We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,536)
Filter reviews
3,536 results
Traveler rating
1,857
1,111
393
122
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,857
1,111
393
122
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubold townsanta eulaliasea view suitefish restaurantstar hotelprivate beachthe main hotellovely hotelhalf boardheated poolself cateringevening buffetfree shuttlebeach barlovely beachout of season
Filter
Updating list...
1,782 - 1,787 of 3,536 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We recently came back from the Grande Real Santa Eulalia where we stayed 10 days over the New Year's period. We all had a great holiday there.
The kids loved going to the kids' club and we would like to thank again the amazing, hard-working staff there (Carmen, Ana and Juan). They were brilliant with our little ones.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and were very happy with the accommodation. It was spacious and even though the kitchenette is small it had everything we needed on holiday. The apartment was cleaned daily & thoroughly and the maid always left some lovely little touches like folding our kids' pyjamas and cuddly toys on top of their beds.
Breakfast was delicious and had everything you could want: a variety of fresh fruit, variety of yogurts, different types of cheeses and cold meats, fresh fruit juices, cereals, different types of bread and pastries, branded jams & honey, "Nutella", lovely little portuguese cakes, sparkling wines and plenty of hot food too (eggs, bacon etc). You could have an omelette made in front of you. The perfect start to the day!
The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right on the beach - which is gorgeous. We spent a lot of time with the kids there. The hotel cafe-snack bar overlooking the beach was really good for lunches and mid-morning coffee. The view was fabulous.
We normally hire a car when we come to the Algarve but we didn't this time. We were happy walking to the nearest shops (10mns) or hopping in a cab if going a bit further. There is shuttle bus at the hotel, which we used twice and found handy to go to Albufeira - which isn't a particularly "nice" place in itself unfortunately.
The spa at the hotel was good. We used the thalasso therapy pool once (It costs 15 euros per person) and we had a very relaxing time there. There is a gym which looked pretty decent for a hotel. Treatments are overall quite pricey but every day there is a promotion on a couple of treatments making them reasonable enough.
The lobby is a very nice place to sit down, read a book or and have a drink. It is really spacious with high ceilings and nice furnishings.
We found staff to be very professional: always helpful and discreet.
We will definitely be coming back to the Grande Real Santa Eulalia. The excellent kids' club, breakfast, location & very good standards of apartments make it a perfect choice for young families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5cariocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind, detailed review.

It was really gratifying to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were especially with the Kid’s Club and breakfast. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our team and would like to thank you on behalf of them for your consideration.

Reading that you will be definitely returning was the icing on the cake and we look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had a superb 4 day break over the New Year in this hotel. Never stayed here before but last Christmas stayed in another hotel in this chain in Olhao which we really enjoyed. We were not disappointed, once again The Real chain gave us a break to remember. A special mention must go to the staff, all were superb ! Friendly, helpful and professional - a real asset for the hotel. Bed was slightly firm for us but within one hour of asking in reception for a topper it was on our bed. After that we slept much better. Best breakfast ever ! We hope to return to this hotel again next year or maybe the Real Marina in Olhao, difficult to choose as both are superb but very different in their location but for sure we will be returning.

Room Tip: Highly recommend booking a room with a sea view, well worth paying the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fiestababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review, which we really enjoyed reading.

It was really gratifying to learn that you were as impressed with the Grande Real Santa Eulália as you were with the Real Marina and that you once again had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at one of our hotels.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our team. We will make sure that these will be passed on to them and are sure that our Executive Chef will be very pleased to her that our breakfast was the best ever!

We really look forward to welcome you again to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.


Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Myself and boyfriend paid 460 to stay here HB for a week over New Year through a package company . The hotel was a pleasure to stay in...comfortable, expansive lobby, well maintained grounds with excellent access directly to a beautiful section of beach. Easy parking outside reception. Food was plentiful, always fresh and dinners both Al a Carte and Buffet were a highlight. Waiters were always on hand with coffee top ups and drinks even during busy breakfast times. Room cleaned and tidied daily with staff never intruding. The room itself was the "classis or standard" but there was noting else I would have wanted. It was spacious & direct access to gardens was great, bath robes provided and in my opinion very comfortable beds. The jazz entertainment and fireworks on new years eve were an unexpected bonus. The outdoor heated pool is a nice touch in winter. Free gym was adequate for holidays and indoor water circuit worth paying the 18E at least once! I have paid similar prices for many holidays but this is the best value and quality I have experienced to date. As a tip Villamoura is much nicer area & better maintained than Albuferia but I would still choose to stay in this hotel and travel into Villamoura due to the high quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LauraKerr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed staying with us.

We are happy that you have spent a wonderful time and New Year’s Eve celebration with us and that everything corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.
We are also glad that you consider us to be Hotel with the best value for money and that we would be your top choice in this area.

Thank you so much and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for what will hopefully be another excellent stay with us.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent New Year's eve there. Located right on Santa Eulalia beach. Kids had a great time playing on the beach,the swimming pool and the kids club. Apartments good size and comfortable with enough amenities to be self-catering if you desire (but could do with some plates though!). Staff very helpful. Great spa to relax in. Excellent breakfast. Easy accessible to supermarkets and restaurants (10 minute walk). Good base to explore the Algarve from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruben-Neelmanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Since most feedback we receive is from adults, it was very gratifying to also get some feedback about your children’s experience and we are very happy that they had a great time with us as well.

We are pleased that all of you have had an enjoyable stay and New Year’s celebration with us and that you were impressed with the apartments and the conditions offered for families. We would just like to add a small note regarding the plates. They are provided in different sizes and can be found in the commode.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Kind regards



Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 days in this hotel last summer.
Pros:
- Lovely view if you are in a higher floor facing the sea;
- Easy access to the public beach (the hotel doesn't have its own beach but is just 5m walking)
- Nice breakfast

Cons:
- very small pools with lots of kids and noise and you need to come very early to find a seat next to the small pool!
- the furniture in the room is very old (three star hotel type)

The hotel is good but surely not a 5 star standard. Don't recommend it couple looking for some quiet and relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Waleed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that your stay at our Hotel did not correspond entirely to your expectations. We are indeed a Family Hotel with many facilities and services specifically for children. As most hotels in the Algarve, our busiest periods are July and August and being it school holiday months, many of our guests then are families with children. These months therefore might not be the best for guests searching for a secluded, tranquil space, but even during the busiest months, guests are still able to find areas with a more relaxing atmosphere in our Resort, like the Spa for instance, or one of the pools in our Resort, which traditionally are less busy than the main pool in the Hotel.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our Resort, maybe during a different time of the year, when you will be able to enjoy the tranquil and peaceful atmosphere that usually reigns in our Resort.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews