We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velamar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Best place for a great holyday! The Velamar Hotel has a great view, clean rooms. The staff was very nice, helpful and smiling all the time. They made me feel welcome and they made my holyday better.I just loved here. Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    380
    94
    12
    12
See reviews for
164
744
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

well everyone has said it but this really is a great place to stay. spotlessly clean and its one of those hotels you just feel at home immediately.staff are great .breakfast scrummy and the location is so convenient for exploring or if you want to stay put its within easy walking distance of village and beach. even out of season there are loads of local restaurants with a wide range of food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andysavage2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel has to be one of the best small hotels Ihave ever stayed at.The rooms are just great and are kept beautifully clean by the staff.We had a great view of the swimming pool even though we were on the ground floor,we did email the hotel before we arrived to ask for a balcony room.Breakfast is taken on the 3rd floor and has great sea views,the food was really good.The bar at the hotel was excellent with great prices.All the staff were happy in their jobs and had great customer service.This hotel I can thorughly recommend to you and you will not be disappointed.
We used Yelowfish transfers from Faro which were excellent and very prompt.To reach the beachs of the area,the nearest one would be 20 minute walk,the town beach a 30 minute walk,if you have walking difficulties think of another hotel if its the beach you want.
All in all 5 out of 5 for the the Hotel Velamar and its staff.

Room Tip: email and ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff are too good to be true.
The Reception staff are cheerful, knowledgeable and helpful; nothing's too much trouble for them.
The cleaning ladies are always smiling and return your room to pristine condition every single day.
The breakfast staff quietly replace half empty trays of food with a whole new selection so it always looks - and is - fresh.
The whole hotel is not only clean but everywhere gleams.
I really can't understand how anyone could write an adverse report about this hotel, there are beautiful sandy beaches 10 to 15 minutes walk away, a supermarket 150 metres along the road and lots of reasonably priced restaurants within a 5 minute walk and they all have clean loos!
Albufeira or Vilamoura are a cheap (€4 or €5) bus ride away so there's no need to waste money on taxis.
At €20 a night (£17 at the time of writing) for 2 weeks we were prepared to "rough it" somewhat, but this hotel really punches way above its 3 star rating and it really was a bargain. The sumptuous breakfast was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phltrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute through bookings.com and got an amazing deal of just £17 a night. We contacted the hotel asking for a second floor balcony room that wasn't beneath the breakfast room and had a pool view and on arrival found we had been allocated exactly what we wanted.

The hotel is very modern with a lovely bar area that is reasonable in price. Granted the local bars are more competitive but it's nice to see a hotel that doesn't try and make lots from extras.

The hotel staff are the most friendly we have experienced, as we must add are all the Portuguese. Check in was handled quickly and with a superb friendly manner.

The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The bed is huge and although very firm, we have had great nights sleep on it. There is plenty of cupboards and wardrobes for clothes and a safe in the room (€15 euro deposit and €3 a day to hire). The TV is a basic old school one and has limited English speaking channels. All the floors are typical tiled but the hotel has put a rugs down by the bed to avoid that cold feet morning wakeups. Bathroom has a shower, toilet, bidet, sink, hairdryer and plenty of towels and free soap and shower gel. The air conditioning is efficient and works as both hot and cold, operated via remote control. The balcony is a nice size and comes with chairs and a table alongside an ashtray for us smokers.

The pool area is nice with lots of sunbeds and seems a good size, although being November we haven't used it.

Breakfast is on the third floor and is continental style. They offer everything from cereal, yogurts, fruit, sliced meats, cheese, muffins, bread, crossiants, rolls, lots of jams, and fruit juice, tea and coffee and they provide a toaster.

The staff serving in the breakfast room are cheery and attentive and always replenishing food. Everything is clean and all tables are wiped and runners replaced after someone has finished.

The views from the breakfast room are amazing and it's a nice relaxing pace where no one is rushed. Breakfast is served from 7.30 until 10.

The staff really are exceptional and are a credit to the hotel. Little touches like order a drink and the waiter comes over with your drinks and some peanuts for you to nibble on. Rooms are tidied daily and are of a high standards. However the star of the hotel is Marcel the receptionist. He will order you a taxi, help you plan an excursion, give you local information or just smile and chat to you about the weather. All staff are extremely approachable and really do make an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel is in a lovely area with a good selection of restaurants and bars both up or down from its location. Prices vary but you can expect to pay as little as €1 for a small glass of excellent wine, €1.50 for a tankard of larger and €12 will get you a three course meal and a half a bottle of wine with extremely large portions and amazing quality. There is a large supermarket about a 5 to 10 minute walk away that sells everything you would expect, with prices that leave you laughing at what we have to pay back home ( 5 litres of water for €0.49 and a vast selection of wines around from €1 to €3 ).

Further walk away (about a 20 minute walk along a straight road, turn left from hotel and keep waking) is the main village with an amazing amount of cafes, shops, restaurants and bars with some breathtaking beaches.

The main strip in albufeira is reachable by bus at €2.50 each or taxi at €7. Old town albufeira is again reachable by bus for the same price of €2.50 or taxi at €9. The hotel will gladly arrange any taxis for you.

We are still here as I write this review and for November the temperatures are in the 16 to 20 degrees and most things are still open.

All in all everything you've read and will read about this hotel and location is true. Great prices, superb location for a quite relaxing holiday that still has lots to do, amazing staff and respectful rooms. Book it, you won't regret it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank danz0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 nights stay at this great hotel. The rooms are basic but clean, bathroom modern, we stayed in room 111 with views over the villas. Breakfast and views were great on 3rd floor...muffins were gorgeous! Only seen people queue once for a table. Local area had lots of bars and restaurants but many were starting to close for winter. We walked to Albufeira daily...slow pace to the strip took about 40 mins and another 20 mins on top to the old town....taxis/buses back. Old town was lively with plenty of places open. It was too cold to use the pool but the pool area was nice and small....the hotel lobby and lounge were modern and drinks reasonably priced. Staff were polite and helpful. We would stay here again if we travelled back to this area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Really there is nothing to say that has already been said it ticks all the boxes for me. I had recently come out of hospital and was worried about getting around but I had nothing to worry about everything we wanted was just a short walk away. I had emailed the hotel before I went and they gave me a room with a balcony which was a great help. The staff are all lovely and friendly and work very hard. So thanks everybody and we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butcherthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing