We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geoff H disappointing”
Review of Hotel Montechoro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Montechoro
Ranked #129 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed July 23, 2013

this hotel is not 4 star - maybe 2/3. We moved rooms once as the air conditioning didn't work, alas the air con didn't work in the replacement room.This meant that we had to sleep in a furnace every night (even with the balcony door fully open) this gave rise to waking approximately every couple of hours. We spoke to several other guests & their main complaint was that the rooms were too hot because the air con didn't work. I don't think that they should advertise that they have air con because it doesn't work. We went 4th to 11th july i suppose if we had gone at a cooler time of the year then the lack of air con would not have been as big an issue.

You can tell that the Montechoro was, say 30 years ago, the bees knees. Sadly, it is more on its knees these days. The hotel is desperately in need of a refit ! tatty, worn-out carpet and a bathtub that I wouldn't wash the dog in to name but two of many offenders.

On a better note, the breakfast was adequate, the staff were polite, the rooms were cleaned every day & the pool was immaculate and maintained every day ( top pool guy ).
The hotel is in a good position, close to the strip.

Would return to this hotel after a refurb & a guarantee that the air con worked.

As it stands it is a hot- bedroomed, worn out hotel & a shadow of it's former self,

Room Tip: do not get a room on the same side as the main entrance. There is a pub/club opposite, called Erins...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montechoro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 758 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited Portugal this month from the 9th - 16th with my partner, we chose the hotel mainly because of the description that was put up about it on low cost holidays. I would recommend this hotel because it was good value for money, lots to choose from at breakfast to fill yourself up for a while and every member of staff we spoke to behind the reception, including the maids were all polite. When we arrived at our room it was bigger than what we expected, it not only had a massive clean bathroom and bedroom but a living room as well followed by a decent sized balcony! The rooms were cleaned everyday by the maids and the towels were replaced everyday with fresh ones. There was also free wifi in the main reception room. The location of the hotel is perfect, 15 minutes walk to priai de oura beach and along that walk is the main 'strip' full with restaurants, shops and bars. Every evening we would eat somewhere new experiencing lots of different types of food and cocktails! There was a mixture on the strip, plenty of young groups, couples, and families and towards 8.30pm the strip right from top to bottom was heaving- a good atmosphere! Excursions to water parks and zoos and boat trips were rather expensive but buses to places were regular and we also hired a scooter where we found 4 amazing beaches about 30 minutes away further into Albufeira! The entire week was so enjoyable, the beaches, the scooter, the food and the people made the holiday so good we are going back in August! Vilamoura and the old town have nice restaurants and cute little shops to find bargains in! Lots to do, lots to experience in Albufeira! The hotel is in the perfect location with everything in easy reach- would definitely recommend this holiday! If you were to go all inclusive maybe the hotel may not be for you, as the pool wasn't too big and there was no entertainment, but if you're looking for a place to have breakfast, shower and sleep and use the rest of the time to explore outside of the hotel then montechoro is the right hotel! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bls92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the montechoro 14-18july. Chek in was quick staff were helpful. Free wifi in the lobby was useful. Rooms were large but dated but clean and air con worked well. You have to pay €2 a day to use the in room safe which I think should be included. Breakfast was included, their was a good choice of pastries, fruit, yogurt, eggs, beans and bacon. The location was great at the top of the strip about a 15 min walk to the beach down hill. We went to a little supermarket 2mins away from the hotel which was cheap and handy for in room drinks.
Tip- make sure u bring enough sun cream as we almost ran out and it was around €19-€20 in the shops of albufeira!!
Pool area was ok clean but not a huge pool- this was fine for us as we prefer the beach
Would return to this hotel due to location and price
Also request a room with a fridge we never but wish we had done.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlisle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

just came back from albufeira yesterday, was a bit nervous after reading the reviews of the hotel but can honestly say it was a great hotel, rooms where spotless maid service everyday, pool was great clean and loads of beds, staff where very friendly and helpful, in a great location right on the strip and an outstanding review from the balcony you could see the whole of albufeira, really enjoyed my stay there and would go back tomorrow if i could. dont listen to the bad reviews because their really not true. recommend this hotel to familys & couples :)

Room Tip: ask for a city view instead of a pool view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July. First of all I want to say how amazing the staff were. The room maids were so kind and polite. Couldn't do enough to help. And then I did an idiotic thing and left my wallet in a taxi. I went to the reception desk and there was a nice lady who rang up the taxi company and she said "5 minutes" and what do you know. The taxi returned with my wallet. Thank god. What a life and holiday saver!!!!


We stayed b&b and the breakfast was everything you needed. Basic but good. Fruit, cereals, hot food, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juices.

Our room was very spacious. I think it was actually a king size bed. Small tv. But who goes on holiday to watch tv?? I was disapointed that there was no drinks making facilities in the room. But thats the onlt quibble i had. Bathroom was good sized, his and hers sinks. Good shower. Air conditioning can do with an upgrade though.

The hotel is in a great location with so many bars and restaurants on the "strip" so we never went for dinner or tea, so I can't comment on them.

The hotel has a beautiful pool which our room overlooked. It was a bit chilly but refreshing. But by the end of the afternoon it was a lot warmer because it just sits in the sun all day.

The hotel has its own bus that either takes you to the old town or the beach. it is quite a trek down to the beach if you walk. But there is a taxi rank just outside the hotel. It generally cost €4.95 to get a taxi down.

Great hotel and good people!!! A+

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MattCorrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hotel Montechoro gets a few very unfair reviews. It's true that the glory days when it was a four star hotel with five star service have gone, but it still represents very good value for money. Yes, the rooms are slightly retro, but they're huge, comfortable and everything works. One great feature is that every floor above the ground is carpeted throughout. That means no noise of tables and chairs being moved at night. The low level lighting is designed to create an air of calm and now bright lights shining through the door when you're sleeping. There's a large, immaculate pool area. It's not a hotel with entertainment and certainly not equipped for all-inclusive. However, we had no complaints whatsoever and being at the quieter, top end of the strip is very handy. Don't be put off by people with unreasonable expectations.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Brianbif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is not 4 star more like a good 3. But I did enjoy my stay here. The pool area is lovely it is very clean and tidy the hotel itself. The rooms are ok but we did not have air con our room and they advised we did but only 1 button works out the 3! But after trying all 3 it still did not work.
Breakfast is good but would not rate going half board the dinners are horrible we ended up eating out every night. There are some nice restaurants close by but it's is very tacky down the town! Depends on what you like but it was not my scene. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimChomiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
206 reviews
17.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montechoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montechoro

Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neill, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $71 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montechoro 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montechoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montechoro Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing