We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel Staff friendly and helpful , Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel Staff friendly and helpful , Great Value”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have just returned from the Velamar on the 9th of May and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the staff were friendly and nothing was a problem for them, the rooms were cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis, the breakfast was very 'healthy' which was a nice change from a fry up every morning it was fresh bread cold meat , cereal and fruit with a selection of jams etc. We really enjoyed eating at a restaurant called Ambrosia Nectar which is down near to the beach and the food was excellent, we did not have any complaints about the food in general and it is a fish lovers paradise , although if you have never visited Portugal before be prepared to wait as the food is cooked fresh to order. We visited Jolly's restaurant which is next door to the Velamar and really had to wait a long time although the food was good when it did arrive, I must say was little bit like Faulty Towers but the staff made you feel more than welcome and by the end of the night all the diners were talking to each other! !. The public transport was good too and the staff at the hotel were happy to give you a timetable and a map if required . The only thing i would have to say is that the pool area may get a bit crowded in the busier months as it was not very big, but wasnt a problem for us. This was our first time in Portugal and will definately return to this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suesteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    389
    95
    13
    12
See reviews for
170
766
30
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

just arrived back from portugal after our flight was cancelled 24 hours.. the staff at the v elamar were briliant and went out of their way to accomodate us would go back there again tomoro. situated in a nice position out of the way of hustle and bustle but within walking distance of beach and short 4euro taxi ride from albufeira... we had our breakfast
at 7 30 ish and were so full up we didnt need to eat again til 6pm. had clean towels and bedding every day . will be going back as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Difficult to find fault in view of the price! Room was a good size, bathroom very nice. Decor throughout well done. Staff very helpful. Decent buffet breakfast. Beds a bit on the hard side. The hotel is a bit away from the centre of things but that suited us. Overall very good - would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at The Velamar for one week from the 26th April 2010 and found the hotel to be excellent value for money. We were concerned because it seemed a very reasonable price to stay there and although all previous reviews were very positive we were still a little concerned - but no need. Very clean, staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.
We dined out every night and found a couple of restaurants which were very good, Tavertino's is worth a visit, as is Jollies near to the hotel, but the one which stood out head and shoulders above everywhere else we visited was A Cantina (next to Oceanus apartments on the front street). Although it was a little more expensive than the others (about 40 Euros for a 3 course meal for two including a bottle of wine) it is well worth it. The quality of the food and the service is as good as you will get anywhere. If you like steak, try the cook on the stone, an excellent fillet which you cook yourself on a hot stone at the table. Also if you like peppercorn sauce try the the pepper steak - it is the hottest (spicy) sauce I have ever had My wife is vegetarian and the choice for her was excellent. The service is superb with two very knowledgeable staff (one female and one male). We didn't get the names of the staff, but the gentleman waiter was especially friendly and knowledgeable about the food and the wines. We would not hesitate to go back. Another restaurant worth a mention is the new Fratelli's, which is a pizzeria and has a great atmosphere, but for us seemed a little expensive for after all was only pasta and pizza. J&C, Newcastle

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandCNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk goes to portugal
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2010

having had to change our location and hotel due to the volcano ash we felt lucky to have had the pleasure of staying in the velamar, great service all round, very clean and very hard working friendly staff. If you want a good meal out we would all recommend a "special" from chef at Jollies bar, turn left out of the hotel and walk about 50yards, and sample his food gorgeous, great host also was his wife jacqueline, all the best to you both, and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymoney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on bed and breakfast. Breakfast was continental style with cereals, good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts. cold meat & cheese, fresh breads and really good coffee. Rooms exceptionally clean with air con, tv with some channels in english with portugese subtitles, minibar, full bathroom. Very small swimming pool, always lots of sunbeds available. If I had one gripe, it would be the constant crowing of a cockerel in the garden nearby. Small quiet resort but much more relaxing than Albufeira. Taxi from airport cost 40 euros and about 8 euros in taxi from hotel to Old Town. There is a superb restaurant close by called Jollies - try the special dish for 2 to share!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetBallymoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We planned for one week and due to the volcanic ash thingy, ended up stopping 13 days.

We all thought the hotel was very clean, very friendly and good value for money before having our flights cancelled. Once we explained our situation to the hotel, they were very supportive and incredibly helpful - evidenced by other families/couples coming to the hotel during the week.

With regard to the local restaurants, we tried Tiffany’s although weren’t that impressed with the curries and thought the prices were somewhat higher than they should be. We found the Chinese restaurant ‘Cozy’ a lot better quality of food and reasonably priced. Caffe Soft was good quality and reasonably priced food, with Bruno and his parents being fantastic. The best though, for us with children was Nelson’s. Very good food, ample quantities and a good rapport with the owners.

We found the location good, short walks to the various bars and restaurants, and not too far for our youngest (whose 4) to the beach and even over the beachhead to Falesia beach, which is really nice.

On balance (and considering the support during the week that was), we have no hesitiation in highly recommending the Hotel Velamar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing