We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alfagar Alto da Colina(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$152
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$368
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$578
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$1,691
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveler rating
870
485
107
14
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
485
107
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room isrooftop restaurantolhos d'aguatop floorold townfresh fruitpool areabreakfast stafflovely hotelminute walkbreakfast is servedbarking dogsthird floornice beachesbreakfast was excellenthuge bedsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed here because of the reviews I read on TA. It is exactly as was reviewed. If you want a budget hotel, then this is the one. It is clean, the rooms acceptable and the breakfast much more than I expected. And the price is probably one of the best in the Algarve. Another great thing about the hotel is that you can walk out the door and 15 seconds later enter one of the best little resaturants in the area (Jollies).
The staff is also very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Thanks you all for your reviews they were spot on , in every respect complex small personal,clean and staff friendly . Well located for walking or travelling around. Good eating places locally too.
We used your transfer company yellowfish transfers they were unfaultable, easy to find ,on time , nice cars and 2 lovely drivers .
Thank you at the hotel and everyone who recommended things to make our stay a great experience...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ccarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

What an amazing Hotel. We stayed for 10 days and booked through a tour operator 4 weeks before arrival so it was a cheap holiday for us. Although booked cheaply £337.00 with flights, on request of a quite room and high as possible with best of views we received an email back in 30 mins to say they would do their best. We arrived to find a very clean new car waiting at the airport, a top floor suite of which their are only 2 so we were upgraded and found ourselves on our own as it is on the top with the restuarant and the other room was not occupied for the duration. Very quite, exceptionally clean and great service. Location is great if you have a car. Cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough, suits couples rather than famillies though. Recent reviews say the road side is noisy but we did not find this we had triple glazing but it is not necessary, perhaps maybe in peak season. The only thing we did not like much and it did not affect us was the rooms overlooking the pool as some are overlooked by the restuarant which is occupied from 7.30 to 10.30 and you can see in windows and is a little gloomy around there until you get the sun much later in the evening. The best views are on the road side. We will be returning hopefuly to our old suite.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Was the third time that my wife and I go to the Hotel Velamar. We love the hotel, very clean and breakfast is great and the staff are very friendly. Every year the hotel has something new, which is very good, and also new staff. We love Christina, she always helps us at all. We do not like the new bartender Jose, he is very rude and not polite. Come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here in early March 2011. The hotel is one of the best values I've had during my trip to Portugal. To be clear, I had high hopes because of the great tripadvisor reviews, but if you don't expect a 4 or 5 star hotel (which it isn't), then you should definitely be pleased.

That being said, I must say the location and city wasn't exactly what I expected. I knew the hotel wasn't directly in Albufeira, but didn't think it was that far away. Also, the town is basically overrun by retired folks in March and there isn't much to do besides walk on the beach during the day. Also, I thought that the area would be smaller and quieter, but there are huge resorts all over the place. This may or may not be what you're looking for, so consider this before you book!

The good:

- Very cheap and good value (during low season at least)!

- Super continental breakfast!

- Free internet.

- Nice and big room with balcony.

- Newly renovated bathroom.

- The beds are hard, but I like that and found them quite comfortable. Not sure why others are complaining about that.

- Many restaurants around.

The bad:

- Location. The hotel is not in Albufeira, but in "Olhos d'Agua". This means that if you don't have a car and want to go to Albufeira, you have no choice but to take a bus or a taxi. On the other hand, this is also clear on their Website, so don't go there and expect to walk to Albufeira.

- Noise. The fan in the bathroom was ridiculously loud and it kept going off many times, even during the night. It woke me up and I had to close the door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gohabsgo2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velamarhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Velamar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Dear Neron1234, as mentioned in our website and as you said it yourself, our 3-star hotel is located in Olhos de Água, 4 km away from Albufeira, which can be easily reached by regular bus routes (the bust stop is in front of the hotel) or taxi (costing around €7).
The hotel is also a 10 min walk away from several renowned beaches (Maria Luísa, Santa Eulália, Falésia, Olhos de Água) and 2 km away from Oura (better known as "The Strip"), on of the entertainment centers of Albufeira with bars, clubs and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews