We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“group trip may 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polana Residence Hotel
Ranked #141 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“group trip may 2013”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Amongst the night life but the double glazing stops the late night noise. We were a party of 46 and were treated as friends by all the staff. The rooms are very clean with the newly re furbished rooms very light and airy. The owners and staff were really helpfull and helped in any way they could. One of us had a birthday while there and the owners supplied us with a birthday cake and champagne to help us celebrate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it caters for all ages. As for walking home at the end of the night, there are no hills and a 24 hour reception.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are the best with a terrace and sunbeds. These are the nost expensive rooms though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    23
    18
    26
See reviews for
5
70
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Compared to other hotels I have stayed in, this one has very poor value for money.

What we liked:
- Very close to the beach;
- Wifi (although is was broken two times during our one week stay, and it breaks in the afternoon no one will fix it till next day);
- Staff at reception is friendly unless you have some complaints.

What we didn't like:
- Room design: Standard room is extremely basic. Especially bathroom, which desperately needs refurbishing. Real looks of the room are much different from those advertised on booking.com. Bathroom was tiny, with stains on the walls and ceiling and an uncovered window overlooking some backstreet. There was not even towel hanger. Bathroom curtain was very dirty and unpleasant. The 'balcony' was a tiny step with no partition between our room's balcony door and the neighbouring room.
- Extremely noisy: Hotel is located right beside three disco bars open till 3-4 a.m., and after that garbage cleaning in the street is also noisy. Soundproofing in our room on the 4th floor was very poor. We have spotted several other hotels directly in Albufeira old town where you can't hear the music and shouting so well even in the street.
- Cleanness of the room: In our room there were stains on the floor and on bathroom walls. Also during first three days of our stay we've seen plenty of ants in the wardrobe (hotel staff might argue that it was due to the fact we brought food to our room, but the food was packed and stored right at the other end of the room).
- Towels are not changed every day: Although not a problem itself, we did not receive any warning on that matter from reception (the lady at check in said that cleaning was made every day and the bed linen were changed every three days. Towels were not considered bed linen in any of numerous b&b, 2*-5* hotels I'd seen before). Moreover, when I needed a towel change and put the towel on the floor (not very clean floor I must say), the room maid just picked it up and hanged on top of a bathroom curtain. When I complained to Patricia at reception, I got a whole life coaching session along with the new towel, and at check out I got another life coaching from the owners.
Here I must say that the owner was very rude and specified he did not want any customers with complaints in his hotel.
- Advertised half board turned out to include an 'a la carte' dinner in one of the restaurants in the neighbourhood with very limited choice and average service and food quality. Considering plenty of restaurants in Albufeira, food choice and pricing, it's worth refrain from such half board.

Room Tip: Don't book standard rooms on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Kiev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are very pleased that we booked into Polana Residence. The location is outstanding: you are smack bang in the old town centre of Albufeira, close to the bars, restaurants and beach. The beach is 4min walk, restaurants 2min and bars 1min. Due to the proximity of the bars to the hotel the room can be quite loud in the evenings, it may seem that there is a rock concert going on outside the window, which may not be to everyone’s' taste, however, saying that, we slept through it all with no problems, once you put the TV on and closed the doors it was barely noticeable. The room was very clean and tidy and was cleaned daily. The TV remote control didn't work too well, but that is a minor thing really. There was a good quality safe in the wardrobe, which you have to pay for (1.5 Euro per day). The breakfast was Ok: bread rolls, toaster for the thick white sliced bread, yoghurt, coffee, some fruit, ham/cheese and chorizo; the orange juice wasn't fresh nor concentrate, in fact it was squash which was a bit annoying. The staff were friendly, courteous and polite and always greeted you and smiled. The hotel has a gorgeous wood-type grey floor which was very nice. The breakfast started at 08:30 and for us that was a tad late, yet, no great hardship. You can never be sure what you get what you book online, yet, we were very pleased with this booking: the location was wonderful and the price outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManchesterScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You couldn't get a more central hotel if you tried - right in the middle of all of the bars (but at the quieter end of the street) and a couple of minutes to the beach. The rooms are fairly basic but are very clean but perfectly adequate. Staff on reception are very friendly and helpful and make a real effort to get to know you during your stay.

An ideal hotel for solo travellers, young couple or a group of friends. Don't choose this hotel if you have mobility problems as you need to use stairs to get to the rooms. There is a small lift but it stops between the floors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CamGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

the hotel is right in the heart of everything had a lovley week rooms lovley and clean ,cleaned every day and clean towels everyday, small bathroom though had to go in on a side then close door to get round to the toilet but the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was nice , and tea and coffee in room everyday but no milk so take some if you want drink in a mornng .

Room Tip: if you dont get a balcony room would go for 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank largie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of all bars/restaurants, not suitable for more mature people as it is very noisy. The rooms basic but bathroom very small. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels replenished daily too. Basic continental breakfast. Kettle and coffee/tea in room but no milk. No fridge, safe in wardrobe but had to pay a daily fee.
The lift that is available can only be reached after climbing a flight of stairs 13 to be exact.
Not what i expected after asking before booking if there were any steps as i was in a wheelchair, what a shock i got on entering the small reception area.
The staff were very limited with english but were unaware that i was disabled when they received our booking from ASDA travel. The hotel was small and friendly and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

just had our usual september weekend away with the lads, the hotel was clean and tidy, had 24 hr reception, and was close to all the fun. situated on bar st you do encounter some noise but this weekend it was us making it so no issues there. i would certainly recommend this hotel for the lads though it may not suit some girls who would prefer a more luxurious room. the cost is fair for what you get and i will probably be back next year.
tried the breakfast one morning but wasn,t impressed. there are lots of places to eat nearby which are good and cheap.
room has tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge.

Room Tip: the higher the quieter but not a problem if you are a night owl
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#144 of 154 in Albufeira
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#112 of 154 in Albufeira
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polana Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Residence Hotel

Property: Polana Residence Hotel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 32, Albufeira 8200-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the vibrant heart of the old town of Albufeira with her restaurants and bars.The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach.This, for the most part, recently renovated hotel has a cozy, modern and friendly atmosphere.The hotel has comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, some with terrace, all with tv and airconditing. In the morning you can enjoy a full continental breakfast.There is 24 hours reception available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polana Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polana Hotel Albufeira
Polana Residence Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing