We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveler rating
880
491
112
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
491
112
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room isrooftop restaurantolhos d'aguatop floorold townfresh fruitpool areabreakfast stafflovely hotelminute walkbarking dogsbreakfast is servedthird floornice beachesbreakfast was excellenthuge bedsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just returned from the Algarve, and for the second time we used the Velamar for an overnight stay after arriving on an evening flight. I am very happy to confirm that the quality of the hotel and its staff is, as previously, uniformly excellent. The rooms are large, clean, with a large and comfy bed, and the bathrooms ditto and of good quality. The bar is a pleasant place to sit and have a drink, and the barman, like the front desk staff, was pleasant and professional. To go up to the restaurant in the morning, to see bright blue skies and look out over the sea is a real pleasure and always such a good start to the holiday. The breakfast is of good quality. When we were there there were beautiful slices of fresh melon and other fresh fruits, little patisserie buns which looked very nice, and a good selection of teas including fruit teas, as well as all the usual continental breakfast items. There is also a good private car park not visible from the road.

Considering you can get a double room there including breakfast for about £17 a night or less at this time of the year, you will not find a better bargain. We always go to the Algarve at this time of the year. It's always quiet, which is one reason we love it, but we were sad to notice this year that there were a lot less visitors than usual. Get yourselves a cheap flight out there and go and support great businesses like the Velamar. We had absolutely perfect weather for the last three days of our stay, it simply could not be bettered. Go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lutzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean and nice breakfast. The bar was really nice too, only thing was that the pool was OK but relatively small so we'd quite often head up to a place about 8 mins walk away where the 'Tangerine' restaurant is - the pool there was awesome!

The resort is good for families / couples, and the few restaurants just next to the hotel (restaurant 3 marias and adega du se... i think) were really nice. The latter of those had an early deal for 8 Euros for about 5 courses with half a litre of wine. Considering it was actually really good food, this seriously cannot be beaten!

We also ate at the Restaurant Duarte, Tangerine, Tavertinos, Pizzeria Fratelli and also the place nextdoor to Fratellis (towards the beach). All were really nice, but stragely we found the cheaper places (Duarte and Tavertinos) to be best.

beaches were nice too, but I'd suggest going to the one closer to the hotel rather than in the centre of the resort - it is far nicer. It is a bit of a pain to get to but by far the nicest part of the beach. Mainly portuguese down that part too, so maybe a little secret that the brist dont know about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have to agree with previous reviews - couldn't find anything to fault at this hotel. Staff were friendly, room was great and cleaned every day and the buffet breakfast every morning was very nice. The hotel (like the resort) was very quiet probably because i was there at the end of January. A lot of the bars & restaurants mentioned in previous reviews were closed but the Sofft Bar next door was worth a visit. I think most of the resorts bars and restaurants close immediately after New Year and dont open again until the end of February so its not that lively. Even the strip in Albufeira was mostly closed.

There are a number of excellent beaches within 10/15 minutes walking distance of the hotel but heed the warning signs and dont go too close to the cliffs and watch out for the tid comng in.

its probably worth hiring a car to get about - the buses are a bit infrequent and unless you want to spend every day on the beach, you'l need your own transport. That said, theres a big fuss at the minute as the government introduced tolls for motorway driving 4 weeks ago so you might want to research that if youre hiring a car.

i went by easyjet and if you want to save a bit of effort you can book both the hotel and the connections through their website. the connection was £14 return which is as cheap as i could find it.

if you're looking for cheap daytrips, there's a small booth on the street leading to the main resort beach which seems to be selling them at half the prices in other places. the beach is reached by turning left out of the hotel, walking about 10 minutes up the road past the supermarket and its down the street on the right past the Riu Hotel. there are much larger beaches to either side of this one but the directions are a bit more complicated so ask at the hotel reception.

theres free wifi in the hotel but it doesnt seem to work in the roooms so you'll need to take your laptop down to the bar. safes are available in the rooms - 15 euro deposit plus 3 euro per night. each room has a samll fridge plus TV though the only english channel is Sky News.

would go back but probably during the summer when its warmer & the resort is busier.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front overlook the main road but have triple glazing so theres no noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrelandJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

What can I write about Velamar that you havent already read .
I,m writing simply because I do feel it is that hidden gem you need to know about. And I want to show my appreciation for the lovely time me and my wife had.
Its friendly , clean , well located, and yes does do a good breakfast ..
I didn’t speak to anyone who didn’t like it and actually many of them had visited more than once.
We used the other travellers advice to get to the hotel by booking yellow fishtransfers com . we got our free wine.and thought it was a very good service , very punctual.
The restaurants around Velamar are varied and good , Portuguese, English and an Indian , we liked 3 Marias and enjoyed a few drinks in Jollies bar ..
We liked the fact that Olhos do Aqua was so closeby and gave us a walk to get there. It also has nice eating places and great beach.
Our nearest beach was Maria Luisa which takes some beating, sunloungers and watersports and a anice but pricey and very busy restaurant you are lucky to get a a table most times..
A bus route runs along the road in front of the hotel going to Faro and to Albufeira.
The VeLamar is truly lovely and deserves its place in the trip advisor rankings..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed the end of April 2011. Was a fantastic break, hotel and breakfast was lovely, room was huge and cleaned every day! Was close enough to the centre of alberferia (a short taxi ride) for nights out and shopping. Lovely little area, we only discovered more bars and restaurants as the week went on! The pizzeria/little italian restaurant about a 10minute walk up from the hotel on the corner was fantastic! We kept going back for more!!! Overall a fantastic holiday, great location and the staff were so, so helpful!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank katy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews