We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here before its a great hotel , attracts a good crowd .
The restaurants very good , we like to eat out but do use this restaurant they do a great carvery you need to book for on Sundays as its very popular with residents from the hotel and surrounding hotels.
Also suggest Netto , next door and 3 Brothers at top of the road.

Strip is close by. But we don't frequent it these days.
We still love the beach though .
We also go to the bowling green at near by clubs Praia da Oura.

We get to the hotel by transfer used to use Paradise Tours but they let us down so many times at the airport and going back we dropped them in favour of yellowfish transfers they never forget you, never late , clean cars, we picked them out cos we see the all the time around the clubs Praia da Oura as that hotel use them to do their transfers and the guests rave about them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Front Office Manager at Muthu Forte da Oura, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Serge B,
Thank you for your comments and preference. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Luna Forte da Oura. Looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Ana Vieira, Front Office Manager, Luna Forte da Oura (fortedaoura@lunahoteis.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Forte da Oura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 663 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Got great deal and had low expectations but was pleasantly surprised. Lovely bright lobby area with free wifi. Our room was to the rear ( ask for a front room ) looking over next doors pool and balcony didn't get any sun at any time of the day. Room was spacious for 2 with separate kitchen area . We asked if there was a coffee machine staff said yes, couldn't find one and we were given one right away but had microwave & fridge & kettle if you wished to cook ! We quizzed the staff daily about places to go , what to do, directions and they gave us answers every time . Supermarket located just around the corner , less than 5 min walk down hill to nearest beach. Pool area was grand - sun beds a bit in need of love . It was quiet being early in season . We could walk to strip in less than 5 minutes and good variety of restaurants close by . Very handy bus stop outside the door to go to old town for €1.80. Hop on hop off bus also stopped there. Also taxi rank across the road.
We split our 4 day trip with 2 nights out in old town and 2 nights out on the strip and this location was easy to do both. We did walk the 4k into town one day which was easy and pleasant also.
On arriving at faro we got taxi to faro bus station and bus €4.00 each to Albuferia and taxi to apartments which was easy and cheap but probably as Easy to prebook a shuttle before you arrive - try yellowish transfers.com ( has wifi on board ) or flybus.com .( cheaper the earlier you book ) On return we booked a shuttle to pick us up for €25 and drop straight to airport - do not pay the € 40 the apartments suggest- ticket office just up the road on the way to the strip had it for €25!
All in all nothing to complain about but might consider closer to old town for next trip.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here on a 5 night break for some relaxation. We got a fantastic deal and we love to stay in the Oura area of Albuferia . Our room was lovely and spacious, fully equipped and was spotlessly clean. We were a party of 4.. 2 adults and 2 kids and it was just perfect.
We found the pool area a bit disappointing as it was very small so we decided to use the local beach... Would we return... Definitely!,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jadeyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Stayed with my 2 children and we enjoyed the pool, tennis court and sea view from our balcony. Music some nights in the bar, otherwise quiet. Rooms were nice and very clean. Supermarket just 4 minutes walk away, beach about 5 or 6 minutes. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for view of pool or sea
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Deirdre099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in September last year, it being recommended by friends.
Prior to our stay we had read quite a few not so good reviews so were slightly worried however the hotel wasn't quite as bad as people made out, I suppose it depends on what you expect.
The room was nicely decorated and spacious enough for the 2 of us (despite the rather odd lay out of the apartment). We had everything we needed for our self catering stay other than a kettle but reception quickly sent one up when requested. We also noticed our balcony door didn't lock which was quite concerning as the balcony's were very close together and would have been easy for someone to jump over. We called down to reception and they sent someone up who didn't speak a word of English but seemed to know what he was there to do. However a few days later we noticed it want locking again, phoned down to reception but no one ever returned to fix it.
The maids came round every day and swept up and towels were changed every 3 days, our bed sheets however were never changed in our 2 week stay. We know this as both sheets had small marks on, which were there for the duration of our stay, we did ask reception about this and was told it should be changed every week, I told her it hadn't which her response was 'I don't know, I don't know when you checked in' then disappeared into the back room. Air con wasn't the best, it just seemed to hum along at the same temperature but this wasn't a major issue as it wasn't too hot at our time of stay and we didn't pay for I. We had a pool view room which was brilliant, as we got the sun all day long which meant we could have a nice coffee in the morning and a cool drink in the evening while still enjoying the sun.
There was also a TV in the room which had a few English channels which put on from time to time just to have a bit of background noise while we were getting ready.
Check in was fast and efficient. There were a few different people working reception during our stay, most being quite grumpy but one lady was very helpful (gave us a map of surrounding area) and always seemed to have a smile on her face.
Some days around the pool we struggled to find a sun bed but we are not early risers so we just sat on the chairs and waited until 2 became available,which was never very long. The sunbeds and parasols could do with a bit of TLC, most sunbeds were dirty and broken and saw people with children struggling to find a non ripped/ broken parasol.
We ate around the pool a few times and the food was good. Nothing amazing to be said but nothing bad either.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, 2 mins walk down hill to the beach 5 mins to the strip and about 20 mins to the old town and also had quite a few bars and restaurants surrounding it. There is also a bus stop outside which will take you into the old town if your not much of a walker as it is a bit hilly. A taxi is about 5 euro which was our choice of transport when returning from the old town as the hill coming back will kill you!! There is a supermarket round the corner as you turn left out of the hotel which is really handy.

I would definitely recommend eating at the sizzling stone ( turn right out of the hotel keep walking and you will see it) the concept is brilliant and the pepper sauce is amazing!
The happy house Chinese buffet opposite the hotel was lovely (although make sure you take any belongings with you to chose your food as the table next to us had her bag stolen)
Also there is a Mexican which is a hidden little gem! The nachos were amazing and the service was second to none!! (turn left out of the hotel round the corner, cross the road and keep walking. It is opposite the supermarket)

There is a tour operator shop next to the super market as you turn left out of the hotel, we went for a day out in Villa mora which had a lovely beach and harbour.
We also went on a boat trip twice which took you round the caves and my boyfriend also had the luxury of seeing wild dolphins!!
Another trip we went on was to the zoo marine which was wonderful! A great day out for people of any age.

All in all, where there were a few negatives to the hotel it was nothing that stopped us having a lovely holiday and would probably return in future as Albufeira is a lovely place. If your not to fussy then this hotel will be fine for you.
Any questions please do not hesitate to ask. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lovely hotel very friendly staff . Room was very spacious and cleaned daily . Will def be back very soon . Hotel is minutes from oura beach and close to the Famous strip but not too close to be dusturbe

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FinnGrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staying just one week in February as a couple, me and the girlfriend were first timers in Portugal and found this hotel to have excellent ratings for a very reasonable price. Being very open minded, I was confident it would be a nice stay, but I was pleasantly surprised that the reviews are in-fact very accurate.
The hotel is VERY clean - the staff work every day to ensure this, unless of course you request not to. They even gave us the option of morning or afternoon visits. The reception area is uncluttered, open, spacious and well-lit thanks to their large ceiling window thing - really lets the light in.
We spent a few ours sitting in reception for the free WiFi in there, which was acceptable speeds considering it was free. We had the option to purchase faster inernet that could be reached in our room, but decided against this as we quite liked the atmosphere in the reception area - but at this time of year it was quite quiet and finding space in there was easy enough. If you go at a busier time, you may well want to pay for the better WiFi in your own room (only problem: limited to one device per log on).
The receptionist(s) were fantastic, helpful, and very polite and friendly, genuinely couldn't have asked for more from them.

The location is great too:
Supermarket under 10 minutes away (turn left outside the hotel, then left at roundabout),
Beach is under 10 minutes away (directly opposite the hotel, follow the downhill road),
Bus stop directly outside the hotel - facing towards old town for 1 Euro 40 each,
Restaurants on both sides of the hotel,
The Strip is just 5 minutes down the road, turn right outside the hotel and right at Wild & Co.

If I had to be critical about anything, it would have to be that the balcony area required a bit of a clean, and the deck chairs were a little grubby. Perhaps the only annoying point would be the two single beds - of which it was almost impossible to push the mattresses together to form one large double.
But hell, a very small price to pay overall - did not impact the holiday in any way.

Also, in relation to the surrounding restaurants, they are quite expensive but mostly very good quality - it is well worth the money. If you've got a more flexible budget, give Wild & Co a go - their food and service is top notch, but expect ~30 - 40 Euros per person.

Room Tip: Sound can travel up corridors from the entertainment in the bar - but our ground floor room was fine...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.1 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $63 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing