We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Lovely big hotel with many amenities - unfortunatley not everything up and running at this time of year. Food OK, nothing special, definately not 5* standard, staff very eager to remove your plates. Restaurant by the beach serving mainly fresh fish, not ready for the season, staff run off their feet and food lacking everything! (Frozen veg). Cafe by beach very good for drinks and lunches. There were no sunbeds on beach but they appeard the day after we left. There was also big queues to get in the restaurant and guests were made to wait while a large party had priority treatment. The resort is a 10 minute walk along a busy road to the start of Oura district, a further 1hr walk into Albufeira old town. Albufeira is lovely, with many shops and bars. The beach is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAMMC087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that not everything corresponded to your expectations.

We aplogise if the quality of service and food at the Santa Eulália restaurant did not correspond to our usual standards and assure you that we will do our utmost to improve.
We also regret if you felt that a large group was having a special treatment. We are not aware of any priority treatment given to groups, which is something we avoid doing, but if you would like to contact us with your stay dates and more details, we will try to find out more about the incident mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require or if you would like to share more details about your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us through ana.mendes@hoteisreal.com

Yours sincerely


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week during May in a studio self-catering apartment. This was the first time I had been on a european beach holiday and first time self-catering. The studio was spotless with everything needed for our stay. The rooms are quiet and feel private. Bathroom was spacious with more towels than you can shake a stick at. I had my birthday whilst there and on return from the beach we found a bottle of champagne on ice and a birthday cake and card. I thought this was a nice touch. We found the staff more than happy to help and recommended us beaches and restaurants to visit, taking the time to write down directions and draw circles on maps. We ate at the Atlantique restaurant and had a tapas menu for two costing €50 with drinks. This was the largest meal we had all week and was good. We didn't eat at the buffet as went out in the evenings. The location to the beach is great. We went to the spa which was advertised at a knockdown price of €15 each as some of the stations were closed, but swimming hats were compulsory at €2. This was for 1.5 hours. Not a fan of swimming hats. Wifi throughout the hotel. One thing I would say is that Albufeira is probably not my kind of town, a bit touristy. But seeing as you're not in the main town it's fine. I would go there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Apartments facing south will get more sun throughout the day. On the North you will get it from 9am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeavyHetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, which we really enjoyed reading.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that all our services and facilities corresponded or even exceeded your expectations.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the Spa and we would just like to give a small explanation regarding the swimming caps. We know that many guests, as you, are no fans of them, but we kindly ask for your understanding, since this is not a Hotel rule, but demanded by Portuguese Health and Safety regulations and compulsory in any indoor pool in Portugal. Guests do not need to buy our swimming caps, but are of course free to bring their own swimming caps if they prefer or makes them feel more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for another enjoyable experience with us.


Yours sincerely


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived for one week holiday from the 13th May until the 20th May.We were very pleased with the hotel but would rate it more like a 4 star rather than a five star.
Unfortunately for us we brought extra sterling to change into euro's if needed but only needed to change a further £80.00 for the last day or so. We never counted the sterling until we arrived at the airport as I just put the money back in my bag before we checked out of the hotel.
Two hundred pounds was taken and to say we are upset is an understatement. We contacted the hotel by e'mail on Monday evening and asked for an investigation and a reply to our e'mail.
To date no one has replied or tried to contact us by phone. We supplied our home telephone number and our e'mail address. I think this is dreadful for a five star hotel to care so little about there guests. We have been travelling abroad for over 35 years and have never had money taken from our safe we feel totally violated. I would now never recommend this hotel to anyone
it is so rude of the management and unprofessional not to deal with this serious issue.

5  Thank maggie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to clarify, once again, that it is impossible to just walk into the room, decode a safe and program it again with the code that the guest initially used. Still, we have checked the vingcard lock memory, the safe memory and decoder and nothing has been detected.

In your Tripadvisor review, you state that you just counted the money in the airport and in the email that you sent to us, and to which we already replied, you even state that you just counted it when you arrived home, so there were plenty of other ways the money could have been misplaced and we regret that instead the Hotel is accused for something which is technically not possible and therefore unfounded.

We would also like to reassure that we care for our guests and take any issues serious, which is why we have been in touch with you and already informed you personally about the outcome of the lock analysis which clearly proves that the money was not taken from the safe as claimed.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

great hotel for the price great breakfast/food bus to albufeira for great competitively priced food and drinks can recomend the louisiana great seafood or meat cataplana for 2 with a bottle of wine 30 euros nice hotel in a great location but 6 euros for a lime n soda but 8 euros for a cocktail containing 4 spirits had me stumped

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D4F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and thank you for having shared your experience on Tripadvisor!

We look forward to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another pleasant stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a short 3 night trip at this hotel. On arriving, the grounds and buildings all looked very well maintained and welcoming. I had booked a sea view room and was allocated a top (3rd floor) room with amazing views. The rooms, bathrooms and balcony are large with a view of the beach and sea that can be seen while lying in bed as well as sitting on the balcony. Wi-fi, although not advertised, is free throughout the hotel, with excellent signal from your room, balcony, bar and sun lounger - this is a massive bonus and something many good hotels fail to get right.
Everywhere appears clean and the pool areas lovely with easy access to bars for a drink/snack. We had cocktails and wine in the main bar each eve and sat and looked out to sea - shame the weather wasn't all that great.
Breakfasts were amazing, so much choice and excellent quality. The bread was excellent (choosing from about 10 different kinds) as well as huge selection of cooked, fresh fruit, hams (air dried and cured), cheeses, pastries, cakes, cereals, sparkling wine and juices. I have to admit I pigged out!
We ate twice at the hotel restaurant down near the beach (as couldn't be bothered to go into town), rather than the main buffet restaurant and then once in Albufeira. I felt 30 something euros for a buffet was a little steep and didn't want to have the gorging sensation that tends to come over you with a buffet (see breakfast comment!), however the main restaurant seemed busy and the food looked good from a glancing distance. The other restaurant is table service and the staff very friendly. The fish here is sold in the usual style of paying by the kilo, of which the prices did seem a little expensive, but there are also other dishes on the menu. I had a 2 different Portuguese fish stews in which the assorted fish & shellfish were cooked well & portion sizes were huge. I think dinner and a bottle of wine came to around 60 euros each night for 2.
The hotel is a little outside of Albufeira and anywhere really. We had a car and as the weather wasn't great it was handy for doing a bit of exploring. We didn't use the shuttle bus service due to the car. Albufeira itself is really not exciting and very set up for the 1980's/90's tourists. The old town is slightly more picturesque but still just bars/restaurants with sport and English breakfasts. If we were there for longer I hope I would have possibly found some more interesting restaurants and places to go although to be fair I hadn't expected a gourmet fest on booking.
The hotel delivered what I was seeking in this short trip, great beach location, relaxing environment and a comfy bed to do a lot of sleeping on. Yes the carpets are a little tired, yes the TV is slightly old in style, yes it's probably not quite a 5 star, but the location and facilities are great.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vic093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, which we really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a pleasant stay with us and that almost everything corresponded or exceeded your expectations, especially our Breakfast Buffet and we will make sure that your comment will be passed on to our Executive Chef.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we are glad to inform you that we are currently replacing our TV sets, so upon your next visit you will find a new, modern flatscreen TV in your room and hopefully a new carpet as well, since they are being gradually replaced.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were lovely. Very clean, spacious reception area. Staff were very helpful and couldn't be faulted. It wasn't clear when I booked (with Expedia) that the showers in the hotel rooms were over baths. I can't get in and out of a bath - upon raising this concern with reception, it was authorised to move us to a disabled room the very next day - this happened to be a sea view which they were good enough to not charge us for. Ines Rosa at reception was particularly helpful and understanding. The location was lovely, right on the beach and there is access for less mobile guests, which we used. It's a little further from the 'strip' and old town than we thought, and used the (very good, local) taxi service quite a lot. The hotel supplies a free shuttle to and from both of the above locations, although it's full on most journeys and there's a three hour gap in the middle of the day - the last journey is 6.20pm so a taxi is required to get back to the resort, not sure if this increases in high season. I would recommend hiring a car.
The hotel in our opinion is not a 5* standard. Here is a list of pros and cons to help make up your own mind:
Pros (agreeing with 5* rating):
- Very clean, service impeccable
- Secure entry into resort - vehicles need to buzz for the barrier to be raised for access.
- Clearly no expense spared for buildings and surroundings. Very well maintained with good furnishings and clean pool areas.
- Food very good
- Brilliant location (beach wise)
- Free shuttle bus (for the hotel group, not just this hotel)
- Housekeeping service daily
- Good range of TV channels in various languages
- Plenty of concierge around for assistance, they have golf buggies to take arriving/departing guests to/from apartments with luggage
- Free internet access on hotel PC's (well tucked away though!)

Cons (disputing 5* rating):
- We went B&B: food and drink very expensive (4 Euros for a 2L bottle of water, identical bottle costs 0.85 in the town; buffet dinner 34 Euros each)
- No refreshment/tea or coffee facilities in the rooms. Fridge in room but it's empty.
- One bottle of water in room for whole stay (a little stingy for a 5*)
- No entertainment in evenings
- Old style TVs in rooms (box style)
- No indoor pool for chillier days (Thalasso circuit costs 15 Euros for 1 hour, but it's not really for swimming - it's a treatment in salt water)
- Even with 50% discount on treatment of the day, cheapest one is still about 50 Euros

I've worked in hotels for a few years now, and in my opinion it's better to be an awesome 4* than a mediocre 5* hotel. I probably won't return but that's no reflection on the hotel. Albufeira is very touristy - even the old town is full of places offering English breakfast and familiarity to home. For those looking for a more traditional, local experience on holiday, steer clear. Every second person is a British tourist, so 90% of staff in shops etc speak good English. Would recommend Cassanova (seafood) and Shalom (Dutch food) in the old town, Senhor Frog's (Italian) in the strip.

Room Tip: Sea view totally worth it. Goes without saying a higher room means a better view. Take advantage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that our reception team has been able to find another, more suitable room for you in a quick and efficient way.

Thank you also for sharing with us not only the good, but also the points that in your opinion could be improved and we are happy to inform you that we are currently replacing our TV’s.

Please note as well that we offer a tailor-made mini-bar service, that kettles are provided upon request and that we have regular price spa treatments that are less than €50 and using our special offer you are able to enjoy treatments in one of the best Spa’s of the Algarve for as little as €23.50.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having never been to Portugal before we were unsure about the standards of hotels/restaurants etc and after receiving an offer through Secret Escapes for this hotel, we had a look at some of it's reviews and decided to book. Flights from Manchester were as cheap as chips - much much cheaper than to Malaga, our alternative destination - so the flights and accommodation cost £650 for the two of us. We booked transport from the airport to the hotel (£5 each, bargain!) - as it turned out it was in a mini bus with one or two other drop offs along the way, but that was great for us as we could see the different types of hotels and apartments people had booked in the area. Once we arrived at our hotel it was immediately apparent that we were staying in a 4/5 star complex, the gardens and buildings were lovely. We checked in easily at reception, were given their weekly what's on at the hotel printout and our bags (and ourselves) were taken by buggy to our apartment, overlooking the gardens, and shown round the apartment. It had a kitchen, lounge (with 2 spare sofa beds), bathroom with over-bath shower, bidet, wc and basin, loads of big fluffy towels and terry robes. The bedroom had two big single beds pushed together to make a double. My mattress was quite hard but it turned out to be very very comfortable. We went to a little supermarket in a hotel complex across the road (there isn't one in the hotel, which is strange considering there are 300 rooms/apartments on site!) and bought essentials like water, tea/coffee/sugar/washing up liquid/cereals/milk etc. There are 4 pools, all smallish in size and quite shallow, it was early May when we went and they were quite cool but ok once you are submerged! The restaurants were excellent (although the 29 euros charged for buffet lunch in the main eatery is extortionate) and there is an excellent family run fish restaurant accessed via a boardwalk from the beach, this was really good value and did everything from omelettes to fish to burgers. A 10 minute walk takes you to the early part of what they call the strip, with bars and restaurants, much bigger and better supermarkets (so worth going there if you are self catering). We went to the Picanha na Brasa (it has a massive bull outside it, you can't miss it!) and only managed 5 of the 12 courses of meat - but it was truly excellent and the staff were lovely. We also ate at the Trevi Bistro and restaurant (up some steps next to the Ourapraia Hotel) which was absolutely amazing, again the staff were fantastic. We went on a guided walk of the cliffs and beach with Bruno, who was well-informed and kept the pace of the walk admirably slow on such a hot day. All in all, a relaxing, value for money holiday which did everything we wanted it to do. I was only sad that I did not take advantage of the spa - we used this on the last day to shower and change before leaving for the airport. It is in the lower ground floor of the hotel - what a spa! Stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolibobsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We enjoy all reviews, but the ones we enjoy the most are the ones like yours from guests who have had a perfect stay with us!

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review about our Hotel, but also for sharing useful tips about things to do in Albufeira.

We look forward to welcome you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and hope that next time you will be able to treat yourself with one of the relaxing treatments of the Real Spa Thalasso.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,377 reviews
6.0 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $59 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing