We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
2 reviews
“Nice room, Friendly staff”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only stayed for one night but really liked the room, the hotel and the staff were very nice and helpful, they arranged a transfer from airport to hotel for 40 euros.

I enjoyed our stay here, Bed was big and firm, air con was good and balcony was nice but the road is busy and noisy.

The pool and the area around it is not very big so can get busy. The breakfast was nice mixed fruit, ham, cheese but no cooked breakfasts, breakfast was on the 3rd floor which had great views.

Staff were very

We paid 80 euros for late July, would be great value to stay here for less off peak. A few nice places to eat near by.

Room Tip: avoid room on left side of hotel door as that's near the noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2muchaggro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    406
    96
    13
    12
See reviews for
175
789
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We returned to this hotel after having enjoyed a stay here two years ago. It was the same nice hotel and great staff. It's not exactly "on" the beach as you have to walk for almost a kilometer to get there. They do have a nice pool, but it can be a bit hard to get a spot on a sun bed there. Breakfast is very good for a Portuguese hotel and the rooms are very good for what you pay; relatively spacious with a desk and a balcony. Our only complaint, and it's quite important to us, is that they didn't take fire safety seriously. Twice we complained that the fire exit next to our door was blocked / locked. They said they'd look into it, but during our week there nothing happened. Very disappointing and we'll not stay here again. Not just because of the safety issue, but also because of the hike to the beach and because there are better beaches around (Praia Dona Ana for example!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Velamar and really enjoyed it. Fantastic fresh breakfast everyday. Loads of fruit, cereal, breads etc. Helpful, friendly and hard working staff. Immaculately clean. Great bathrooms and comfortable rooms. Lovely beach about 10 - 15 mins walk away and loads of bars and restaurants close by as well as a large supermarket 5 mins walk and open early till late everyday. Nice pool and plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Had rooms on a side road. Really quiet. No problems at all. Could do with softer mattress and tea/coffee making facilities but for what we paid this was a great choice. Would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddaddy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from Portugal. Having stayed in Velamar for a week. Its a basic hotel, but clean and friendly. There is only wifi in the reception/bar area, it's 2013 it should be in every room. I had to get a iron in reception and it's €15 deposit and €3 per day for a safe lock. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room? It's a hotel is it not? Iron, tea/coffee and wifi in the room please.

The rooms are dated and bland but the bathroom is modern, also ask to be away from the road, very noisy.

There is no restaurant only a snack bar and the main bar closes at 12am. The breakfast is ok, Mediterranean style, fruit, meats, cheese cereals and breads. The coffee at breakfast was very bad everyday, I mean awful. However in the snack bar really good latte, coffee and cappuccino available from €1.50

Its close to Olhos de Agua (10-15 mins walk )which is great for the beach and restaurants. Which is great if your chilling or have kids. The beach is small but nice. It's €10 in a taxi to the hub of activity which is old town Albufeira. There is also the new town or "the strip" for €6 in a taxi. Lots of madness there should you be looking for fun.

Overall we were happy with the location as we enjoyed Olhos de Agua, we were there to chill. The hotel was ok, average. The staff were really nice. No wifi in the rooms and bad breakfast coffee. Great selection of restaurants along the way to the beach. Value for money I'm not so sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fesleywox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed as a family in is hotel during July and cannot say anything bad about it. I had checked reviews before booking and most were positive and we were not disappointed. The hotel is small and therefore more personal with very pleasant and helpful staff in all areas. Rooms were big and we had a good pool view. They were spotlessly clean with change of towels etc everyday. The little fridge was very useful for keeping the drinks cool. Breakfast was good with lovely fresh fruit salad, my favourite. Handy to very reasonably priced restaurants and a short walk from 2 beautiful beaches. I hope to return soon and will definitely use the Velemar again - it should get more than 3star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view and floor 1 or 2 as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel,spending six nights there. Hotel very clean large lounge area,pool not too big but clean and plenty of loungers. Breakfast buffet excellent,plenty of choice.the one disadvantage on a very busy road so would ask for room overlooking pool,not a great view either room. You can't hear traffic when doors are closed so won't keep you awake.
We hired bikes for three days ,a great way to get around as it is a 10 to 15 min walk to beach and centre of Olhos d Aqua . Very good Indian near hotel and a few other eating places but the noise from the road not great.
Apart from one woman on reception who was very helpful and friendly they were efficient but not over friendly.
The good thing for us 59 and 60 there were not loads of children splashing around in pool,mainly couples and mature people and no loud disco at night!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 4 nights mid July. We read the reviews before we booked and were not disappointed. The hotel was very clean and staff friendly. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the road, this can get very busy and noisy, but room had triple glazing which really does keep the noise out. Room was very comfortable with the biggest king size bed I have ever slept in, pillows were a bit hard but spare ones in the wardrobe were much softer so we used these. Room equiped with tv, fridge and air con, would have been nice if we had had tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was cleaned with fresh towels everyday. Continental breakfast was very nice, constantly checked and refilled by friendly staff, only down side was slow toaster, most people put their bread under and went to fetch other items and them came back, could really do with a faster toaster. Would highly recommend Adega do Ze Restaurant(turn right as you come out of the hotel), all inclusive meal deals at 7.50 and 9.50 euros, this included a drink (I was served with 1 litre of rose wine) garlic bread, main meal, dessert, coffee and port wine, we ate here 3 night out of 4 (restaurant closes on Sunday) on the other night we went to Jollies, had a very nice meal but a bit expensive.
Would recommend this hotel, was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missnett108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing