We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quiet area outside Albufeira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We travelled to Velamar Hotel in Olhos d’Agua approximately 5km from Albufeira Old Town for 9 nights for our honeymoon. It is a nice quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of Albufeira.

The hotel is nice and the staff are very pleasant, reception is run by Luciano (General Manager), Ana and Susie who were helpful. We had emailed the hotel to book direct as the company we had originally booked it through had gone bust and Luciano was very helpful and gave us a great price for booking directly. We had informed them it was our honeymoon in advance but we are unsure if they took notice of this as we had a standard room that did not have tea/coffee making facilities, has had been mentioned in other reviews. However, we did have a balcony and I note from other reviews that this is an extra cost so perhaps that was their gesture. The room 218 had a nice view of the sea in the distance but did face the road which could be quite noisy at busy times, and it was directly under the breakfast room so from 7.30am we were awoken by the sound of chairs being dragged in and out from the tables. The bedroom was large, with a double bed, fridge, tv and nice balcony. The bathroom was large too with a hairdryer which is helpful. The shower head was replaced during our stay without being asked and it was much better after being replaced.

When we arrived at the hotel our room was not ready but it was fine for us to leave our luggage with them while we went for a drink to wait for it to be ready. On our last day our flight was not until late in the evening and again there was no problem leaving our luggage at reception for the day which was very helpful.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff work very hard. Jose O and Paula seem to be there morning noon and night and are lovely.

The Wifi was great and available all around the hotel. It was down for 2 days (over the weekend) while we were there but the staff worked hard to get it fixed ASAP.

Entertainment in the hotel is not every day. One night we were there, there was a pianist and another night there was karaoke. We ended up going to either Olhos D’Agua or Albufeira (Old Town and New Town/Strip) rather than stay at the hotel in the evenings. Be warned that taxis in the area are a disaster. You cannot flag them down in the street, they can only be called to the hotel or you have to go to a taxi rank (approx. 500 metres up the road) and wait in a queue. Even when they are called by the hotel, you have no guarantee that they will get through and you could be waiting a long time. Buses are available from outside the hotel, but the timetable we got from reception appears to be inaccurate and really it’s just a waiting game at the bus-stop, one time we waited 45 mins. They do not run after approx. 8.30pm. Also something to be aware of if you are travelling in peak season like us, take out your cash for the weekend on the Friday/Saturday as by Sunday all machines in both Albufeira Old Town, Strip and Olhos d’Agua were completely empty and we had to wait until they were refilled on Monday morning! This caused utter chaos and we were upset that our last night out on the town had to be cut short as we didn’t have enough cash on us and had to return to the hotel where we could put the tab on our room.

Jose C and Jose O run the bar, they are both very nice and chatty. Jose C treated us to some of his magic tricks one night which was great fun.

The pool is small but there were plenty of sunbeds to go around (despite the usual eejits getting up at stupid o’clock to put towels out) and are lovely and clean. There’s a small pool suitable for children and a deeper pool for a swim.

The breakfast was not to our liking unfortunately. There are sausages, rashers, scrambled eggs and beans (not all on the same day, two each day) but they are different to what we have back home. There is champagne if you fancy a champagne breakfast  and cold platter with ham/cheese/tomato/cucumber and a selection of breads and cereals. The coffee from the machine is lovely. The breakfast room has panoramic views and agree with other reviewers that it is a shame that it is only used for breakfast. Even being able to take a drink up there in the afternoon and sit in the sun on the roof terrace would be nice. There is a café just outside the hotel called Jollies that does a nice reasonable English breakfast and a Portuguese café 2 doors up from that that does a mean omelette and chips.

Across the road from the hotel is an Italian restaurant which I cannot for the life of me recall the name of but it does a gorgeous steak and pizza or pasta and also does fish dishes too. When they found out it was our honeymoon they brought us in and gave us a really lethal shot of something alcoholic and free drinks which was a lovely touch. Once you go once they give you a business card with a voucher for a free bottle of wine for your next visit.

The beach at Olhos D’Agua is 10 minutes walk away and has a nice selection of restaurants and shops. We spent a lot of time during the day down here in Pickwicks Tavern eating brunch, drinking Sangria and people watching.

We actually walked one day from Praia Olhos D’Agua, all along the beach (Praia da Falésia) to a town we saw in the distance (we like our walking) and afterwards found that it was a gorgeous town called Vilamoura with a beautiful marina where the rich people moor their yachts and there’s lots of restaurants by the marina where you can sit and watch how the other half live, well worth a visit, I suggest you get a bus €4pp or taxi €15 however as it is 8km walk away! We enjoyed it so much that we went back one night to enjoy the nightlife there.

We also walked to Albufeira Old Town another day but it is over an hour walk (approx. 5km) and long in the heat of the August sun.

There is a supermarket 300 metres down the road and a tourist office / excursions office called Expose that are very reasonably priced (Market in Loule on a Saturday €8pp). Ticket Shop also have reasonable priced tours too and if you book the day before they usually have better deals.

To sum up we would return to this hotel again, it is great value for money, clean, and the staff are friendly. We would probably request a quieter room however. It is better suited to couples rather than families.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool and not under the restaurant are the best apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cluelessjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Olá cluelessjewel.
Thanks for your comment.
Was great to have you at our hotel.
I hope you are well.
A big hug for all the family Velamar.
Luciano Hagge
Assistant Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our third visit to Velamar, Luciano the manager was a true gentleman, all the staff old and new very nice and very helpful. Great breakfast.....any of the new changes were all very good. A very relaxing holiday, Anna and Andre at reception lovely .Great to see Jose in the bar.....hope to see you all soon again.....

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dorothie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Olá Dorothy
Thank you for your words. is very good to feel the satisfaction of our guests when we work hard to do better every day.
A big hug from all Velamar team.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Assistant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Just back from a quick 3 night break in Olhos. Stayed at the Velamar which was lovely and lived up to the positive reviews. It doesn't look particularly attractive from the outside but upon entering it's lovely with a nice modern reception and bar area. Everywhere really clean & fresh smelling.
The 3rd floor breakfast room is quite small but has lovely outside seating area where we sat every morning enjoying amazing views of the sea.
We had a lovely stay at a very good price for August and wouldn't hesitate to return if we needed to find a hotel in Olhos.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brijo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Olá brijo067.
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Assistant Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Located on the road which connects Albufeira and Olho De Agua, it's fifteen minutes walking distance from the beach of Olhos, but it's a better choice if you have a car and you want to visit Algarve's best beaches.
Rooms are standard, nothing more, but clean. Breakfast is included and served in lounge on the third floor with a great view towards the ocean; it is good enough, but nothing special.
There is a free parking lot behind the hotel and a little pool is available.
A tip: close to the hotel you can find a restaurant, Cantinho do Mar, where you can find good and amazingly cheap food: try the touristic menu at 9.50 €.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello albus09. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Your comment is very important for us.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Assistant Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We spent the first week of August at Hotel Velamar.
We were greeted by the manager, sporting a superb suit, and lovely staff at reception upon arrival. Our room was very clean from the start and was cleaned every day. Our 2 single beds pushed together did create a bit of a gap! Fortunately we didn't fall out much!
The breakfast (makes or breaks a hotel) was excellent. Could have had bacon and sausage rather than just the one choice of meat, however can't fault the quality and freshness of the food and the welcoming nature of the staff.
Overall the hotel was good value for money, had a lively atmosphere, a lovely bar and a nice clean pool area.
We will definitely recommend to friends visiting Albufeira! The manager needs some badges for his suit jacket!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello John B. Thank you for your words. It's great when we see our efforts being recognized. We will continue working to be better and better.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean.. We only used it to sleep.. Breakfast is excellent, the sausages were the best i tried in portugal.. Their rates are also very reasonable.. U can also rent a towel for 15 euros deposit to take to the beach and you can get back the money when you return the towel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank 3amid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello 3amid. Thanks for your comment. This is very important to us.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

spent 9 nights in this lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, rooms cleaned everyday staff were so polite and helpful. the reviews about this hotel were spot on, couldn't recommend the hotel and its staff highly enough. In the town of olhas d;agua which is beautiful, quiet and the beaches are fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of hotel with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hello mike b. Thanks for your comment.
The recognition of our service is very important. We are working hard to satisfy our customers.
Best regards,
Luciano Hagge
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $42 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing