We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a lifetime experience.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpinus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpinus Hotel
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice break for Easter. Reading all the reviews we decided to book a week at the 4* (no way, a very low 3* at most) hotel. On arrival we were greeted by several children running around reception and very unhelpful reception staff. On arrival to the apartment we were pleasently suprised with the size and cleanliness of the rooms, although the fridge was a mess and wouldn't close properly because the freezer needed defrosting.We arrived too late for lunch so went into the bar (Smoking room) for a drink and a bite to eat. Hot Dog, micowave Pizza, choice of Sanwiches - Ham, Cheese, or Ham and Cheese and very tasteless they were too - helped if you took the to your room and toasted them under the grill. Pool area was packed (North pool closed until 5th day of Hols) not enough sunbeds or chairs around the 2 tiny childrens pool. Lots of litter lying around such as plastic cups and paper plates. We located the roof terrace on floor 5, which was nice and peaceful, it would be as there were only 8 beds that were on their last legs. At meal times the Dining Hall was manic, some kids were allowed to run around which was hazardous and like an obstacle course. Not a lot of choice of meals and they were always luke warm at best, breakfast was ok if you weren't having toast (1 toaster,15 minute queue on a good day). Lunch and evening meals were much the same, soup (probably the warmest thing to eat), 1 dried up meat option, 1 dried up fish option, tinned or very overcooked Veg, chips and rice/pasta, pudding was squares of orange/green jelly, frozen cake and I think the pink and brown stuff was Angel Delight (not confirmed). The entertainment on an evening was poor, I did however feel sorry for the 2 entertainment staff who did try their best to get everyone involved and from what we picked up on little if any support from management and with limited equipment. The bar staff were efficient behind their 6 foot long bar which more often than not had a lengthy queue. If you went into the bar after 8.00pm there was no where to sit and as the gazebo extention was closed up during the evening to stop kids getting out to the pool,it was also very smokey as there was no ventilation (Non smokers beware). We ventured in only once and had a good evening much of our own making, the rest of the time we went out of the hotel for a quiet drink, we only ate in the evening at the hotel twice, we visited the Fish Restaurant at the end of the road 3 times as the food was excellent and the staff were very welcoming and attentive. Thankfully we located a good Chinese takeaway and 2 good supermarkets close to hotel (5 minutes walk). On a plus side we did meet some very nice people and they were all of the same opinion, make the most of it but won't go back. On the last day we had to sign out of the room by 12.00, as they took the special blue bracelet back this meant you lost your all inclusive entitlement as well, at this point we were told we were only entitled to breakfast and not lunch before travelling home (Maybe a good thing but a plate of chips is better than nothing before a 7 1/2 hour journey home). this was very disappointing to hear especially for those who were leaving later in the day to travel home.
TIPS FOR YOUR STAY.
Take extra money for when you need to go out for a GOOD meal.
Never leave your table unattended in the dining room as you may find your food and drink has vanished on yopur return.
Don't bother booking if you want a quiet holiday.
Make use of the FREE shuttle bus to Albufeira (although you will need to book in advance at reception)
Taxi fares vary between 10 to 20 euro (one way) depending on size of group and time of day.
WiFi connect very poor.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a sea view unless you want to stay on the roof terrace, even then it's way in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    398
    232
    99
    54
See reviews for
440
280
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Just got back today from a week at Luna Alpinus and thought it was fab!
Staff were very friendly and helpful , even at 4am this morning when our shuttle bus failed to pick us up for the airport!
Had no problems with our room, large spacious with a balcony, plenty of hot water and clean towels!
Had no problem getting a meal everyday either! Breakfast was delicious every morning, never went hungry!!
Hotel did start to fill up as we were leaving though so had trouble finding a seat at night in the lounge, but other than that a fab hol!!
A few losers in the hotel sat in reception constantly attached to their laptops on the free WiFi tho!! (bit weird, cant detach themselves for a few days but hey..)
Good walk to the beach but worth it when you get there, defo recommend going to Villamoura and the marina, plenty to see and do there!
Overall an absolutely fab holiday!!!
Will definitely be going again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammychelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one week last Sept/Oct. We went self-catering so cannot comment on food however our apartment was possibly one of the nicest and well stocked self-catering apartments we have ever stayed in. The hotel itself is very clean and well presented and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It has two pools both of a decent size, no trouble getting a sunbed. If you go to the top floor there is also a sun terrace but it didnt have many sunbeds up there when we were there. The hotel bar is smaller than I would have expected for a hotel of this size but it was perfectly adequate with lovely barmen. The entertainment was dubious, but they tried really hard and we dont go on holiday for the hotel entertainment as we like to go out so no complaints from us there either.

There are some lovely restaurants etc within walking distance, there is an especially brilliant restaurant we went to twice, Agostinho I think its called (turn right out of hotel, and straight across the road at the end). The beach is in walking distance providing you dont have any mobility issues. Also Albufeira is a short taxi ride away, we did this a couple of nights with some friends we met there so with four of us the cost was cheap. The hotel also puts on buses twice a day into Albufeira if you want to have a wander round in the day.

All in all, a great hotel/resort. We had a completely fabulous holiday and would definitely go back again. We did have a day and a half of rain but you take your chances with the weather at this time of year and when it stopped rain it was sunny and hot again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzyandMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Manager at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2016
Dear Guest ,

We appreciate the comments shared about your experience at the Hotel Luna Alpinus .
Your feedback helps us to improve our service and quality in order to exceed wherever possible their expectations .
We hope to return to get it next visit , this hotel or other Hotel Luna Hotels Group .
Best regards
Tiago Afonso Pais
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

STAYED AT HOTEL 25TH MARCH - 7TH APRIL 2013, 4 ADULTS AND 2 CHILDREN.
Upon arrival...
Hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere, the transfer shuttle came off the main road and took a dirt track for around quater of a mile until it finally arrived at the hotel, Main reception is large and clean, the Rooms were very spacious and came equipped with iron (none steam) ironing board, fridge, tv/cd player, however dont ask for a room with a sea veiw as they'll happly give you one facing the sea though you cant see it because of trees.

Surrounding area....
At the bottom of the road there is a couple of shops (supermarket and newsagents) pub, chemist and restaurant (chinese), The beach is a good 30-45 minutes walk away, Albufeira strip and old town are about a hours walk away though there is a coutesy bus provided by the hotel running at 9.30am and 1.00pm returning at 1.30pm and 4.30pm, however the bus only holds 20 persons and is always full so i suggest booking it at least 2/3 days in advance, a taxi costs between 12-20 euro's depending on destination and how many passengers.

Entertainment.....
SHOCKING!!!!! If you are taking children with you on holiday then choose a different hotel, daytime entertainment consisted of trying to bounce a ping pong ball into paper cups and sliding wooden discs into a small hole in a piece of wood, Night time consisted of Bingo, a Quiz and what they classed as a Childrens disco (4 songs which were the same every night, no disco lights and lasted only 30 minutes)

Food......
Plenty of options for adults however it is stone cold and there's no Microwave to re-heat it, when complained about we were told its because the portugese eat there food at room tempreture, Nothing there that my kids would eat except Chips, there is hot dogs and pizza available from the bar between 2.30 - 5.30pm, My daughter got Diarrhea and Sickness whilst there and we think it may of been from either the food or the pool (which we never saw get cleaned the whole time we were there) we we advised by a lady in the chemist that she should only eat rice or potatoes till it passed, i spoke to the hotel manager and asked if this would be possible and he said yes, However come dinner time my daughter was given a bowl of rice and potato water, No ice cream or Crisps available for kids.

The bar....
Drinks served in plastic glasses, lager, vodka, whiskey and gin available, be aware bar only seats 60 persons and in a hotel with 184 rooms (between 2-6 persons per room) if you aint early getting into the bar then you wont get in at all.

Overall....
Very disapointed of the hotel, certainly wont be back nor will most of the other guests we spoke to.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 141MARCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna H, Gerente at Alpinus Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Customer

Thank you for your opinion .
We will take your comments into consideration and we will try to improve on all points .

Looking forward to your next visit .

Best Regards
Tiago Pais
Manager Luna Alpinus
(tiagopais@lunahoteis.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent the first week in April at this hotel, as a couple with a two year old. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, with little to no information in the room/reception as to places you can go to visit. I'm sure the shuttle bus was good if you could get on it, but booking was required at least 48 hours in advance to get a space on it.
The pool side was dangerous, with bits of plastic coming away and we witnessed one man's foot go completely through the pool side drain. Whilst the pool itself was clean, the pool side had quite a lot of rubbish and no one appeared to collect drinking cups etc. The loungers were mostly all cracked or broken and some had mould on them.
We had no issues with the plastic cups, except for the ones containing hot drinks...they were difficult to hold and quickly and eaily burnt your hand.
Whilst the room was an apartment style, so very good for being able to stay up in the evening whilst children are asleep in the separate bedroom, the whole apartment felt damp, including the sofa's. There was paint flaking off and mildew around the windows. Whilst the shower was quite powerful, it was a daily mission to get two adults through it before the water went cold.
Most staff were very polite and friendly, except the reception staff, who were rude, unhelpful and disinterested.
The food was basic, but with a choice of salad, carbohydrate and dessert you could find something to eat every day. The restaurant itself was clean and tidy.
In summary, we booked this hotel as a very cheap, last minute break in the sun, and that's exactly what it was. I would never return to it again and would strongly advise anyone not to got to it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorrieNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

First impression on arrival was good, large reception area, though staff a bit miserable...apartment excellent, very big, kitchen separate to the lounge area, which is quite rare, fully equipped, included iron and ironing board and CD player which was a nice touch. Hotel location poor, nothing around, 1 or 2 gift shops, bars and a supermarket. Courtesy bus into Albufeira was great...departed each day except Sunday, went to the old town which was beautiful, lovely for a stroll along the beach, a look in the shops and a beer in a quaint little bar...negatives at the hotel: not enough sun beds, only one pool open even though the hotel was full, day 5 of our weeks holiday the other pool was opened, though not the pool bar, so a verrrrry long walk to the other bar for a drink was to be made...entertainment: 2 entertainment staff who worked from 10.30am til 11.00pm, they tried their best...entertainment area FOR SMOKERS ONLY....and we are not..!!! It was awful..!! The bar area stunk of smoke, as the smoking area was attached/shared to the only bar available on an evening, entertainment took place in here, so for a non smoker it was not a nice place to be, spent the last few nights sat on the balcony having two teenagers this was not good, the entertainment area/bar was far to small, we struggled most nights getting a seat in there...pool absolutely freezing....I'm probably sounding really negative, but am having a lovely week, weather is gorgeous, my two teenage kids are having a great time,....we usually stay at Club Humbria in Olhus de Agua, but for some reason could not get in there this Easter...for a hotel the same rating, Luna Alpinus is not a patch on Club Humbria....would I return to Luna Alpinus...? NO......
I have many years experience in the travel industry, (travel agent) this is honestly the worse hotel I have ever stayed in...sorry

Room Tip: Room excellent, spacious and fully equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel may have the facilities required for a 4* rating but it did not come close to the standard we expect from a 4* hotel. We have stayed in 4* hotels worldwide and this is our worst experience to date.
Our impression of the hotel was that it appeared 'tatty' and run down with dead plants and flaking paint. From our arrival at the reception we found the staff to be generally grumpy which may have been due to the hotel being over run with children ( predominantly Spanish/Portuguese )who appeared to have been given free rein to behave as they liked regardless of the impact on other guests. (By the way we have children of our own and a 12 year old god daughter who we regularly take on holiday with us so no we are not averse to holidays with children)

Our apartment, was large and generally clean, but being on the ground floor (with views of the dirty pool service hatch), it was noisy if the terrace door was open and it also smelled musty as if it hadn't been aired over the winter. In the corridor outside of our room, which was extremely dark, there was a light fitting with water dripping from it into a bucket which had been placed in the middle of the wet floor. This was very slippery and there were no notices warning of the potential risk.
We visited the restaurant, as we had arrived at lunchtime, which we can only describe as being like a school canteen. There were children running riot and even roller skating around the room.There were no tablecloths or anything aesthetically pleasing and it was clearly intended to be functional rather than pleasurable. The food was extremely basic with very limited choice. There was a soup, 1 meat, 1 fish, a couple of mixed and green salads and dessert of jelly, melon and pink stuff!!! The drinks were all self service and the wine was undrinkable.
We visited the bar in order to have a coffee and hopefully find a quiet spot but unfortunately we found it to be a dark,noisy room with smoke drifting from the smokers in the adjoining conservatory. The bar was clearly understaffed,with one person serving, which resulted in the tables not being cleared, the floor, chairs and tables being sticky with spilt drinks and the bins around the pool area overflowing with rubbish.
There was football on every screen in the bar and the coffee was served in tiny airline plastic cups. How can that be acceptable in a 4* hotel???
We escaped back to our room and spoke to the holiday rep who, within the hour, had identified another hotel for us at a cost to ourselves but we were so desperate to leave we paid it. The hotel we moved to was also a 4* but in contrast to the Luna was everything we expect a 4* hotel to be. .
We are led to believe that the Luna Apinus is a popular hotel but cannot imagine who would find their standards acceptable.. We were later told by the holiday rep that in the Algarve a 4* rated hotel does not guarantee a 4* standard but merely meets the criteria in terms of the facilities offered including swimming pool, 24 hour reception etc.
The lesson from our experience is to check the STANDARD of your chosen hotel very carefully and remember that a 4* rating does not always confer 4* quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 365KarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#93 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Luna Miramar
Luna Miramar
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.7 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpinus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpinus Hotel

Property: Alpinus Hotel
Address: | Pinhal do Concelho - Acoteias, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal (Formerly Luna Alpinus)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpinus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exclusive touristic areas, near the famous beaches of Albufeira. With an exceptional view over the pine trees and the golf course, the Alpinus Hotel is the perfect place for holidays in the Algarve. Features 185 apartments and studios (128 one-bedroom apartments, 52 two-bedrooms apartments and 5 studios) comfortably furnished, all with balcony, equipped kitchen, bathroom, direct telephone, satellite TV, stereo system, air conditioning and safe. The hotel includes two pool areas for adults and children, buffet restaurant, bar, coffee shop, meeting and events room with support equipment, private parking and free Wi-Fi. LOCATION The Alpinus Hotel is located between the exclusive area of Vilamoura, with its Casino, Marina and some of the best golf courses in the Iberian Peninsula, and the cosmopolitan town of Albufeira, with a diversity of handicraft shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and the vibrant nightlife of the Algarve. 29 km from Faro Airport, 12 km from Vilamoura, 10 km from the historic center of Albufeira, 1.2 km from the Falesia beach and 200 m from the Pine Cliffs golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Alpinus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Alpinus Albufeira
Luna Alpinus Hotel Albufeira
Alpinus Albufeira
Hotel Alpinus
Alpinus Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing