We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Sea facing but not a sea view'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November out of season and arrived at 4ish in the afternoon. We were given the keys to our room and met by a friendly chap at reception. The room was large enough for two and very clean. The bed was quite hard and there were not enough sockets in the room.

*Be aware* They do not provide kettles in the room and yo have to pay 3 euros per day to use the safe deposit box.

We were told our room was a 'sea view', but from the first floor we did not get this, only trees! However, you are able to see the sea from the breakfast room which is on the third floor. The breakfast in the mornings was a continental breakfast, mixture of cold meats, cheeses, breads and cereals and fruit. This was very nice and healthy, which makes a change from the usual fried breakfasts. You can eat as much as you like and this should fill you up till lunchtime.

The location of the hotel was not the best, however we knew this when we booked the hotel. It will take approximately an hour to walk into Albufeira along the main roads, but the bus will cost 2 euros 20 for a single which takes about 20 minutes at max. The buses only operate every hour or so, so not too regular. We spent the first day walking to Albufeira along the beaches and rocks which took a good 2 hours plus, but the view was much nicer. We were lucky as the weather was 20 max and very sunny while we were here as the week before was torrential rain and stormy!

The hotel did not have a restaurant but their bar is open all year round and we enjoyed some nice Super Bock beer and cocktails during the evenings. There are a few restaurants around the hotel but the ones that were open were nothing special. As we went 'out of season' there were not many places that were open, even in 'The Old Town'.

All in all we had a very nice relaxing stay in the Hotel Velamar and thoroughly enjoyed the lush sunshine in the beaches. We even went in the sea!! I think we were one of very few people who did!! We would definitely go back to The Algarve again, maybe before the season ends next time as it was very quiet and not much to do apart form walking along the beaches and visiting the old town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
There are newer reviews for Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from another great week at the Velamar.
Decided to cellebrate our 30th wedding anniversary at the Velamar after our visit there last year
Nothing as changed,the people who run this hotel are a credit to not only the hotel but to Portugal.
Thankyou to all the staff at the Velamar you helped make it special for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevewinHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

An excellent hotel in a quiet location but close to bars and restaurants, try the Three Marias 300 yards away!!. The staff are helpful and friendly and sorted out a minor problem we had on arrival within seconds. The hotel is a 5/6 euro taxi ride from Albufeira but there are 2 nice beaches within 10 minutes walk. Excellent hotel will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALEX D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have just returned from Hotel Velamar having had a short 5 night break 4th- 9th Nov, The hotel is clean and tidy and the continental breakfast is ok. Unfortunately when we arrived the hot water system was down and we were advised that it could not be repaired until the next day as parts were not available due to it being Sunday, we were offered the chance to move to another hotel but decided to stay. The water was not repaired until later on the Tuesday, the only downside was that the reception did not give us any updates as to when the system would be fixed only saying "we are waiting for spare parts"
The room was ok but the furniture on the balcony is a bit tired and could do with replacing, some good places to eat close by, Jollies bar, the 3 Maria's, good value meal deals in place !
All in all a good break and after all we paid 20 euro per night including breakfast for two so can't complain, bargain ! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliewally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Portugal. When we arrived at the Velamar the welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were excellent during our stay, very polite and spoke very good english. We booked B & B and were happy with the continental breakfast we received each morning. The rooms at the Velamar were a good size, the maids came and made the beds every day and the whole hotel always had a pleasant clean smell.
Free Wi-fi is available at the hotel but we could only receive it in the bar/lounge area.
The pub/restaurant nearby Jollies was a lovely find, run by a very friendly couple and serves delicious home cooked english and portugese food, well worth a visit.
Staff did advise us that a walk to the new town was only 30 minutes away but unless you are regular, confident walkers we would recommend a taxi or bus, the walk is much longer than 30 mins! If you are considering going on any of the tours it is advisable to shop around, we ended up paying just over 5 euro's each for a trip to Loule Markets that was advertised in some Travel Shops at 20 euro's per person!
Unfortunately a couple of days in to our holiday there was heavy rain and a storm resulting in a brief loss of electricity and damage to the hot water system. When we asked what was being done to resolve the lack of hot water issue we were immediately offered the choice to move hotels which after some consideration we did. If it had not been for this I believe we would have continued to enjoy our time at the Velamar Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went early season (April) so the weather wasn't going to be at its best but it was good enough and most restaurants etc. were open in the area. The hotel itself has been described adequately by previous reviewers...its not five star but it is well above average and for the price its an absolute steal. If you are looking for a cooked breakfast you are out of luck as the hotel has no restaurant but to be honest I was more than happy with what was on offer in the breakfast room which is on the roof and a delightful way to start your day.

The main road thing is not a problem in any room it would appear and the cleaning was thorough. The staff were friendly enough when approached but tended to keep to themselves otherwise, which is a bonus if you don't like being bothered. If you go out the hotel and go left there is a local cafe there that is really friendly, very cheap, and very good, can't quite remember the name of it though but I think it has been mentioned elsewhere (Soft Caffe?). Worth jumping into a taxi to go to the "strip" and to the old town when you are looking for something to do or if you want the beach there is a nice wee bit at Olhos De Agua within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baz_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Velamar, we had a room for a family myself my partner and my 3 yr old daughter. When we arrived the first impression is that it smelt lovely and was very clean the staff were really friendly. We had a B&B stay and the breakfast was served between 0730 & 1030 which I thought was a great time range and breakfast was lovely, on the third floor with a terrace which was lovely when the sun was out!! They had a great selection of fruit, breads and cereals and the staff kept all the food topped up all morning so nothing ran out. The room was very clean but a few things were broken a cupboard and when it rained the balcony had a major flow of water coming down which was very noisy and the balcony light did not work, saying that none of this detracted from our stay. Due to the time of year the pool was not being used as it was too cold so this might be the reason for it not being that clean, but from what I could tell it seemed to be a very quaint area and could be lovely in the summer months.

The lounge had a bar serving drinks and the hotel also has free WiFi so a lot of people took to the lounge to read etc on their Ipads etc in the bad weather. they also had 2 computers were you could use the internet this was at a cost of 1 Euro for 15 mins.

The area was very quiet due to it being the end of the season, the residents of the hotel were couples or business groups so our 3 yr old was slightly out of the place the staff were nice to her but the other guests were not so accommodating and I don't think they appreciated her singing at the breakfast table!!

On the 5th night of the stay there was a power cut and the boiler at the hotel broke which meant no hot water for us and this was still not resolved by the time we left on the Sunday, I found that we had to go and ask all the time what was going on with it and when we might expect the water to come back on. They were struggling with parts due to it being a weekend. There was no offer of any compensation for this not even a drink as the boss was not there and was trying to get to the hotel ( for 2 days).

All this considered I would recommend the hotel but more for couples having relaxing quiet break and not for a family with a active 3 yr old!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anigrenrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.3 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel

Address: Estrada de Albufeira | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8200-609, Portugal (Formerly Velamar Sun & Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $56 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002, the Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel is located between the pleasant fishing village of Olhos d'Agua and the famous Santa Eulalia Beach, in Albufeira. This 3-Star Hotel has 73 Rooms and 2 Suites. It provides excellent facilities, including a breakfast room with a panoramic view over the Atlantic Ocean, an outdoor swimming pool and a free private parking. The Hotel is 900 meters away from Maria Luisa Beach and a stroll away from restaurants and supermarkets. Only at 6 kilometers away from the historic center of Albufeira, the Velamar Boutique Hotel ensures serenity and comfort to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velamar Hotel Albufeira
Velamar Budget Boutique Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing