We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveler rating
878
488
111
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
488
111
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room isrooftop restaurantolhos d'aguatop floorold townfresh fruitpool areabreakfast stafflovely hotelminute walkbarking dogsbreakfast is servedthird floornice beachesbreakfast was excellenthuge bedsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned home from the Velamar hotel, and we found it a nice quiet hotel, apart from the dogs barking outside, but that was outside the Velamars control. There was a good bit of noise in the morning from the housekeepers and the breakfast room in the morning, if you like to lie in till 9am then that's out the window. but other than that nice n quiet.
I couldn't get a proper sleep either because the bed is actually two single beds pushed together (not clipped) so it was sliding on the floor, i found the first night the two beds fell apart and i fell down between the two (not good) my partner had to get his belt and tie the wheels together so they didn't move again, not what i was expecting from a double room which was meant to have a double bed in.
The breakfast was lovely though, nice choice of cereal's cheese a selection of cold meats and plenty bread to keep you going for the day, plus the breakfast room had amazing views of Albufeira.
I did find that the staff could have been a bit more cheerfull, not a lot of smiling going on, if you want a bit of a laugh from staff i wouldn't recommend here.
We went to the bar on our last night ( the bar closes at 12pm) we asked for a nightcap, but the bar tender seemed to be really put out because it was 11.45pm he then told us he was in a hurry to go, he then just poured us one drink as the bottle had ran out and he couldn't be bothered opening a new bottle, then said he had to go, we appologised as we seemed to have annoyed him in some way... so if you want to be made to feel like your putting certain bar staff out their way this is the place to go. not really what you expect on your holiday.
The hotel itself is in a nice spot, a lot of restaurants around for a good variety, and the beaches and shops are all within walking distance.
overall, i don't think we will return to the Velamar but definitely to Albufeira.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sad to return from a lovely holiday staying at the velamar. A lovely hotel, staff great so helpful. Breakfast was so nice and plenty to eat. Our room was cleaned every day, lovely clean towels. We will be booking to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I must admit I was expecting one of those typical oldies-hotels in Portugal but I was happily surprised by a nice big room with an incredible breakfast. The personnel were kind and very profesional and the location couldn´t be better; a supermarket, the city center and the beach very close. The only "BUT" could be that the wi-fi didn´t work very well in the room and if you really need that then the price downstairs is 4 euros/hour. Let´s not forget the nice swimming-pool they have also got.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avelina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a visit the Algarve staying for 5 nights at the Velamar. It was our first visit and as usual we had looked at the reviews to see what to expect! We were not disappointed and found the stay excellent value for money.
Our room overlooking the pool, 121, was a little dark as the sun only reached our balcony at the very end of the day. However as it was very warm weather it did give us somewhere to sit in the shade! The room itself was spotless and cleaned daily by cheerful maids. I loved the breakfast as I enjoy fresh fruit, rolls and jam. I did not expect a cooked breakfast so was not disappointed. Visitors did however use the toasting facilities to make cheese/ham on toast! The view from the breakfast room was lovely.
The pool was fine to cool off in but not for serious swimmers as one end was rather shallow. Plenty sunbeds surrounded the pool.
We walked to the 2 beaches, Olhos d'Agua and the Maria Luisa. We did prefer the Maria Luisa as it was almost deserted and more interesting with just one restaurant/snack bar as opposed to the busier Olhos d'Agua beach.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The food in the breakfast room was constantly replaced and there was no shortage of anything.
Yes! We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jude41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from a short trip to Albufeira i cannot wait to go back. Hotel is a bit outside of Albufeira which makes it ideal if you want a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle , but it is still close enough costs around 7 Euro in a taxi . Some local shops and restaurants in close walking distance. Gorgeous beach in walking distance. The hotel is spotless, great selection of continental breakfast , snackbar is open during the day which is great if you just want to hang out by the pool all day. Staff are very friendly, so helpful and good fun. I will definetly be returning to Albufeira and Velamar.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms can be quiet noisey in the morning with passing traffic.We were on the first floor so maybe a higher floor or a room facing the pool in the back might be better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews