged at about 4 euros a day with a refundable deposite of about 12 euros.
A nice large set of patio doors in the studio, one word of caution, there are two sliding doors which act as sound-proofing, the outer door once closed from the outside locks you out. So if you are sitting outside do not close the outer door. A rumble of traffic can be heard but it was not too distrubing, rooms also have air- conditioning.

The bathroom was lovely, it had split lighting so you could turn the lights down and have a relaxing bath with the lights dimmed--- very nice too !!!!

The beds were very, very firm, however I am a fairly fit person and I found the beds a bit hard. The resturant is roof top with panaramic veiws and served a buffet cold breakfast, I did not get to try it for the evening meal as it was closed. Having gone in the off-peak season there were a few places to eat. One place I would not recommend was the resturant directly opposite the hotel, it was awful and overpriced. The best place for an evening meal if you like indian food was Tiffany's which was reasonably good food, a 2 course meal for 1 and a couple of drinks came to about 25 euros.

Pool area was fine, clean, and well set out. It remains in the shade until about mid-after-noon. I did not find this a problem as was out most of the day. The beaches are a short walk downhill via steps. Very quiet beeches, great for photography. Bus stop nearby and hotel staff very helpful in supplying a bus timetable so you can plan outings. Bus/Taxi can be taken to on of the Marina's for a days boat trip.

There is plenty to do so long as you do not expect entertainment to be dropped at your feet. On the whole you can make the stay as busy or as quiet as you wish.

It was for the price a reasonable break, I would not recommend it for children as there were not any childrens facilities nearby, however, again it depends on how resourceful you are. Transport can be taken to zoos etc but would take up the entire day.

Good, quiet break with miles and miles of perfect beach and beautiful veiws.
Ruby Rose

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby-Rose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay Essex
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

This is a truly excellent hotel in many ways, The staff are curtious, the hotel is very clean, the breakfast great, Only slight downside, its a bit of a walk to the beach, other than that great. Book it you wont regret it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hotel was very reasonably priced. a bit dubious about it being a 3* but i neednt of worried. breakfast was outstanding. rooms quite big and cleaned daily. staff very friendly and promptly replied to my email of special requests. location good only 5euros to main strip. got ripped off by taxi from airport though at 45 euros! would recommend booking in advance by transfer company. 3 marias restaurant next door is fantastic value, delicious 3 course meal including wine for 11 euros each - bargain!

Only negativitiy about the hotel is the accoustics....so so noisy day and night. walls paper thin and corridors echoy. Wardrobe and cupboard doors are badly fitted which i think is the centre of the problem, scrapping on the floor on opening and closing....and a VERY VERY inconsiderate guest throwing a massive hair raising spat didn't help our sense of tranquility but this is through no fault of the hotel! Not really suitable for young children, very small cold pool which is mainly in shade, and no entertainment. oh and the beds are rock hard but have good orthopaedic qualities!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregsy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,867 reviews
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
435 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing