We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alfagar Alto da Colina(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$191
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$555
$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$227
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$203
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$581
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$1,700
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,404)
Filter reviews
3,404 results
Traveler rating
1,803
1,067
369
115
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,803
1,067
369
115
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubold townsanta eulaliasea view suitefish restaurantstar hotelprivate beachthe main hotellovely hotelhalf boardheated poolself cateringfree shuttleevening buffetbeach barlovely beachout of season
Filter
Updating list...
1,719 - 1,724 of 3,404 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel over the new year. On arrival at the hotel check in was efficient,and the reception staff welcoming. Our room had a garden /sea view which was very pleasant. The room was extremely clean and well presented. Now for the problem. If you don't like firm beds don't stay here. We requested mattress toppers when booking but didn't get one, we asked at reception who informed housekeeping and although they did provide some padding it wasn't effective. The poor sleep and muscle pain was rectified to some degree by spa treatments every day.
Now for the food. Buffet breakfast was adequate with everything you could ask for so no complaints there. The evening ala carte meal in the main restaurant was at best average but to be honest typical hotel standards. The cafe bar over looking the beach had stunning views, and was a great place to spend an hour or so. It just a shame the food wasn't in the same league.
The bar staff were faultless and served top end cocktails at reasonable prices.
Now for the million dollar question would I come back. Yes if the beds were softer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank pas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.
We understand that some guests prefer a softer mattress, rather than a firm, especially our northern European guests, while southern European seem to prefer firmer ones. In order to suit the preferences of as many guests as possible, we provide the mentioned mattress toppers, which usually close this “cultural gap”. We regret if the bed even with these still did not match your preference. We are very pleased to inform you that we are currently analyzing the possibility of changing the mattresses and hope that these new ones will suit you better.
Should you visit us however, before this change happens, please do not hesitate to contact us as we will be happy to try to find an alternative solution.

Please be also assured that your comments regarding the food will be passed on to our Executive Chef and F&B Management and that we will try to improve wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

What can i say from the moment we arrived it has been a great stay! We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment facing the pool which was well equipped with all we needed. Got like 5 pools in total and great beach. Breakfast was great everyday with very friendly staff. Got a kids club with different activities everyday which is great for families. Room service is excellent and they even washed up things we forgot. Reception staff are very helpful too. Room service menu seem a bit expensive but prices on the coffee shop near the beach is very reasonable and they do great selection of food all day till 5pm. Free shuttle service for the old town was great too. Great stay and we will come back for sure. Only 20 min cab ride away from Vilamoura marina which will cost you around €16. Only recommendation will be to have some coffee and sugar in the apartments rather than free toiletries since everyone remembers to bring that but need a coffee soon as you arrive after your flight.....Would recommend to stay if your coming to Algarve...very clean...great hotel. Sad to be going back tomorrow.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank ish2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was really gratifying to read that you had such a lovely stay that you will be definitely returning, which indeed is the best feedback of all.
Thank you so much for having shared your experience with us and also for your suggestion to offer coffee and sugar in the apartments. We currently do not offer tea and coffee facilities, only kettles in the apartment as a standard and in the Hotel upon request, but we will have your suggestion in consideration.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again for another great stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked a one week getaway in January, and I cannot fault this hotel in any way. The staff are all so attentive, every little detail is taken care off. We were in a self catering apartment and it was huge, it had everything that you could possible need. Bathrobes, free tv in the lounge and the bedroom, free safety deposit box in your room, free wi fi in your room and all over the hotel, every cooking utensil you could possible think off, toiletries replenished everyday, (shampoo, soap, shower gel etc.) hair dryer in the bathroom, we even had a telephone in the bathroom. The Hotel in huge with 3 outdoor pools and one of them is heated, a private beach, accessible through the hotel terrace. What impressed me most was a knock on the door the evening of my husbands birthday, we opened the door to find a waiter with a tray containing 2 x champagne glasses, bottle of champagne in an ice bucket, birthday cake with a candle in it and a birthday card from the hotel and staff, we had not told a soul that it was his birthday....they must of picked it up from his passport, that's a lovely gesture and made us feel special. We had a fantastic week and will certainly return later in the year

Room Tip: We were in a room outside of the main hotel, if you get a room with the balcony facing away from the hotel then you get the sun all day
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gailforce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are really happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were so impressed with the Hotel, its service and facilities that you will be definitely returning next year ! Thank you so much for this.

It was also gratifying to read how much you enjoyed the small birthday surprise and that it made your husband’s birthday even more enjoyable and memorable!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back next year for another lovely stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently came back from the Grande Real Santa Eulalia where we stayed 10 days over the New Year's period. We all had a great holiday there.
The kids loved going to the kids' club and we would like to thank again the amazing, hard-working staff there (Carmen, Ana and Juan). They were brilliant with our little ones.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and were very happy with the accommodation. It was spacious and even though the kitchenette is small it had everything we needed on holiday. The apartment was cleaned daily & thoroughly and the maid always left some lovely little touches like folding our kids' pyjamas and cuddly toys on top of their beds.
Breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want: a variety of fresh fruit, variety of yogurts, different types of cheeses and cold meats, fresh fruit juices, cereals, different types of bread and pastries, branded jams & honey, "Nutella", lovely little portuguese cakes, sparkling wines and plenty of hot food too (eggs, bacon etc). You could have an omelette made in front of you. The perfect start to the day!
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right on the beach - which is gorgeous. We spent a lot of time with the kids there. The hotel cafe-snack bar overlooking the beach was really good for lunches and mid-morning coffee. The view was fabulous.
We normally hire a car when we come to the Algarve but we didn't this time. We were happy walking to the nearest shops (10mns) or hopping in a cab if going a bit further. There is shuttle bus at the hotel, which we used twice and found handy to go to Albufeira - which isn't a particularly "nice" place in itself unfortunately.
The spa at the hotel was good. We used the thalasso therapy pool once (It costs 15 euros per person) and we had a very relaxing time there. There is a gym which looked pretty decent for a hotel. Treatments are overall quite pricey but every day there is a promotion on a couple of treatments making them reasonable enough.
The lobby is a very nice place to sit down, read a book or and have a drink. It is really spacious with high ceilings and nice furnishings.
We found staff to be very professional: always helpful and discreet.
We will definitely be coming back to the Grande Real Santa Eulalia. The excellent kids' club, breakfast, location & very good standards of apartments make it a perfect choice for young families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5cariocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review.

It was really gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were especially with the Kid’s Club and breakfast. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and would like to thank you on behalf of them for your consideration.

Reading that you will be definitely returning was the icing on the cake and we look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a superb 4 day break over the New Year in this hotel. Never stayed here before but last Christmas stayed in another hotel in this chain in Olhao which we really enjoyed. We were not disappointed, once again The Real chain gave us a break to remember. A special mention must go to the staff, all were superb ! Friendly, helpful and professional - a real asset for the hotel. Bed was slightly firm for us but within one hour of asking in reception for a topper it was on our bed. After that we slept much better. Best breakfast ever ! We hope to return to this hotel again next year or maybe the Real Marina in Olhao, difficult to choose as both are superb but very different in their location but for sure we will be returning.

Room Tip: Highly recommend booking a room with a sea view, well worth paying the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fiestababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review, which we really enjoyed reading.

It was really gratifying to learn that you were as impressed with the Grande Real Santa Eulália as you were with the Real Marina and that you once again had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at one of our hotels.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our team. We will make sure that these will be passed on to them and are sure that our Executive Chef will be very pleased to her that our breakfast was the best ever!

We really look forward to welcome you again to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.


Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews