We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balaia Golf Village
Ranked #36 of 152 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks in September 2013 with husband and 21 month old daughter in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment had everything we needed and was well maintained. However there were 2 bad experiences which is why I gave a low score for derive. Firstly we had no hot-water for 2 days and with a small child this was not acceptable. No apology from reception staff who seemed to care very little. We had to keep going to the reception to get an update. Secondly we tried to dine at the onsite restaurant (which was empty) and when seated we were ignored for over 15 mins so left. Both spoiled what was otherwise a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamJarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 841 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here Dec. 22 - Jan. 1. The resort is well-kept and very green. Small blocks of apartments and bungalows (up to three storeys) are concentrated around a number of pools (not heated during the winter). Cork oaks and pines provide plenty of shade. Other sports facilities: tennis courts (4), par-3 golf course and a bowling green; indoors: small pool, jacuzzi (same water temp. as the pool), turkish bath (at extra cost), fitness. Small supermarket along the main road ("Favorita").

Balaia is centrally located in between Vilamoura and Albufeira. Would recommend a car since the nearest beach (10-15 min walk) isn't very lively. We rented a car at Zitauto (http://zitauto.com - a Seat Ibiza for € 10,00 a day, incl. full insurance).

We stayed in apartment nr. 386. Spacious, clean and two balconies. For the winter sun lovers: no morning sun on the balconies. Apartment is heated with two aircon units. TV with Sky Sports and plenty of international channels (incl. german, dutch, belgian). Kitchen appliances are a bit old and tired, same for the furniture.

Service was great! Very friendly staff at the reception made you feel right at home. Same goes for other staff we met: restaurants, maintenance, security, housekeeping. Small problems we had were solved right away, even in the middle of the night.

Would recommend Balaia Golf village to anyone who prefers friendly, personal service and a quiet handsome green park over a spanking new resort with flashy facilities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robtheblob01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here in September for 2 weeks. Booked via travel republic, didn't review the specific apartment we stayed in. Resort is right in middle of Albufeira and Olhos de agua resorts.

+s

- we had a great apartment, on the the 1st floor in the middle of the resort. It was cleaned and serviced well by the housekeepers. Apartment also had sky sports.
- pool areas were well maintained, clean, relaxing spaces. Lady in the whale pool bar, was happy and served good food
- staff in reception were helpful and pleasant
- falesia beach was a short drive away. Superb beach. Watching dolphins swim past in mornings, great sun sets etc
- condor day boat trip from vilamoura was great
- vilamoura was a 15 minute drive away
- Guia algarve shopping is a 15 minute drive away. Huge super market. Multiplex cinema. Shopping mall etc.
- Farol on the ferry. Was a superb value for money day out

-s
- the resort is a village of privately owned apartments. We landed on our feet and were happy with ours. Seen other reviews from people that weren't so happy. Probably worth booking through owners direct to review your exact apartment before you book

We also downloaded the free navfree Portugal sat nav app . It worked fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheekywelshmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We (family of 4) have just returned from a 12 day stay at Balaia. We thought the resort was fantastic. The accommodation was clean and spacious, the staff very friendly and efficient, and the resort itself was immaculate. They had initially placed us in an apartment close to the front of the resort (as it was close to the shop and health centre), but we asked to be moved toward the back of the resort. The staff were very helpful and we moved within a few hours to a very quiet part of the resort where the kids could run about safely. We'd go back at the same time next year without hesitation. Very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaiaGolfVillage, Gestor at Balaia Golf Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear Guest thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Resort , we are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay at our Balaia Golf Village .
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

70s apartment, that has not been decorated or property cleaned since.

Faulty electrical appliances, electrical light switches hanging off wall, loose taps.

Outside the apartment was better with good out door pools.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Having looked on the internet for best weather conditions in November not to far from home, we found the Balaia Golf Village. A great rate for an apartment with kitchen, living room, bathroom & double bedroom, situated in a well groomed park with all weather tennis courts, multiple swimming pools and a cute 9-holes par 3 golf course. Our stay was great, 2 days of iffy weather and subsequently 4 glorious days full of sunshine and average temperatures of 18°C. The Balaia is at about a 30 minutes drive from Faro Airport. The resort normally has 2 restaurants, but one was closed because of the winter season. The golf clubhouse was open and the food they serve is excellent and not expensive. We are certainly going back with our (already adult) 'kids'. The Balaia is well situated for exploring the Algarve, do visit Albufeira Old Town, Loulé (market), Portimao (incredible beach and walks) and the 'end of Europe' Sagres.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms/apartments are owned by private persons, try to get a room away from the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I travelled to Balaia Golf Village with 4 other friends aged 19-24 in a privately owned apartment at the front of the resort. The resort was spotless with grass everywhere, constantly being tended to and watered. (However make sure you don't leave your stuff on the patio as it will probably get soaked as they put the sprinklers on at night as we found out!!) The resort is amazing- quiet, peaceful family friendly but massive! We didn't really explore the site that well but what we saw was stunning.

When we first arrived we were there at 10 o'clock due to a really early flight, and were told our room wasn't ready yet so we left our bags in reception and did our food shop, a taxi only costing 3 euros to the intermarche, with reception organising it for us. When we got in to our apartment everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. We found that they had only given us 2 towels when there were 5 of us. After a visit to Reception to organise more towels, the maid was outside the apartment before I had even returned!!

The golf village itself is about a 20 minute walk away from the main strip of Albufeira, which is something on its own! As an age group of 19-24 year olds we loved the liveliness and buzz of the strip, having a similar feeling as to being in Magaluf. Although this may sound awful to others, there is an older part of Albufeira that is meant to be lovely, although we didn't go there.
We especially liked Matts Bar at the top of the strip, cheap drinks, music and a bucking bronco, what more do you need!! We found the further you went down the strip the busier it got and we didn't especially enjoy that.

The food around the area was okay. We ate in the clubhouse once and found it quite expensive, but nice to sit around the pool. We visited Cantinos twice, with a tourist menu of soup, starter, main, dessert and drink for 10 euros!! Basic but extremely cheap and cheerful!! We were most dissapointed in a steak house on the strip, thinking we were going to get a nice steak dinner because it was packed, but we got an extremely thin steak that was cooked through.

We had a brilliant week here, many happy memories were had. Although there are a few negatives in this review they are minor details to an amazing holiday. We are hopefully returning again next year and we can't wait!!!

Room Tip: Beautiful hidden away apartments wherever you stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adamlamb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 152 in Albufeira
1,020 reviews
4.9 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,058 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#24 of 152 in Albufeira
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 152 in Albufeira
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
Alto da Colina Aparthotel
#50 of 152 in Albufeira
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 152 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia Golf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia Golf Village

Address: | Balaia Golf Village Lote 38, Albufeira 8200-594, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#28 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $38 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balaia Golf Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully landscaped gardens with pine, cork and almond trees are the prefect backdrop for your home in the sun, only 500 meters from the beach. Around the grounds you can enjoy 6 swimming pools, a health club with indoor pool, 4 tennis courts, restaurants and snack bars. A 9 hole executive golf course, golf academy (with resident pro), driving range with putting greens, practice bunkers and chipping areas complete the leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Balaia Golf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Golf Village Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Hotel Village
Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Balaia Golf Village Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing