We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that has been said and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All that has been said and more”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute through bookings.com and got an amazing deal of just £17 a night. We contacted the hotel asking for a second floor balcony room that wasn't beneath the breakfast room and had a pool view and on arrival found we had been allocated exactly what we wanted.

The hotel is very modern with a lovely bar area that is reasonable in price. Granted the local bars are more competitive but it's nice to see a hotel that doesn't try and make lots from extras.

The hotel staff are the most friendly we have experienced, as we must add are all the Portuguese. Check in was handled quickly and with a superb friendly manner.

The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The bed is huge and although very firm, we have had great nights sleep on it. There is plenty of cupboards and wardrobes for clothes and a safe in the room (€15 euro deposit and €3 a day to hire). The TV is a basic old school one and has limited English speaking channels. All the floors are typical tiled but the hotel has put a rugs down by the bed to avoid that cold feet morning wakeups. Bathroom has a shower, toilet, bidet, sink, hairdryer and plenty of towels and free soap and shower gel. The air conditioning is efficient and works as both hot and cold, operated via remote control. The balcony is a nice size and comes with chairs and a table alongside an ashtray for us smokers.

The pool area is nice with lots of sunbeds and seems a good size, although being November we haven't used it.

Breakfast is on the third floor and is continental style. They offer everything from cereal, yogurts, fruit, sliced meats, cheese, muffins, bread, crossiants, rolls, lots of jams, and fruit juice, tea and coffee and they provide a toaster.

The staff serving in the breakfast room are cheery and attentive and always replenishing food. Everything is clean and all tables are wiped and runners replaced after someone has finished.

The views from the breakfast room are amazing and it's a nice relaxing pace where no one is rushed. Breakfast is served from 7.30 until 10.

The staff really are exceptional and are a credit to the hotel. Little touches like order a drink and the waiter comes over with your drinks and some peanuts for you to nibble on. Rooms are tidied daily and are of a high standards. However the star of the hotel is Marcel the receptionist. He will order you a taxi, help you plan an excursion, give you local information or just smile and chat to you about the weather. All staff are extremely approachable and really do make an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel is in a lovely area with a good selection of restaurants and bars both up or down from its location. Prices vary but you can expect to pay as little as €1 for a small glass of excellent wine, €1.50 for a tankard of larger and €12 will get you a three course meal and a half a bottle of wine with extremely large portions and amazing quality. There is a large supermarket about a 5 to 10 minute walk away that sells everything you would expect, with prices that leave you laughing at what we have to pay back home ( 5 litres of water for €0.49 and a vast selection of wines around from €1 to €3 ).

Further walk away (about a 20 minute walk along a straight road, turn left from hotel and keep waking) is the main village with an amazing amount of cafes, shops, restaurants and bars with some breathtaking beaches.

The main strip in albufeira is reachable by bus at €2.50 each or taxi at €7. Old town albufeira is again reachable by bus for the same price of €2.50 or taxi at €9. The hotel will gladly arrange any taxis for you.

We are still here as I write this review and for November the temperatures are in the 16 to 20 degrees and most things are still open.

All in all everything you've read and will read about this hotel and location is true. Great prices, superb location for a quite relaxing holiday that still has lots to do, amazing staff and respectful rooms. Book it, you won't regret it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank danz0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    417
    96
    13
    12
See reviews for
183
812
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 nights stay at this great hotel. The rooms are basic but clean, bathroom modern, we stayed in room 111 with views over the villas. Breakfast and views were great on 3rd floor...muffins were gorgeous! Only seen people queue once for a table. Local area had lots of bars and restaurants but many were starting to close for winter. We walked to Albufeira daily...slow pace to the strip took about 40 mins and another 20 mins on top to the old town....taxis/buses back. Old town was lively with plenty of places open. It was too cold to use the pool but the pool area was nice and small....the hotel lobby and lounge were modern and drinks reasonably priced. Staff were polite and helpful. We would stay here again if we travelled back to this area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Really there is nothing to say that has already been said it ticks all the boxes for me. I had recently come out of hospital and was worried about getting around but I had nothing to worry about everything we wanted was just a short walk away. I had emailed the hotel before I went and they gave me a room with a balcony which was a great help. The staff are all lovely and friendly and work very hard. So thanks everybody and we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butcherthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We has a ground floor apartment that had all the noise from the bar the road , but this is offset by stunning views in top floor breakfast room . Rooms clean and big though hard mattresses . The fridge is a plus in the room . Small parade of restaurants nearby with great value meals for evening .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

So wonderful is this place that I would really rather say nothing at all, keeping it secret in fear it may become so popular that i won't be able to get my regular fix. However, after 3 visits with a 4th booked, it is impossible to stay quiet about such a fantastic place. The Velamar is large enough to provide all the necessary comforts and amenities yet small enough to retain unrivalled professional and personal customer service levels. Rooms are typically Med style with tiled floors and marble,unfussy and perfectly functional. Breakfast is excellent,Continental style with fresh local produce served and can be enjoyed indoors or outdoors on the purpose built 3rd floor roof terrace which allows panoramic views of Olhas including the sea. All the staff are kind,knowledgable,attentive,patient and courteous especially Marcello & Adriano. Thankfully there are no Nightclubs in Olhas just plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within short walking distance. Closest beach is only a few hundred metres, a lazy 10 to 15 minute walk.These beaches are said to be the finest in The Algarve. I'd say they are much better than that! This is the perfect chill-out holiday location at ridiculously low prices, family friendly and suitable for all age groups. Transfer time 30 mins from Faro Airport, 60 Euro return with Yellow Fish Transfers (highly recommended).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weakl3mondrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is immaculate and staff are incredibly helpful. The breakfast was fab, the range of food suited us, loved all the fresh fruit. This is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in ( and we have stayed in a lot of hotels) ! It is great value for money, thanks to all the staff who work so hard. Will we be back, ABSOLOUTELY, can highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Kindest staff ever, superb breakfast and chilled-out ambience make the Velamar a perfect place to escape to. Gorgeous beaches. Explore the rock pools when the tide is out. My fourth visit and, though I like to try local food, I was hugely impressed by Cozy Chinese this time round. Also, grab a cake/gateaux and coffee at Intermarche supermarket cafe for a couple of euros. This is a peaceful place for people who want to recharge their batteries. Thanks once again to Adriano and Marcello as well as all the other staff for making our stay extra special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing