We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and good value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velamar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velamar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. It is spotless and well run with great staff who show an interest and are very cheerful day and night. We enjoyed walking around a bit, getting to know the area and only took taxis twice. Nice fishing village close by and there are plenty of good places to eat close too. There is a nice roof terrace at the hotel with super views out to sea. Good rooms and the breakfast was very good too with a big choice. This hotel is a real bargain for what you get.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    380
    94
    12
    12
See reviews for
164
744
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just back from our 3rd stay in the Velamar and it's still as good as ever! We stayed for 8 nights and I had previously emailed the hotel asking for a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony and side street view - which is exactly what we got. The same staff were there as on our previous 2 visits, which is always a good sign, and we have always found them to be friendly and helpful. There's a lovely homely feel to the hotel and we met others who said the same.
The weather was ok - a bit on the cool side but certainly warmer than at home so we were happy enough!
Places I would recommend for eating would be ; Soft Caffe (for snacks and drinks!), Calheiros, A Cantina for beautiful evening meals and if you like Indian food, Tiffanys - all of these are reasonably priced and the food is delicious.
We usually had a nightcap back in the hotel bar and others obviously did the same as there was always a good crowd there!
Will go back again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent hotel and a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to side of hotel are quieter and get sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweens063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great place for a solo traveler looking to be in a central location with great shopping and beaches nearby. I had a car but rarely needed to use it as downtown Albuferia is a 5 euro taxi ride away. The bar and restaurant were great for meeting other lovely travelers and the restaurants nearby also have great food for low prices (wine, starter, main, dessert, coffee for 10 Euro).

The only complaint is that the walls are paper thin and you hear sounds of other's alarms, tvs, etc all night long and in the corridor. Also, wifi is only available in the lobby which is pretty inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper level to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place is great and the staff are really nice. The rooms are all very nice and clean. The only issue i would say with the rooms is the beds, they are really quite hard but apart from that this place is great for families and couples. The breakfast is really nice, they have a selection of most things sweet and savory. Its a nice quiet hotel but you can easily get to the busy places by walking or taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Previous visits have been in October but this time we enjoyed a trip in April. As usual the hotel was spotless, breakfast great, nice friendly bar and helpful staff. Can't beat it. Walked to Albufeira in soaring heat, quite a trek on a hot day. Enjoyed the usual restaurants - good choice in Olhos d'Agua itself. Not keen on the restaurants to the right and left of the hotel though. Certainly the top 3 on Trip Advisor were the best we found and quite outstanding.
As usual would highly recommend the Velamar to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday and who enjoys some walking - although taxis are plentiful and there are bus stops near the hotel.
My husband always asks "how do they do it for the prices they charge?". It really is value for money. Good to see all the same staff there too.

Room Tip: Maybe a room overlooking the pool or the back of the hotel. Rooms on the road are noisy when the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was exactly what the reviews say. Clean friendly in a lovely area. Turn left to. a beautiful fishing village, right will get you to Albufeira. There was 16 in our party and all say they would go back. From the cleaning of our rooms daily to the lovely fresh breakfasts all was spot on. Ta .good auld Ryan air also came up trumps.. the marras on tour...

Room Tip: We were all situated on different floors and views no complaints from us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midge135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden Citty
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

There is nothing to fault at this hotel. We expected it to be good because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. Everything was clean, staff were friendly and room was lovely. We used Yellow Fish transfers and they were excellent too. Book it, you will not be disappointed. Excellent value, excellent holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 and sat and watched the sun go down every evening, would definitely ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimsmith41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Boutique Hotel

Property: Velamar Boutique Hotel
Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#15 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel Opened in 2002, the Velamar Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Velamar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing