We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muthu Forte da Oura
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
cornwall
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just got back from a 2 week stay, got to admit after reading some of the reviews we were a little worried about the accomodation we had picked, but no need. The hotel is a bit dated and probably only 3* our room was large and very clean, (cleaned daily) also a lovely view overlooking the gardens. We had room 112 which was on the ground floor and was really quiet, we didn't have a broken nights sleep in the whole fortnight. Well situated, 5 mins walk to the strip, 4 euro taxi ride to the old town. Would recommend Oura bar right next to the hotel, small and very friendly, Darius and Antonio were great. great food at the Cockerel Country Kitchen but u need to go early or book as its very popular, would also recommend Central Planet in old town, stick around for the shadow show, very funny. We did not use the pool area, but did look in on several occasions, it was never full, bit noisy but that was because there was music playing all day, not much good if u want to relax, the pool bar is franchised seperatly from the hotel, hence why they want you to buy from the bar and not take your own. All in all we had a fantastic time and would definately go back.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiegadsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    237
    121
    57
    48
See reviews for
196
248
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

just got back on the 13/09/12. and had a great time,having read some of the reviews
before we went we were worried that we had chosen badly and how wrong we were.
we never had any problems getting sunbeds in the two weeks we were there,thoughg they could do with some new umrellas.
the food from the pool bar was nice if a little bit pricey the same goes with the drinks.
the location was exellent for everything.
the strip is a short walk away with all the bars and restaurants, we had exellent meals in the sizzling stone,,el rancho,also the chinese place behind el rancho,upstairs in wild and co for lovely steaks.
also another good bar and restaurant is the invictus that is on the way to the strip from the hotel its looks new and it has all the sports on multiple screens and also nice for a quiet drink.(cheaper than the strip) overall we had a exellent holiday and we would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked this hotel in january and started to get worried two weeks before going 5th/12th sept.having read some of the reviews! Yes the pool is small and yes the pool police prevent you from drinking your own drinks and yes the rooms are dated abit, but the hotel is clean , quite and is in a good location, 5mins walk to strip, supermarket around the corner, offsales and resturants on your doorstep. Room cleaned daily and towels changed every other day. Solcafe across the road good food and friendly staff. Would stay again and recommend,more like 3 star but still ok. If going to zoomarine get discount tickets from stand at airport , a great family day out. Aqualand again has discount tickets and is a must.some water shutes slow but did.nt spoil our fun, lots to do and again a great day. As with both parks get there for them opening 10am to avoid que,s. Food pricey and drinks dear , so bring your own if feeding a family. Family of 5 age range 17,18,22 42 and 45.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cozzie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we are currently staying here now and find it very very poor the food is of poor quality and warmed up using tins what you would get chips peas and gravy from a chippy also pool area very small noisy rooms are more like two star self catering plug sockets hanging off wall very dangerous also toilet seat broke had to buy our own shower head as the old one was damaged all in all i would not recommend that if you are coming here be prepared for a shock dont take my word for it see for your self

thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights with my boyfriend end of august until september.
First impressions were very impressed with outside of hotel as walking up to reception, great service when checking in, hotel lobby looked clean and nicely decorated. Loved our room, very clean (and was cleaned thorougly everyday by maids) great view from balcony over the grass/play area which was very quiet, couldn't hear the road or people walking past etc so very pleased with that!
Great location, strip just down the road, beach very close, old town only 7 min taxi ride!
The only thing that let this hotel down was the pool area, very small compared to previous 3 star hotels we have stayed in, sun loungers all very close together.
But other than that very nice hotel, excellent location, great staff, no noise at night!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mias_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

grubby, closer to a two star. Stay at the Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos over the road which is a genuine four star. One of those pools where the water was full of chemicals and sun cream you couldn't see the bottom. Beach closer to 750 mtrs away okay going down but along slog back up. The poolside police do ask you not to consume products not bought at their bar, even water.

Strip, 5 minutes to walk.
Old town 30-40 minutes walk get the bus which stops outside the hotel.
Looking for somewhere to eat at night, try the pegasus, first class. left out of the hotel to the roundabout then four hundred metres up the road on the right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you arrive early there is a room to leave your luggage, so you can wander off until your room is ready.
Stayed for 5 days from the 24th August
Reception staff were very helpful and polite from the start of my stay until I left.Couldn't fault them.
Rooms are basic and were cleaned on a daily basis to a good standard.Found air con ok and quiet.Hotel complex is very clean and in a good location near plenty of bars and restaurants.Found hotel reasonably quiet during my stay and my sleep wasn't disturbed.I like to have a swim when on holiday, so when I arrived I had a look at the pool area and thought this it not for me.Too crowded, loungers packed in like sardines and teenagers having the run of the pool. If you like to have a relaxed time around a pool, you should look elsewhere in my opinion.I agree this is not a four star, probably a three star.
Apart from one pool table and a xbox console there is nothing.There is a barbecue mid week but didn't bother because there are plenty of better areas outside the hotel to eat.Plenty of excursion shops in the area and if you like thrill boat rides, try the jet boat.You will get soaked from head to toe,The excursion shop on the other side of the road next to the chinese will give you cheaper prices on trips than advertised.
The best beaches are near the old town which is a 30 minute walk,where there are plenty of loungers for 7.5 euro's a day.If you don't like exercise, you can always get a taxi or bus there.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, but if I was to return to the area , I would look to stay nearer the old town and somewhere with a better pool.
The saying "you only get what you pay for" is true. Considering the time of year I stayed I think it was value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#56 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 154 in Albufeira
435 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alpinus Hotel
Alpinus Hotel
#44 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Forte da Oura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Forte da Oura

Property: Muthu Forte da Oura
Address: Rua Oliveira Martins | Praia da Oura, Albufeira 8200-619, Portugal (Formerly Luna Forte da Oura)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Forte da Oura 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Forte da Oura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Forte Da Oura Hotel Albufeira
Forte Hotel Albufeira
Forte Da Oura
Forte Albufeira
Albufeira Forte
Muthu Forte Da Oura Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing