We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,680)
Filter reviews
3,680 results
Traveler rating
1,932
1,160
408
126
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,932
1,160
408
126
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa del folk kids club old town santa eulalia sea view suite star hotel fish restaurant private beach the main hotel lovely hotel heated pool half board self catering evening buffet free shuttle beach bar lovely beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,879 - 1,884 of 3,680 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

just come back from the grand the hotel was outstanding well looked after ,the grounds were excellent ,the staff outstanding could not do enough made you really welcome
we had a apartment loads of space for the two of us, were immaculate bed made every day even though we were self catering
food was great freshly cooked ate nearly every day at the seaside café good value prices were great
was well deserving of its five star rating

Room Tip: apartments loads of space fit your family in there easy
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We are really happy that everything from the Resort Suites, their size to the service, location and food corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and we really hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just returned from a seven day holiday, staying at this superb beach front five star hotel. It really lives up to its five stars. We paid extra to have a sea view hotel room which was well worth it. You could actually hear the crashing waves of the Atlantic from your room. The rooms were very spacious, and we found the huge bed to be very comfortable. The check-in was quick, friendly and efficient. All the staff spoke very good English. We were half board and have to say the breakfasts were fantastic, anything you can think of for breakfast was there, even cava! The fresh fruit was a real highlight, fresh (not tinned) pineapple, kiwi, oranges, grapefruit, grapes. Pears, apples, melon... The list goes on. The evening dinners were also superb, with top quality food including steak, rack of lamb, sea bass, Piri Piri chicken, algarvian prawns,etc all served up perfectly. The waiter service was excellent too.

The hotel entrance is gated and there is access to the beautiful Santa Eulalia beach via steps directly from the hotel, though you need your room card to pass through the gate. The beach front cafe is a lovely spot to enjoy a drink or a meal. There is also a courtesy bus to take you to either the Old town or new Town of Albufeira which we used a few times. The swimming pools looked lovely but were too cold for us to be tempted with a dip! The bar is spacious and friendly, also with ocean views. Everything has been well designed to make full use of the superb beach front. We had a fantastic holiday and are already looking to return as soon as we can. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, thank you for a wonderful holiday,

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, well worth it
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Boldon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us that you are planning to return as soon as you can. This is indeed the biggest compliment we can hope for and we would like to thank you on behalf of our whole team for your kind comments and consideration.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again soon for another lovely stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We just spent a week at this beautiful hotel. A really beautiful hotel, beautiful foyer and marvellous proportions. Our room was a classic facing the car park, if you can go for the view on the seaside, the view is spectacular. Also if you have a choice take the half board, the food was very very good and it's too far out of town to walk down for all meals. The breakfasts are sumptuous and the staff are lovely. I found the bed and pillows to hard but they will change these for you so just ask early in holiday. As I say the staff are very nice, there is a small shop with excellent value. We had a fabulous day trip to Seville, a long day but well worth it, as it happens, it was my birthday and when we returned they had delivered free wine and a birthday cake to our room, it was a really lovely surprise, how kind!

Room Tip: The rooms are very large and comfortable but if you can afford it ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the setting, decoration, food and our team. We are also glad that you enjoyed our small birthday surprise and hope that it helped you to relax after a long, exhausting trip.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for what will hopefully be another lovely experience.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel over the new year. On arrival at the hotel check in was efficient,and the reception staff welcoming. Our room had a garden /sea view which was very pleasant. The room was extremely clean and well presented. Now for the problem. If you don't like firm beds don't stay here. We requested mattress toppers when booking but didn't get one, we asked at reception who informed housekeeping and although they did provide some padding it wasn't effective. The poor sleep and muscle pain was rectified to some degree by spa treatments every day.
Now for the food. Buffet breakfast was adequate with everything you could ask for so no complaints there. The evening ala carte meal in the main restaurant was at best average but to be honest typical hotel standards. The cafe bar over looking the beach had stunning views, and was a great place to spend an hour or so. It just a shame the food wasn't in the same league.
The bar staff were faultless and served top end cocktails at reasonable prices.
Now for the million dollar question would I come back. Yes if the beds were softer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank pas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.
We understand that some guests prefer a softer mattress, rather than a firm, especially our northern European guests, while southern European seem to prefer firmer ones. In order to suit the preferences of as many guests as possible, we provide the mentioned mattress toppers, which usually close this “cultural gap”. We regret if the bed even with these still did not match your preference. We are very pleased to inform you that we are currently analyzing the possibility of changing the mattresses and hope that these new ones will suit you better.
Should you visit us however, before this change happens, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be happy to try to find an alternative solution.

Please be also assured that your comments regarding the food will be passed on to our Executive Chef and F&B Management and that we will try to improve wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

What can i say from the moment we arrived it has been a great stay! We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment facing the pool which was well equipped with all we needed. Got like 5 pools in total and great beach. Breakfast was great everyday with very friendly staff. Got a kids club with different activities everyday which is great for families. Room service is excellent and they even washed up things we forgot. Reception staff are very helpful too. Room service menu seem a bit expensive but prices on the coffee shop near the beach is very reasonable and they do great selection of food all day till 5pm. Free shuttle service for the old town was great too. Great stay and we will come back for sure. Only 20 min cab ride away from Vilamoura marina which will cost you around €16. Only recommendation will be to have some coffee and sugar in the apartments rather than free toiletries since everyone remembers to bring that but need a coffee soon as you arrive after your flight.....Would recommend to stay if your coming to Algarve...very clean...great hotel. Sad to be going back tomorrow.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank ish2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a lovely stay that you will be definitely returning, which indeed is the best feedback of all.
Thank you so much for having shared your experience with us and also for your suggestion to offer coffee and sugar in the apartments. We currently do not offer tea and coffee facilities, only kettles in the apartment as a standard and in the Hotel upon request, but we will have your suggestion in consideration.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another great stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews