We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely quiet hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velamar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

A week here near the end of January was very enjoyable although obviously it still being winter and out of season it was very very quiet - the hotel is excellent value for money with very nice comfortable clean rooms. As in all the other reviews of this hotel the breakfast is great with a very good variety (anyone who likes a cooked breakfast/bacon/eggs you will not get it here), fresh fruit, all sorts of breads - served in the lovely sunny roof terrace. There are a few restaurants nearby - bit of a walk to beach - walked to Albufeira strip locality which takes around half an hour. If you're looking for somewhere peaceful this is it - if you want noise and plenty of night life forget it. All-in-all it was, for us, a lovely restful week with a good bit of sunshine though very cold once the sun went down.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking some nice villas (side of hotel) - got very little sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    377
    93
    12
    12
See reviews for
164
732
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Recently returned to the Velamar for a second visit and again found all facilities first class and staff friendly and welcoming. Continental breakfast served on 3rd floor is substantial with wide selection of breads/fruits/meat and sweets and a pleasant change from the traditional full English.
Some of the carpeting in the hotel corridors is a bit tired but rooms are nicely furnished and well maintained by a hardworking group of maids with regular changes of bedding and towels.
The area is fairly quiet and not for party animals but is well served by reasonably priced restaurants and cafes to suit most tastes.
Bar prices are very reasonable and overall value for money is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road are best for sunshine during the day and any traffic noise is limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DmacdeeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th stay in 3 years and I have booked again for this September. As you will note from other reviews the hotel is immaculate and provides a good breakfast. The main thing for me is the staff. From reception to bar staff to cleaners all are friendly and provide first class service. The reception staff even went out of their way making phone calls for me to locate a bag I'd lost. And I got it back!! So very polite and helpful and always a cheery smile. Counting the days to my next visit!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Salso1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geuret france
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second stay in this hotel, this time for two weeks from 29 December to 13 January. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the top floor panoramic dining room is a pleasure with a wide range of fruit, bread cheese and ham etc. Two minutes walk from the hotel is an excellent restaurant which is used by the locals, Adega do Ze, which we went to for lunch each day except the two Sundays when they were closed. There are many pleasant walks from the hotel either along the beach or on the cliffs. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy the area or just relax in the hotel. One improvement over our last stay is the WIFI is now available on all floors so we could use it in our room or anywhere else in the hotel.

Room Tip: We like the rooms overlooking the pool and the car park, facing west, we asked for a similar room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_RGeuretfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my 16 year old daughter went on a girls holiday to celebrate the end of her gcse's we both loved it, was quiet and perfect for well deserved relaxation! Would recomend it to any couples, friends and if youre going solo. only downsides were there was only wifi in the lobby (my internet addicted girl would have liked it in the room too!) and the pool area was small-ish, on our last two days there was quite a loud family which was a little annoying at times, however nothing to do with the lovely staff!

Room Tip: pool view, with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us stayed here just after Christmas over the New Year period and it was really lovely. The hotel is great - comfortable rooms - we had rooms on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the sea which was a bonus - plenty of storage space. Breakfast was continental style but ample and plenty of it. Location is brilliant - even out of season there were several restaurants open, couple of cafes and a sports bar. Would highly recommend Adega do Ze restaurant just steps away from the hotel which served brilliant food, staff were lovely and the bill for four was about EUR40 every night - this was for a 3 course meal with lots of wine, tea/coffee and port!! We did hire a car for the 6 days we were there and were glad we did as it was so easy to get around - I guess in low season there was not much traffic on the roads. Can't recommend the hotel and the resort highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paxcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our second stay at the Velamar not as good as previous stay. Didn't find the staff as friendly and reception staff very miserable. Still spotlessly clean. Wouldn't stay again although good value for the money. Quite boring people stay here. Nothing going on good job the weather was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesandcalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#5 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 161 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#8 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing