We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a lovely time there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #139 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Ok hotel a little dated but we had no complains we shad b&b which was fine lots of chose ..always found a sunbed could do with a few new ones .i would defiantly go back the localion was great a 5 mins walk to the strip .some lovely places to eat and the beach is great for families with children as it isnt to big good value for money no entertainment but plenty everywhere else

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULINE056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Madam,

We are really pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montechoro.

We appreciated your remarks regarding the sunbeds, that were taken into consideration in order to improve our standards and general guest’s satisfaction.

Please be aware that renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.

Looking forward to welcoming you back shortly, please accept our best regard.

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    197
    219
    130
    131
See reviews for
264
280
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

got back home last night (19th aug 2014) after another great stay at this hotel,the staff are great and my grandkids didnt want to come home as usual, we have been going to this hotel for the last,13 years and i understand that when a parent dies that is a big risk to keep a thing going ,however you have done a great job,my grandaughter had her 3rd birthday at your hotel and has just celebrated her 13th. we are going to book for next year .
thankyou for a great hol.
regards

Room Tip: not doing a tip as they may get a better room on check in than i do. ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukebrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Mr. Brady,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro all over these years to spend your family vacations. We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.
Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had nothing at all to worry about, this hotel was fantastic...We were given a room at the back of the hotel which was fine but I wanted a pool view and the staff sorted me out a fantastic room overlooking the pool and the whole of Albufeira! Brilliant!!! Rooms very spacious, cleaned every day and everything I requested was provided. I really do not understand what people have to complain about while staying at this hotel??? I think some people come from a different planet! It is close enough to the main strip and beaches yet far enough to avoid all the noise. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to this area. Ignore all the negative reviews, too many people with too much time on their hands...

Room Tip: Request a pool view when booking, then ensure you get what you asked for. The view is worth the hagg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gdiamond101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro to spend your vacations in the Algarve.

We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor. It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.

Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Montechoro and it was more than acceptable for the price paid. I visited Albufeira out of season and the hotel was fairly quiet, it was once probably quite a grand place but time is starting show and it can appear a little dated. That said the location was very good, close enough to the nightlife (but enough of a walk away not to be disturbed) and a short taxi ride to the old town. The hotel was very clean and the staff, especially at reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rileydlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Montechoro and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel Montechoro and we would like to say that renovation plans for the bedrooms are already being prepared.

We do hope that you give us the pleasure of another visit shortly.

Kind regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one week. We had chosen the hotel because it was a 4-Star hotel, but we were very disappointed. It cannot be a 4-Star hotel!
We found the staff somewhat unfriendly and not helpful at all. The driver of the hotel shuttle was, however, extremely friendly. The shuttle service is one good thing about the hotel. There is a shuttle to the beach and one to the old town. Our room was rather Big and the beds very really good and comfortable, but the cleaning standards were rather poor and disappointing. The air-conditioning was not working during our stay. Breakfast was boring and not very tasty.
The pool, however, was very good, and we did, in fact, enjoy several hours by the pool.
We enjoyed our time in Albufeira, but the hotel was a disappointment for us! We will not come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dane5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 9, 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having selected Hotel Montechoro for your stay, and for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

We are really sorry that we haven't been able meet all your expectations.

Believe that we do appreciate your honest feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I travelled down with my wife and two boys aged 4 & 5yrs. We found everything to our satisfaction. All staff were polite and clean. The hotel was always clean, the staff went out of their way to please all the guests. Both old and young guests alike, and there were several families with young children staying as well. Plenty of activities around the hotel, and the weather was great. Must go again...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucks U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMontechoro, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Montechoro, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Montechoro to spend your vacations in the Algarve.
We really appreciated the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor.

It is rewarding to receive positive feedback from our guests, and I will pass this feedback to all team members. Our challenge is to do always better to provide the maximum comfort and memorable experiences to our Guests.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back shortly, we remain always at your disposal.
Kindest regards,

Ricardo Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#86 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#60 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Petra Aparthotel
Vila Petra Aparthotel
#3 of 122 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Property: Hotel Montechoro
Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing