We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! Believe what people read.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This is our 3 time at this hotel and kinda gives me an edge on other reviews. Last year 2nd floor apartment probably would have slept 10 if you included floor area as it was huge, but we battled the cockroaches. The hotel staff were both horrified and really good about it and worked out the eggs were in the kitchen bin so they slept outside. Not put off we arrived again this year, smaller room but nice view over the gardens and sea and found some more cockroaches, hey not to bothered it's a warm climate there's bound to be these in most hotels if you look. Staff are really good and friendly, bar and restaurant are little expensive and this year they've cancelled the entertainment probably due to cost. Biggest problem I've found this year is the sun bed or lack of them compared with the number of guests, it's the old save a sun bed with the towels routine, despite the signs, and not a German in site. If the hotel used a section of car park that's to big, and made the pool area larger, added 50 or so NEW beds,problemo solved! Overall, location, food and staff are quite good but one of the four stars want knocking off!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzilbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Forte da Oura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 663 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've just returned from hol for 12 days it was clean tidy and everything you need for self catering.
myself husband and 3 and half yr old son went childs pool excellent came to his shoulders so he was in there most of the hol.The pool area was much bigger than what it looks in the photos on line.Staff v cheerful especially the people who work around the pool bar.
Everybody has different expectations from a hol this is perfect for a cheap get away.
Area perfect away from the strip if you go turn left out of hotel and go to restaurants round there not on the strip if you are a family the strip bit rough and just too English.
I would say we would defo refurn to Portugal and this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool or sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just got back from Luna Forte da Oura, & after having read bad reports we also were a little bit anxious.The hotel was fine,& we also managed to get sunbeds ok, though the music around the pool could be a little on the loud side. Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday with friends, having read some of the August reviews on here I was feeling a little uncertain as to whether we had picked the best accommodation how wrong could we have been. The apartments are some of the cleanest I have ever stayed in, they are cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels every other day, I loved the fact that the bedroom is totally separate from the living room and the curtains totally cut out the sun so sleeping was no problem, The staff were all friendly and helpful including the cleaners who were more than happy to come back later if you were not ready for them to clean. The pool itself is quite small although it was never too full if you like to swim, getting sunbed could be quite difficult as people would put towels on leave & come back later, even though there are signs saying towels would be removed I never saw this happen, also, some of the sunbed & umbrellas were broken. The apartments are in an excellent position, just 7 minutes from the strip, 5 minutes to a supermarket and 15 minutes down hill to a beautiful beach. There is a bus stop outside which takes you direct into the Old Town or you can use the taxi rank across the road for around 5 euros, alliteratively you could walk up to the top of the strip and take a trip on the little train, all day ticket 3.50 euro. Although we went out to a different bar every night we always ended our night at the Oura bar which is next to the hotel, fantastic owner & staff who always remember what you are drinking, many a night/early morning spent in here. All in all we had an excellent holiday and would recommend these apartments and we would definitely go back

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view but not over look the pool ask from a front garden view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wjpct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week stay, got to admit after reading some of the reviews we were a little worried about the accomodation we had picked, but no need. The hotel is a bit dated and probably only 3* our room was large and very clean, (cleaned daily) also a lovely view overlooking the gardens. We had room 112 which was on the ground floor and was really quiet, we didn't have a broken nights sleep in the whole fortnight. Well situated, 5 mins walk to the strip, 4 euro taxi ride to the old town. Would recommend Oura bar right next to the hotel, small and very friendly, Darius and Antonio were great. great food at the Cockerel Country Kitchen but u need to go early or book as its very popular, would also recommend Central Planet in old town, stick around for the shadow show, very funny. We did not use the pool area, but did look in on several occasions, it was never full, bit noisy but that was because there was music playing all day, not much good if u want to relax, the pool bar is franchised seperatly from the hotel, hence why they want you to buy from the bar and not take your own. All in all we had a fantastic time and would definately go back.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbiegadsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

just got back on the 13/09/12. and had a great time,having read some of the reviews
before we went we were worried that we had chosen badly and how wrong we were.
we never had any problems getting sunbeds in the two weeks we were there,thoughg they could do with some new umrellas.
the food from the pool bar was nice if a little bit pricey the same goes with the drinks.
the location was exellent for everything.
the strip is a short walk away with all the bars and restaurants, we had exellent meals in the sizzling stone,,el rancho,also the chinese place behind el rancho,upstairs in wild and co for lovely steaks.
also another good bar and restaurant is the invictus that is on the way to the strip from the hotel its looks new and it has all the sports on multiple screens and also nice for a quiet drink.(cheaper than the strip) overall we had a exellent holiday and we would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked this hotel in january and started to get worried two weeks before going 5th/12th sept.having read some of the reviews! Yes the pool is small and yes the pool police prevent you from drinking your own drinks and yes the rooms are dated abit, but the hotel is clean , quite and is in a good location, 5mins walk to strip, supermarket around the corner, offsales and resturants on your doorstep. Room cleaned daily and towels changed every other day. Solcafe across the road good food and friendly staff. Would stay again and recommend,more like 3 star but still ok. If going to zoomarine get discount tickets from stand at airport , a great family day out. Aqualand again has discount tickets and is a must.some water shutes slow but did.nt spoil our fun, lots to do and again a great day. As with both parks get there for them opening 10am to avoid que,s. Food pricey and drinks dear , so bring your own if feeding a family. Family of 5 age range 17,18,22 42 and 45.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cozzie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
0.1 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $63 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing