We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grande....but not 5 star Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grande....but not 5 star Grand!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very pleasant hotel with excellent / attentive staff. Hotel itself is on first impressions 5 star but the hotel rooms are a little dated and do need a touch of TLC. That said the rooms are spacious and clean. We would return to this hotel but as mentioned above we'd want the rooms to get a make over and have basics such as DVD player and kettle esp if deemed 5 star!

Room Tip: For those travelling with young children this hotel offers lots of space and a second room with plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our facilities and services.

Thank you also for suggestion to update the rooms and we are very pleased to inform you that some minor repair works have been scheduled for the winter and that our TV’s are currently being replaced by new Flat Screens.
Please be also informed that DVD players and kettles are available upon request. Just contact our Front Desk, who will be very pleased to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    698
    236
    72
    30
See reviews for
828
885
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 7 days and found it to be a very professionally run premises. The staff were very attentive. The room was kept clean and tidied every day. We enjoyed our stay. The only down side was that the buffet food for breakfast was never hot. Other than that, Very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy that you have spent a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us.
We regret however that you felt that the temperature of the food at breakfast was not hot enough. We checked our temperature charts, which are kept as part of our HACCP programme, and all records where within the required range, but we will pay even more attention to the buffet and the temperature logs.

Thank you once again for having left your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again for another enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália, hopefully soon.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have had a lovely week at this resort, but like others have said there are positives and negatives (as their are with every place anyone goes to)
For us :-
Negatives - We had a room with a "resort view" that really meant a view of the car park and front reception area, not exactly what we had in mind ! Wonderful choice at breakfast but the hot food is cooked en mass so not always hot, they have a choice of eggs cooked 4 mins or 8 mins, I had a 4 min egg but sadly they were also cooked in advance so was like a hard boiled one ! Prices for food/drinks expensive.
Positives - Very clean, staff friendly, courtesy towels for the pool area daily, lovely clean pools (one heated), rooms cleaned daily, no need to reserve a sunbed, there were plenty ! small fault with our room safe, but came to repair it quickly and efficiently.
Thoughts - Good supermarket out the hotel turn right, round the corner and its just on the left, if you are going to use the courtesy shuttle bus start to queue about 20 mins before it leaves but as far as we could see everybody always got on. No kettles in the room, we took a travel one. The pavements on the 10 min walk to the restaurants/bars are quite uneven, I don't recommend high heels.
Enjoy - we did !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Presh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have spent a pleasant time with us and that most services and facilities corresponded to your expectations

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve, by also mentioning the points that you liked the least.
To make your next visit even more enjoyable, we would like to recommend you one of our Seaview room categories, which we are sure will better suit your expectations.

Thank you as well for your useful tips and suggestions, which will certainly also be very appreciated by other guests. We would just like to add a small note regarding the kettles, which although not available as a standard in the Hotel rooms, are available upon request and part of the standard equipment of our Resort Suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for a, hopefully, even more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went for a short break and found this hotel very pleasant, sunshine and good weather every day, pleasant location on the beach and no problems with the food. The hotel and its environs were good, but the neighbourhood was not to our liking, so the few days there were enough.
There was a free bus running into the town, so we explored an out-of-season empty town that catered mainly for tourists with outdoor bars and sports screened TVs and waiters trying to coax us onto empty tables, all day English breakfasts, etc and reminded us of Blackpool without the crowds.
Another area called the Strip, was also looking derelict and empty with empty bars, souvenir shops and the modern "Kiss me Quick" hats so with nothing else on offer, it was back to the hotel.
The beach bar provided adequate beers, the wines were very poor and the food or snacks not that great, but in the hotel itself, the beers were better, wine acceptable and food of fairly good quality.
The decor and staff and hotel was good, but I would not have thought it merited 5 stars, but provided a good and pleasant break but the overall area would not entice me to return.
The pools were empty out of season, but looked nice and this would be a good location for families for a short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, but that the town itself did not correspond to your expectations.

If you would like to enjoy once again the hospitality and services of the Hotéis Real Algarve, but in a typical Portuguese town, we would like to recommend you our sister Hotel, the Real Marina Hotel & SPA, located right in front of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve in Olhão, which has preserved the tradition and charm of a Algarvian fishing town .

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment, we stayed in an ocean view suite which had a separate lounge and two bathrooms. While the rooms were large, carpets were badly stained in both rooms and there were many chips in the paint work, similarly in other areas the hotel needed refurbishing.

As we arrived in the afternoon we decided to eat in the buffet on the first night. The food was poor, meat was tough and the hot food was at best only warm and at €34 per head (not including water) very poor value, not surprisingly we did not eat in the buffet again
.
Breakfast choice good but again anything that was supposed to be hot was virtually cold - trying to get a decent fried egg was difficult as they were cooked at about 12 a time and left on a tray in a heated area, they were either under cooked or dried out and cold.

The courtesy bus to the old town is a joke, it only has 27 seats which given the number of people who wanted to use it in the evening was ridiculous, also the last bus is at 7.20 pm. If you could not get a seat you then had to wait up to an hour for a taxi.

Overall the hotel is expensive especially for drinks with water at €4 a bottle – 5 star prices but compared to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in around the world definitely not 5 star quality.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for an ocean view suite on a higher floor to get a lot of space and a good seavie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 340Mike126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that the stay at our Hotel did not correspond to your expectations. Please be assured that you comments will be taken into consideration and that we will try to improve wherever we can.
We are pleased to inform you that some measures have actually been scheduled already. With the busy summer months and rooms being constantly occupied over a long period, some might begin to show small wear marks which cannot be fixed immediately, as the rooms are occupied. During the forthcoming low season however, all our rooms will be inspected and repair and maintenance works, like painting or carpet replacement, will be carried out.

We would also like to assure that we will pay special attention to the food temperatures. We have checked our temperature logs, which we keep as part of our HACCP program, and all temperatures were within the required ranges, but we have instructed our team to alert us immediately if any variations or unusual situations are registered.

Please note that the schedule of the shuttle bus has already been adapted for the summer season in order to cope with the higher demand and increased number of guests. We are however not able to offer a 24 hour service or guarantee a seat for every guest, given that this is a complimentary courtesy bus service, meant to be a small treat for our guests and not a professional transfer service.

Thank you for giving us, through your feedback, the opportunity to improve and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Can't praise this hotel enough. From start to finish the hotel and staff were outstanding. The breakfasts were second to none ( only don't expect NOT to put on weight!!!) The choice of food was fantastic with the added advantage of buffet-style service, enabling you to return as many times as you want. Families were well catered for throughout the hotel.
The rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard and all communal areas were spotless. There was a choice of five pools in various locations with adequate loungers and parasols. The pool bars had a good range of snacks/sandwiches etc. and reasonably priced.
The shuttle bus service which is run by the hotel is excellent. However it might be difficult to get a seat in the height of the season.
As we were not to be collected until 3.30am by our transport to the airport, we decided to dine in the hotel on the final evening at the 'buffet' arriving at 8.45pm. However, as the dining room opened at 7.00pm, we found that most of the dishes were finished and although they served food until 10.00pm they were very slow in replacing empty dishes and some foods ie: chicken were never replaced. Desserts were greatly depleted and not replaced to the original standard. At 34 euros per head we felt a little disappointed especially considering the standard of the rest of the hotel and staff.
On the whole we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Thank you for a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review, which we really enjoyed reading.

It was gratifying to read that you and your family had such a fantastic time with us and that most of your expectations were exceeded.
We regret however that you felt that the service in the main restaurant was not up to the high standards of the rest of the Resort. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to our F&B Manager and Executive Chef and that we will instruct our team to pay even more attention to the replacement of the Buffet dishes.
Thank you once again for your feedback, which we will share with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'll try to keep this brief.

Good:-
Pool and communal areas were clean
Staff were courteous
Sun loungers were readily available
Spa was lovely
Food that we ate was nice (I didn't have dinner here)
Hotel was on the beach

Not so good:-
The fine dining restaurant and one of the bars were closed, despite me saying in August?!? So we had the choice of one restaurant (a 35 Euro per head buffet) or go out for dinner. I definitely paid high season prices for my stay, so why were all facilities not available (not a 5 star service)?

Shuttle service to Albufiera Old/New Towns only has 27 seats (this is a huge hotel, surely they must realise more than 27 people might want to go to the Old/New Town) and runs once an evening.
Once the shuttle has been missed (often due to capacity being reached) it almost impossible to get a taxi. One night we waited an hour a 20 minutes along with a group of 10-15 other guests. The reception staff weren't that fussed about the whole debacle; although they probably couldn't have done much, it would have just been nice/consoling to be given the impression that they cared. They just stood around inside while we all waited outside (is that a 5 star service??). I'd expect a 5 star hotel to have agreed some sort of contract with a local taxi firm (knowing how hard it is to get a taxi come 7/8pm) or to have a shuttle service with greater capacity or frequency.

The service at the one bar that was open was painfully slow. To the point where you often found yourself having to neck your drinks, that you had originally ordered with 30 mins to spare, quickly and settle the bill before dashing for the afore mentioned shuttle bus. Thing is, the bar wasn't that busy? Bearing in mind how hard it was to get a taxi if you missed the bus...

Had I been staying at a cheaper/lower rated hotel these things wouldn't have been a huge issue. The staff were all friendly, the pool area was nice as was the beach (even if a little crowded). But I paid 5 star in August prices and got 4 star off season service/facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.
Please be assured that all your comments will be taken into consideration and that we will try to improve wherever we can. Please note however that during our high season, all our restaurants and bars were open. We had for instance 4 restaurants available for dinner, giving guests the opportunity to chose from a variety of different restaurants and styles, like Buffet, Tapas, Fish and Seafood or Sushi. Guests had also 5 bars available including a Café -snack bar.

Please note as well that we are one of the few hotels in the area that provide a complimentary transport service for guests. We are not able to offer unlimited runs, but still and although we are only located a 20 minutes walk from the Oura, we adapted our schedule during the month of August in order to make it even easier for our guests to get to Albufeira.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again for an hopefully even more enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing