We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES IT IS TRUE !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I must admit I was expecting one of those typical oldies-hotels in Portugal but I was happily surprised by a nice big room with an incredible breakfast. The personnel were kind and very profesional and the location couldn´t be better; a supermarket, the city center and the beach very close. The only "BUT" could be that the wi-fi didn´t work very well in the room and if you really need that then the price downstairs is 4 euros/hour. Let´s not forget the nice swimming-pool they have also got.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from a visit the Algarve staying for 5 nights at the Velamar. It was our first visit and as usual we had looked at the reviews to see what to expect! We were not disappointed and found the stay excellent value for money.
Our room overlooking the pool, 121, was a little dark as the sun only reached our balcony at the very end of the day. However as it was very warm weather it did give us somewhere to sit in the shade! The room itself was spotless and cleaned daily by cheerful maids. I loved the breakfast as I enjoy fresh fruit, rolls and jam. I did not expect a cooked breakfast so was not disappointed. Visitors did however use the toasting facilities to make cheese/ham on toast! The view from the breakfast room was lovely.
The pool was fine to cool off in but not for serious swimmers as one end was rather shallow. Plenty sunbeds surrounded the pool.
We walked to the 2 beaches, Olhos d'Agua and the Maria Luisa. We did prefer the Maria Luisa as it was almost deserted and more interesting with just one restaurant/snack bar as opposed to the busier Olhos d'Agua beach.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The food in the breakfast room was constantly replaced and there was no shortage of anything.
Yes! We would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jude41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from a short trip to Albufeira i cannot wait to go back. Hotel is a bit outside of Albufeira which makes it ideal if you want a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle , but it is still close enough costs around 7 Euro in a taxi . Some local shops and restaurants in close walking distance. Gorgeous beach in walking distance. The hotel is spotless, great selection of continental breakfast , snackbar is open during the day which is great if you just want to hang out by the pool all day. Staff are very friendly, so helpful and good fun. I will definetly be returning to Albufeira and Velamar.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms can be quiet noisey in the morning with passing traffic.We were on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just returned from our fourth stay at the Velamar. As usual it was excellent value for money!The staff were helpful and friendly.All in all the hotel meets all of our requirements.We hired a car from a local firm(Auto Prudente)and travelled all over the Algarve.With sat.nav. this was easy and highly recommended! Booked already to return in November! DON'T JUST VIEW IT,DO IT!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeniSD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Velamar at the end of March. We were booked in for a week but unfortunately had to cut our stay short by 3 days because my girlfriend's grandmother died.

Up to then, the Velamar had been OK. Leaky shower, broken light in bedroom, awful coffee: but hey, you get what you pay for and it was cheap and clean.

However, on March 28, the day her granny died, when my girlfriend informed the staff at reception that we had to leave early and the reason why, the reaction of the staff was appalling. Not only did they not even express sympathy of any kind, but were positively surly when we asked if we could print out our boarding passes, as we had to book a new flight and our original passes would not suffice. When my girlfriend asked the receptionist if she could call our airport transfer company to change our pick-up to the following day, she was asked did she not have her own phone to use?

Later that day (we were flying out the following day) I enquired if we could get a refund for the 3 nights we weren't staying and was told that they would check with the manager. Then, we were informed that due to the fact that we had booked through an internet booking agency, they would not give a refund. I asked to see the manager who had said this, to see if our special circumstances (death in the family) would be taken into account and maybe they could issue even a partial refund or a gift voucher. I was told the manager was in Lisbon on business but would be around the next day (March 29). The following day, I asked twice to see the manager before we left but was again told that he/she was not available.

In the meantime, our room phone rang at 3:45am on the morning of March 29, waking us both in a panic. I answered, to be greeted by a Portuguese voice saying 'Hello, How are you?' When I asked who it was, they hung up. The receptionist could not draw any light on this event later that morning.

I understand that we got a good deal on the hotel and I also understand if it went against regulations to reimburse customers who had to leave early. However, in all the years I have been staying in hotels, I have never, ever encountered staff as impolite, surly, dispassionate, downright rude and lacking in basic humanity or compassion as those at Hotel Velamar. I can only say that I hope that if any of the staff ever experience a family crisis while on holiday that they are dealt with in a far more humane manner than we were.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank johnnie_walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is situated not in Albufeira itself, but in a small bordering town Olhos de Água which is 5 minutes away by taxi (25 minutes afoot) from Albufeira’s best beach and main entertainments. Velamar has a nearer beach (10 minutes walk) and it is very beautiful too. The rooms in the hotel are spacious, clean and with large balconies. It is quite a new building with all services one may need. The restaurant located on the upper floor with magic view. All foods served are diverse & delicious.

Room Tip: Try to book 2nd floor and upper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninkhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel. We were delighted with the service we received in this hotel as the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We found that even though this hotel is not very near to Albufeira itself it's location was centrally located for visiting all around the area. Local buses stop service around 7pm so be careful if you are out and about. A trip into Velamura is a must with beautiful beaches & big marina. We also took a few trips into Albufeira old town which is lovely during the day and lively at night, the new town strip in Albufeira we found was more suitable for younger crowds with lots of stags & hen nights.

Where this hotel is located is in Olhos d'Agua which has a lovely beach, some shops and nice restaurants, it's a bit of a walk from the hotel and the area has quite a number of hills, still it's a beautiful place.

The hotel was very clean all over, nice powerful shower, small balcony, we were on the first floor and we got very little sun on it. The breakfast was fine although could use another toaster. The only downside we found were that the beds were hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,040 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $44 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing