We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alfagar Alto da Colina(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$152
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$288
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$272
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$388
$357
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$578
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$1,686
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveler rating
870
485
107
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
485
107
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room isrooftop restaurantolhos d'aguatop floorold townfresh fruitpool areabreakfast stafflovely hotelminute walkbreakfast is servedbarking dogsthird floornice beachesbreakfast was excellenthuge bedsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sad to return from a lovely holiday staying at the velamar. A lovely hotel, staff great so helpful. Breakfast was so nice and plenty to eat. Our room was cleaned every day, lovely clean towels. We will be booking to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I must admit I was expecting one of those typical oldies-hotels in Portugal but I was happily surprised by a nice big room with an incredible breakfast. The personnel were kind and very profesional and the location couldn´t be better; a supermarket, the city center and the beach very close. The only "BUT" could be that the wi-fi didn´t work very well in the room and if you really need that then the price downstairs is 4 euros/hour. Let´s not forget the nice swimming-pool they have also got.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a visit the Algarve staying for 5 nights at the Velamar. It was our first visit and as usual we had looked at the reviews to see what to expect! We were not disappointed and found the stay excellent value for money.
Our room overlooking the pool, 121, was a little dark as the sun only reached our balcony at the very end of the day. However as it was very warm weather it did give us somewhere to sit in the shade! The room itself was spotless and cleaned daily by cheerful maids. I loved the breakfast as I enjoy fresh fruit, rolls and jam. I did not expect a cooked breakfast so was not disappointed. Visitors did however use the toasting facilities to make cheese/ham on toast! The view from the breakfast room was lovely.
The pool was fine to cool off in but not for serious swimmers as one end was rather shallow. Plenty sunbeds surrounded the pool.
We walked to the 2 beaches, Olhos d'Agua and the Maria Luisa. We did prefer the Maria Luisa as it was almost deserted and more interesting with just one restaurant/snack bar as opposed to the busier Olhos d'Agua beach.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The food in the breakfast room was constantly replaced and there was no shortage of anything.
Yes! We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jude41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from a short trip to Albufeira i cannot wait to go back. Hotel is a bit outside of Albufeira which makes it ideal if you want a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle , but it is still close enough costs around 7 Euro in a taxi . Some local shops and restaurants in close walking distance. Gorgeous beach in walking distance. The hotel is spotless, great selection of continental breakfast , snackbar is open during the day which is great if you just want to hang out by the pool all day. Staff are very friendly, so helpful and good fun. I will definetly be returning to Albufeira and Velamar.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms can be quiet noisey in the morning with passing traffic.We were on the first floor so maybe a higher floor or a room facing the pool in the back might be better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth stay at the Velamar. As usual it was excellent value for money!The staff were helpful and friendly.All in all the hotel meets all of our requirements.We hired a car from a local firm(Auto Prudente)and travelled all over the Algarve.With sat.nav. this was easy and highly recommended! Booked already to return in November! DON'T JUST VIEW IT,DO IT!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeniSD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews