We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back again tomorrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would go back again tomorrow”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband & i arrived at 11am & our room was ready for check-in, no 114. I had emailed ahead & requested a balcony room /poolside if possible. Our room had balcony/roadside, yes quite noisy but more private in its own way than some of the poolside rms. (we did ask if 1 came up could we be moved, none did & we were more than content) We were more than stocked up from the fab breakfast which meant we weren't eating lunch etc on balcony so no big deal. At night with door closed, no traffic noise & because of the fab air-conditioning(inc in cost!!) no need to leave door open.

EVERY member of staff that we encountered including the maids were so friendly & helpful in every instance. Two tiny things immediately put right as soon as we pointed them out. No chairs on balcony. chairs supplied in minutes. Only 1 bathtowel left 1 day, immediately supplied once mentioned.

We have NO fault at all with this hotel. ( the 24/7 bar is not strictly true, open 7 days until 12midnightish)

The Velamar is spotlessly clean everywhere.

The breakfast room on the 3rd floor was fab, great views with the sea beyond ( oh some houses being built facing our room that you could also see from there- poor lads working in such heat) & an outdoor roof terrace that you could relax on after filling up on great continental brekky. Plenty of fresh meats, cheese, cereals, fruit,bread,muffins.yoghurts etc.. Hubby loved the coffee.

The pool area is compact and more than adequate for a lovely cooling dip.

The location was just fine for us. On the main bus route into Albufeira about 4miles away. Ask at reception for complimentary timetables.
The beach was very busy & approx 10-15mins strenuous walk.

Olhos d'agua quiet in terms of nightlife. really just centred around licenced restaurants. (Perfect for us)
All the nightlife you want if you want in Albufiera.
The old town Albufeira lovely/ beautiful restaurants right at the beach.

Any amount of great eateries within steps away from hotel velamar itself.

Can recommend soft Caffe ( strange name/cafe ambience but..) Lovely family run spot, good value food & wine by the glass 1 euro / 1.50 for a beer.

The 3 Marias to the right of the hotel / authentic & great value 10.75 euro for 3 course meal inc wine or beer.

Travertinos at top end of town, great but vv busy even by day, by night expect a min 1&half hr wait after 7.30pm. Worth a visit though.

Tiffanys- Indian restaurant to the right of hotel- fab fab fab.

Little cafe/bar right beside Tiffanys great lilttle spot to escape to the shade & have a wine or beer cheap cheap cheap.

We had an extremely relaxing & lovely holiday in Olhos D'Agua & The Hotel Velamar.

Try it & see for yourself.

Bon Voyage

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank specgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    388
    95
    13
    12
See reviews for
169
764
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Österreich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were very satisfied with the hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was no problem to change from a room without balcony to one with balcony so that we could dry our swimming clotzhes. The rooms are spacy and clean.
Parking space is available and the bus stop is nearby. The pool is midsize but we didn't even use it because the beach is a 10 min walk away. Also shops and restaurants are easy to reach by feet.
Breakfast is excellent with fresh frood, different kinds of bread, ham, chorizo, cheese, jam, cereals, juice, etc.
WLan is free in the public area as I saw some guys using it, but I couldn't test it in my room because my notebook was broken. There were also two computers in the lobby but the fee was very high and the computers very old and the connection very slow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July with my brother-in-law and his partner (they had stayed in the Velamar last year). It was brilliant from start to finish. We had an excellent room with aircon and even though we looked onto the road, it was very quiet at night. Pool was small but not too busy and you could get a sunbed easily. The breakfast was great and served on the top floor with stunning views. The staff were very pleasant and helpful especially Adriano. Brilliant cafe just down from the hotel (Soft Caffe) which served a 3 course lunch and drink for 7 euro! Fantastic. Lots of restaurants and beach nearby too. We absolutely loved it and it was excellent value for money. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Curragh, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I arrived at the hotel having spent a week doing a SC holiday in Armacao de Pera 15km west of Albufeira. I booked last minute and got a decent deal of 95 euro incl breakfast for 1 night in peak on a weekend.

Arrival was fine, exceptionally clean hotel and has modern decor and facilities. in the lobby there is a bar, games room, internet access at 1 euro a shot and outdoors a pool and a kids pool with sun loungers all around. the staff and guests were all very friendly and courteous. The rooms were large with exceptionally big double beds. Our balcony faced the street and happy table and chairs. Bathroom was modern, spotless and served purpose.

the nearest beach in walking distance is maria luisa - 10 minutes to an isolated beach, not like albufeira. There are 3 or 4 restaurants on the main street serving all types of foods at reasonable prices. The centre of albufeira is less than 3km to walk or 4 euro in a cab.

In all this was a highly recommended hotel and i will go back. I am a frequent traveller with work and stay in excellent hotels, this comeptes with anything i have been in in europe this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnyobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mildred
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

wow what a hotel, i really can not fault it on anything!
it has to be the nicest, cleanest, most friendly place i have stayed in.
The food was lovely, the dinning room was spotless with great views as was the bedroom, and the bed ...........we wasn't sure if we would get a double bed, but when we arrived we got a super king! The pool is great too. The staff can not do enough for you. Very accommodating people indeed. The beach was a good walk for me as i have a bad back but i walked down at a slow pace and was fine. I really cant wait to book up to go back there to a wonderful hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itsthatmadmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Myself and my partner have just returned from this gem of a hotel after choosing it on the basis of previous comments. I have to say it lived up to expectations. Having a 5 year old, we wanted somewhere quiet but not too far from shops, restaurants, beaches. The fact that they don't serve dinner is a blessing with a variety of excellent restaurants within a 15 minute stroll.
Breakfast is more than adequate, even for a fussy 5 year old! For lunch, a 5 minute walk to the supermarket or if that's too far in the mid day sun there's a nice little place just a minute away called the Soft Caffe.
The staff are pleasant, friendly and honest- the barman even seeking us out at breakfast when he thought we forgot our change the night before when in fact it was a tip!
Olhos d'Agua is a quiet village with oceans of Portuguese charm. If you want a bit more to do Albufeira is a 10 minute taxi ride away. But it was definitely the hotel that made the holiday. I honestly could not fault it. And for the price we paid it was excellent value. We all agreed we'd definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank centurion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We booked this hotel through the On The Beach website and as we had never been to Portugal before we didn't know what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, with a good sized bed and bathroom, aircon and a TV. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was fresh and tasty with lots of variety and was served in a light and airy room with a good view on the top floor. The hotel is close to a lovely little local beach, a bus stop and lots of great local restaurants / shops but a bit out of the way if you want to experience the Albufeira night life. The hotel is next to a main road that was relatively busy and as we were on the ground floor it took a day or two to get used to the noise but it wasn't excessive. The area seemed quiet and not tacky. It's not a top of the range, luxury hotel but it is a decent hotel that was good value for money and ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing