We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Velamar Hotel for 12 nights from the 19th. of June. We got a very good deal when we booked with Booking.com last October. We were allocated room 224 which was on the road side of the hotel. It had a very nice view from the balcony - villas and the sea.. We enjoyed a drink on the balcony before and after dinner each night. The hotel was spotless. The room was cleaned every day and always a supply of fresh towels. Breakfast was continental style which was very enjoyable. The staff were excellent - very friendly. There were many very good restaurants within a 5/10 minute walk from the hotel - offering Chinese, Indian. Italian and local cuisine - all of which very enjoyable. The area of Olhos de Agua is very charming with a beautiful beach. We wanted a quiet relaxing break, which is what we got. We always research the area and accommodation before we book and are never disappointed with our choice. We will return to the Velamar Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    383
    95
    12
    12
See reviews for
166
749
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a third visit to this Hotel the level of all round consistency can only be described as a real credit to all the staff running this establishment and is therefore highly recommended. Clean comfortable rooms & Sanitation, excellent choice of quality foods for a continental breakfast.Polite efficient staff in attendance. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the Algarve. Beautiful beaches are just a short walk away. Require any sort of assistance and the staff here will go out of their way to help. We will most certainly return again. Fantastic value for money. Thanks Velamar.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the second floor and had no problems. the lighting during the evening in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItaloReedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the velamar for 10 days. Very clean, well kept hotel with attentive and friendly staff. We stayed in a very big room on the top floor with a distant sea view and unfortunately no balcony. Breakfast was continental. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to the area being a bit too quiet although Olhos d'Agua does have its own charm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportSlewth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubrique, Spain
Level Contributor
368 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is 7km from Albufeira City Centre and some distance from the beach. Free parking is a good facility. The ground floor carpets are worn, dirty or both. You cannot really see as the lighting is so low as to be a potential hazard. The hotel allows men to wander about wearing only shorts which is fine for a beach bar but not for a City Hotel, in my opinion. Breakfast was OK but thre was no hot food available. The free WIFI was only available in one designated area.

We did not use the pool so cannot comment but the prices of drinks in the bar seemed about par for the course.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here in October had a really lovely time so decided to go back in May. Again we had a lovely time. The resort is small but really nice. Nice bars and restaurants and if your not satisfied with what's on offer Albefuria isn't" to far away although that's not for us. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are fantastic. Anything you need to know just ask. They all speak English and are all very friendly. Thanks again for a lovely stay, hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWTW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

***Overview****
Upon arriving we had moderate expectations given the price we had paid. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was fairly modern. I would say the bed was slightly on the hard side but the room allowed for a comfortable stay. One of the hotels bests strenghts is clealiness, the place always looked clean. The breakfast is fairly basic with the same choices each day. The staff were ok but could be more friendly (i.e. smile more).

***Location***
The location was in a very quiet area of the Algarve 10 minutes outside Albufeira and 25 minutes from Vilamoura. Taxi prices were reasonable to get to either (5 or 15 euros respectively).

WOULD WE RETURN: If we wanted to come back on a fairly modest budget then yes.

Room Tip: Ask for room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaineLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Velamar for a week in June. The hotel is very clean and the staff are excellent. We spent every night in the bar before heading out for dinner and the bartender couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We had fresh towels every day and our room cleaned every other day unless we left our sign on the door requesting for it to be cleaned. The breakfast is great. Fresh melon, pineapple, yogurts, toast and the usual continental meats and cheeses. I would agree with the other reviews that they do need to invest in a new toaster, and maybe more than one! Fresh juices and a wide selection of teas. The location is okay - there are some nice restaurants near by but a little too 'snack bar' looking for what we wanted. However, we ate in Jollies twice as the food was so delicious!! Would recommend the short walk to Olhos D'Agua, they have some nice fish restaurants overlooking the sea, good Italian and bars. All in all, great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDoran26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
1,809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
956 reviews
2.1 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#26 of 163 in Albufeira
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing