We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,604)
Filter reviews
3,604 results
Traveler rating
1,898
1,132
398
123
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,898
1,132
398
123
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club old town santa eulalia sea view suite fish restaurant star hotel private beach the main hotel lovely hotel half board heated pool self catering evening buffet free shuttle beach bar lovely beach out of season
Filter
Updating list...
2,294 - 2,299 of 3,604 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The hotel is very pleasant and service is good to very good, but not 5*. I like 5* hotels by the beach that are not only about luxury but about relaxed but excellent service. This hotel is not quite there (yet), with the exception of the Pérgula restaurant - though this is a rather very expensive one: 180 Euros for two (with one cheap-ish bottle of wine) is quite much for the place.

However, I had a great time there. For a proper 5* though there are many other options in the Algarve.

Service is at times very slow. The worse thing about the hotel are the swimming pools areas which being very small can become quite noisy, especially with children running around and shouting. Not the ideal place for an afternoon nap by the sun.

Rooms are quite big and very comfortable, with very pleasant balconies.

Breakfast is an efficient affair, more the sufficient, but again for a 5* hotel it lacks a bit of chutzpah!

All in all though, very pleasant experience, would happily go back. The disappointment comes more out of the expectations rather then the delivery. If one expects a very nice 4* hotel one will not be disappointed.

All staff are extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would even consider returning to our Hotel, though we were disappointed that, in your opinion, our Hotel is not a real 5 star Resort. Since we did not quite understand the reason for this, we would really appreciate if you could provide us further information through the email amendes@hoteisreal.com .
We understood that your main disappointment was the swimming pool area and, in fact, we received lately a couple of similar comments regarding the tranquility of the pool area. As you might have seen, our swimming pool rules forbid running around the pool, ball games, dinghies and anything that could disturb other guests, but unfortunately not all clients pay attention to this, even if we remind them about the rules. We already instructed our pool boys and security to exercise stricter control, especially over the main pool area, to guarantee a quiet and relaxing atmosphere in, at least, one of our three pool areas. We also regret that the service was not always as prompt as you and we would have expected it to be. The department heads in charge have been informed and we assure you that we will do our utmost to improve the promptness and overall quality of our service.
We would just like to add a quick note about the Pérgula restaurant. It is true that the Pérgula is slightly more expensive than the other restaurants in the Resort, but you have to take in consideration that it is a Gourmet restaurant that only works with fresh products and every single dish is freshly prepared, no frozen or pre-cooked food or products are used. However, €90 per person is not the average price of a dinner at the Pérgula restaurant and it is possible to enjoy a nice meal with starter, main course, dessert and wine for approximately €45 per person.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Hotel and would appreciate if you would contact us with more details.


Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Eulalia and it was lovely. The hotel is grand and secure with staff that can not do enough for you. The hotel was relatively quiet while we were there so there was never any worry about getting a sun lounger, towels are provided at the pool and for the beach.
Breakfast is sensational and very fresh and you have the choice to eat inside or out. We ate in one of the hotel resturants one evening and the food was nice but there were only 2 other tables eating so it lacked atmosphere.
The rooms were ok but not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel, they were rather small and for example the TV isnt flat screen which is this day is a bit strange for a top hotel.
There were lovely communal areas, and the toilets were immaculately kept and the pool bar food and drink prices were reasonable.
Rooms were cleaned to high standards daily and staff at the hotel were more than happy to help with any query we had
We went in Villamoura for dinner a couple of nights which was about 20 mins in a taxi, Albufiera itself is a little tacky with neon lights and karaoke bars but we did find some nice restuarants on fishermans beach in the old town
Would definitely recommend this hotel although there were a few more children than we expected there to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and that you were especially pleased with the courteousness of our staff and the quality of food and service.
Unfortunately, not everything was perfect and we understand your surprise in not having a flat screen TV in the room. In fact, we were planning to replace the existing TV sets by flat screens during 2009, but, unfortunately, we were forced to postpone this project, due to the financial climate that has prevailed over the last two years. But, we hope that we will be able to replace them soon.
Being a family Resort, many of our guests, especially during the summer holidays from end of June until August, are families with young children. Since we offered this year a package that includes complimentary stays for up to two children, we might have attracted slightly more families with children than usual. During the rest of the year, with the exception of Easter maybe, we only have a reduced number of children in the Resort, but we believe that even during the high season, it is possible to cater for families with children, as well as for couples searching for relaxation. Many of the children spend their time in the complimentary Realito Kid’s Club and since the weather is too hot for outdoor activities, it means that the children are mostly inside, taking part in one of the activities offered by the Kid’s Club. During July and August, we will also create a second breakfast area, which will have a special menu for children, as well as activities and entertainment for kids and will therefore be used exclusively by families. Apart from that, we offer a special dinner time for children and our adults-only restaurant and club, the Le Club will re-open again. The most problematic point might be the pools, but as we mentioned in the above response, we will do our utmost to guarantee that our pool rules are followed, in order to guarantee a more relaxed and quiet atmosphere in at least one of our pool areas.

We hope that, despite of these issues, we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort.


Yours sincerely




Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This is a very safe, secure and lovely hotel. It's not the 5 Star luxury you might think but I would still say that it's 5 Star rather than 4, and would recommend it and go back.
The kitchenette's in the rooms are well equipped and nice and cool. (There is a good supermarket in the town where you can stock up really cheaply for the week). Ours was right next to the pool, so it was really easy to nip in and out and get cool drinks.
The pools are small but lovely, clean and with towels changed daily. There are a couple of beach bars around them. Everything is well maintained in quite pretty gardens.
It's really quiet, so you aren't fighting for sunbeds.
But the best thing for anyone with young kids is the lovely kids club. It's really secure with well trained staff, similar to a private nursery at home, really good facilities and a nice playground. Our kids loved it in there. It gives them chance to paint, colour and play with toys in the shade when they have had enough of the pools and sun. There is lots of cool, bottled water for them to drink. Perfect when the sun gets really hot in the afternoon and you fancy a break. It's free too which is a big bonus. NB they take kids from aged 3 and they must be potty trained. Otherwise you will have to be there too.
My husband went to the gym every day, which he said was well equipped, cool and very quiet.
I looked at getting my hair done at the hairdressers but it was 30 Euro's for a wash and blow dry and didn't look very good in there. The Spa looked very nice though.
The hotel are very hands on with any feedback you give. The beds are a little uncomfortable but they are in the process of improving the matresses. They genuinely seemed to care. So make sure you ask for one of these rooms, if you have a bad back. We arrived late and were pleased that they left some milk and a few goodies for us.
It's pricey to eat at this hotel (30 Euro's for a main meal in the very quiet fish restaurant), but there is a lovely beach front restaurant that opens early evening over looking the gorgeous view of the sea, just out of the hotel at the front. They do amazing ice creams at the parlour next door in the day. More reasonably and busier.
The beach is really lovely, buy gets busy with locals at weekend. The nice thing about this hotel is that you really have got the best of both worlds.
The town in quite frankly, a bit rough, (picture Las America's or Magaluff). But you are well out of it all here, and the hotel has to be entered by a key card at the gates. You don't actually need to venture into it all if you don't want to. You can also go into Vilamoura for a the day, which is more upmarket, if you want to have a wander around the lovely boats in the marina and have lunch there, but you aren't paying Vilamoura prices to stay here.
If you want a day out of the sun, there is a really great, new shopping center in the shade, on the N125 just out of the town. There are some shops from back home you will recognize, but lots of lovely boutique, Portugese shops too. We found Portugal cheaper to Spain and the people are very friendly even though you are in a tourist area. For a 2 hour flight it's perfect for a family break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyer803136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel, its facilities and the surrounding area. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We took note of your comment regarding the hairdresser. Unfortunately, we as a Hotel have no direct influence on its services or prices, as it is not run by the Hotel, but an outsourced service. However, we will transmit your comments to the person in charge. We regret that Albufeira did not correspond to your expectations. Albufeira is quite a touristic town, especially, the newer part, the Oura, known as the strip and surroundings, but the Old town, although it also has a lot of bars and restaurants and gets busy during summer, has a different atmosphere and still reminds a bit the old fisherman town Albufeira used to be. If you ever return to our Hotel, we suggest you to take the guided complimentary tour to Albufeira, offered by the Hotel, which will, hopefully, help to improve your impression about Albufeira.

Thank you again for your kind comments.


Yours sincerely



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have just returned from the Grande Real and were not dissapointed. The main reason we booked this hotel was the kids club and the self catering appartments which are perfect for toddlers breakfasts and lunches. The kids club is free and if your child is under three you cannot leave them alone with the staff whilst you go to the pool etc but the staff are so good you can just chill out for a while whilst they do the entertaining, there is usually four or five staff on and they do a great job.
We ate in all three restaurants, one is just a snack bar overlooking the beach and the other two are more formal, fairly pricey but we found the quality and service to be very good, our meals cost around sixty to ninety euro's when eating in the restaurants, when eating in a hotel like this it isn't going to be cheap, dont expect anything else, if you want cheap go down to Albufiera ( getting more like Blackpool ) and eat some of the rubbish they serve up there, everything served with chips by someone who could'nt care less what it tastes like as long as you hand over the money.
The self catering apts were ideal for us with our toddlers there is a microwave, fridge and a hob for light cooking however It can be quite annoying at night if you have a noisy family above you or next door to you if you are trying to get children to sleep, the sound proofing could be better.
All in all the hotel was lovely with fantastic views, looking at the prices of the Sheraton and Vila Vita the Grande Real is good value

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david34England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2010

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind review of the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We are glad that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us and that you were especially satisfied with the service provided by the Realito Kid’s Club and the restaurants, as well as the quality of the food. We are pleased to inform you that we now have an additional restaurant open, the Pérgula Restaurant, and another restaurant, the Le Club will open soon. Since you enjoyed our other restaurants so much, we are sure that these two would also correspond to your expectations and would be glad if we could welcome you there. Should you ever revisit us, please contact us before your arrival and we will try to allocate you in a more quiet area of the Resort, so that you hopefully won’t be disturbed by the noise of other guests.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

On arrival the entrance to the Santa Eulalia is impressive. The welcome at reception was excellent and our luggage was taken immediately to our room. Throughout our stay we found the staff in the hotel extremely friendly and helpful. The room was less impressive on first inspection – standard size room and bathroom (4 star size),
uninviting bed, small old style TV (that turned out to have a volume limit set). However the sea view we had paid extra for was beautiful. On our first night we realised that the bed was quite uncomfortable – it was hard, the pillows were awful – tiny, lumpy, foam filled. The bedding was not of a high quality – a sheet, brown blanket, white blanket layer. The air conditioning was acceptable but would not go below 22 degrees. This was not a 5 star room.

The main reason we choose this hotel was its beach front location. To this end we were not disappointed. The beach was easily and quickly accessible and whilst small was very pleasant and not too busy and as we left a watersports hut was setting up on the beach (for the higher season visitors).

The pool area at the hotel is extremely nice. Good loungers and plentiful towels available (although one morning we arrived to just a large pile of dirty towels no clean towels in sight). The pool service could have been better – considering the hotel was almost dead (we never saw more than about 15 guests).

Another reason we choose this hotel was we understood it provided free wifi. The wifi was rubbish – we were only able to connect sporadically and in the end complained and were informed it had been replaced with a better Vodafone service which we could buy a time card for. My husband complained about this to the manager who dealt with our complaint in a professional and courteous manner and provided us with a Vodafone time card free of charge. Again we were impressed with the hotel staff.

As we were out of season most of the hotel restaurants were closed, those that were open were quite expensive and uninspiring. There are plenty of good places to eat in Albufeira so this is not such a big deal. The buffet breakfast in the hotel was very good. A wide selection of anything you might desire for breakfast – and they will make your eggs to order (a good idea as the buffet scrambled eggs were not good).

Location wise the Old Town is 6 euro in a taxi (not walk able). Despite being something of an 18-30’s town we found plenty of decent places to eat and the beach was very nice. There is a shuttle bus into town during the day but get reception to tell you the return times as they did not coincide with the drop offs and it can be confusing.

The spa was area seemed lovely but we were shocked by the prices – astronomical. More expensive than any spa I have visited including the famous Sanctuary Spa in London!

The Santa Eulalia is one of the more expensive hotels in Albufeira but we felt it did not live up to its 5 star credentials and therefore did not provide value for money and as such we would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventure803240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2010

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Resort and its services.
We regret that the stay at our Hotel did not correspond to your expectations, especially due to the standards of the room. It is correct, that we do not have LCD screens in our rooms yet. We were planning to replace the tv’s in the room by flat screens in 2009, but, unfortunately, we were forced to delay this investment for undetermined time. But, although postponed, we are still planning to undertake this project, as soon as the conditions allow it. We also regret that you were not satisfied with the comfort and quality of the bedding. By standard, all our beds are prepared with a blanket. This is not only done in our Hotel, but in many other hotels in Portugal, since Portugal and, especially the Algarve, is blessed with a moderate climate and a duvet is therefore usually not required. However, we do provide them on request, as well as different types of pillows, and would have been pleased to prepare the bed according to your wishes, if you would have informed us before. We were surprised that the size of our rooms was not big or comfortable enough for you. The usual feedback regarding the size of our sea view rooms is positive and, in fact, these rooms are even spacious enough to place an extra bed and therefore often booked by families of two adults and a child.
We also regret if the pool service standard was not up to our usual high standards of service. Your comment will be passed to our F&B Management and we assure you that we will do our utmost to improve the quality of our pool service.
As you mentioned, we had some problems with our Internet connection, especially when a large number of users were trying to use the Internet simultaneously. Therefore we decided to switch to a provider that is able to offer our guests an enhanced performance with a faster and more reliable Internet connection. In some areas of the hotel, like the Lobby, this service is already available, and the feedback so far has been positive, other areas are still being prepared for the transition. We used to offer this service free of charge, but unfortunately, the available connection was very unreliable and slow, and, like you, many other guests were not satisfied. To eliminate this problem we decided to switch to another Internet provider and had to turn to paid solutions that were the only ones that could guarantee a reliable and real improvement, compared to the existing service.
Regarding the prices of our Spa treatments, we are not aware of the prices of services in London as they are no reference for the market in the Algarve. We base all our prices not only on the cost of materials and products used, but also guide ourselves by the prices of our direct competitors and other comparable services of the local market. Compared to the prices of the spas in this area, the prices of the Real Spa Thalasso are definitely in line and certainly not exaggerated and besides this, we offer discounted prices during our Spa Happy Hour, as well as on selected treatments, the Weekly Specials.
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort to correct the negative impression you created during your first stay in our Resort.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews