We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying a the Grande Real Santa Eulalia in January 2013 and it was a lovely experience. From the moment we arrived, we were made very welcome. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and we had a wonderful view looking out over the beach and sea. The en suite was spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a selection of everything you could possibly want. We stayed half board and our evening meals were of a very high standard. Waiting staff were polite and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The courtesy bus was a very useful perk, but we did walk to the old town one afternoon without any great effort. The spa was also excellent and the staff were so helpful. The weather was a little mixed, but it was January and it certainly beat the snow we left behind. The hotel was quiet, given the time of year. I would certainly highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of travelling to this part of Portugal.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the sea. Some rooms overlook the entrance and this may be noisier if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, which we really appreciated.

We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the quality of service, facilities and food provided. We will make sure that your kind comments will be passed on to our entire team and would like to thank you on behalf of them.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA and hope that you will be able to enjoy more of the sunny, lovely weather the Algarve is usually known for.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Hotel Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    745
    251
    82
    30
See reviews for
896
922
45
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I really loved my stay at the Grande real santa Eulalia hotel, and the only reason I haven't given it the full 5 stars are due to a few minor reasons, number 1: the old CRT TV! I have stayed in many five star hotels all over the world and even when I stayed at a 5 stars hotel in Cuba they had a flat screen TV in the room, so I was extremely surprise to find such a beautiful 5 stars hotel in a European country, in this day and age not to have a FLAT SCREEN TV in the room! 2: the stained old blue carpets, I love to walk around barefoot but I did not feel at all comfortable to do so at this hotel due to the blue carpets having so many stains on the floor, and finally number 3: I found the bed to be far too hard, however when I called Elizabeth at reception she was really understanding and arranged for a lovely lady from house keeping to put extra bedding on top of the bed for me, this helped me a lot.

The customer service is absolutely 5 stars....! I called a few days before going to the hotel and spoke to a very sweet man his name is Julio, I requested a room on the third floor, and he said he would do his best. When I checked in the hotel I had the pleasure of being greeted by Elizabeth whom I also spoke to before when I called to check the weather, she confirmed that I do have a room on the third floor, so I was extremely happy to see that Julio had fulfilled my request and the view from my room was breath taking. The lady that cleaned our room was a little angel her name is Lourdes, I am very fussy and like the rooms to have a fall deep clean and she always cleaned the room really well with her big warm smile, happy go lucky attitude, nothing was ever too much trouble for her. I found all the staff to be very friendly unfortunately I cannot remember everyone's names but I would like to thank again Julio, Elizabeth, Edgar and Lourdes for their excellent customer service. And finally I had a wonderful, relaxing time at the spa, I agree with everyone else that it's totally worth the 15 euros to use the Thalasso pool and sauna. I loved Portugal and I would stay at this hotel again, but I do hope in the near future the hotel will invest some money into giving the carpets a full steam clean and put in new flat screen TV's in all the rooms. I hope this review helps.

Room Tip: request a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sunshine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review, which we really appreciated.

It was especially rewarding for us to read your comments about our team and how much you enjoyed the service provided by them. We will make sure that our entire team will be informed and would like to thank you on behalf of them for your kind and encouraging remarks.

Thank you also for your suggestion to clean the carpets and replace the televisions. We would like to clarify that the carpets are vacuumed daily and deep-cleaned regularly. They have some marks that cannot be removed but you can rest assured that they are in perfect hygienic conditions. We understand however that the visual impact is important and are therefore gradually replacing the carpets in the rooms.

The replacement of our TV sets is also one of our top priorities and we hope that we will be able to substitute the existing TV’s by flat screens, hopefully soon.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards



João Máximo
Hotel Manager
Grande Real Santa Eulália
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel out of season and so it was quiet and very relaxing. The food was excellent and the room spacious, clean, with a luxury en suite bathroom. The hotel, staff and amenities were first class. I got lucky with the weather and enjoyed many hours on the vast beach which had easy access from the grounds: it's stunning.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A side sea-view gives you a superb view of the sun setting over the dense green woodland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you are considering returning. It was also gratifying to read how impressed you were with our facilities, the quality of service, food and location.

Thank you so much for having shared your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália for another pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week arriving on New Year's Day. We were immediately made very welcome by all staff.

We had a suite which was top class and a perfect match for our family needs. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.

The breakfast was high quality in terms of selection and presentation. We did room service a couple of times which was really good value and well presented.

Perhaps a few more UK television channels would have helped, but otherwise this hotel was faultless.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all reviews, but the ones we enjoy reading the most, are the ones like yours from guests who enjoyed every aspect of their stay and who felt welcome from the very first moment on.

Thank you so much for your kind and motivating comments, which we will make sure will be passed on to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Check in was a breeze and very efficient.

Room was comfortable and on Reception level (room 103). There was a Mini Bar (Not Stocked) and a mini fridge. The TV was a Dated 21"CRT but it worked fine and was linked to about 30 channels. Channel 34 showed Movies in english with Portugese subtitles. There were a couple of English News Channels and VH1.

Bathroom was lovely and clean, towels were old and dated. There were bath robes which matched the towels. Its a personal opinion obviously, but they weren't big enough or fluffy enough. There were some nice toiletries supplied

There is an in room Safe with a 4-6 digit key code.

Beds were Firm and I thought very comfortable, however... the mattresses are placed on top of standard Divan bases and whenever anyone moved it was like marbles on a Drum! They made a lot of noise.

Balcony was lovely and large enough for a table with 2 chairs and room to spare.
Sliding doors which opened almost the full width of the window.

Room was air conditioned and it wasn't too noisy.

Reception and Bar area are very nice and comfortable and the Bar Staff are attentive and pleasant. The terrace area is gorgeous and I can imagine High Season gets very busy!!

Pool areas are clean nice and have plenty of seating/beds.

Breakfast is a whopping buffet... Cheese, Meats, Pastries, Yoghurts, juices, toast, lots of fruit, cakes, pancakes, cereals, sparkling wine, eggs -boiled, scrambled, fried, bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, hash browns... more or less anything you can think off!

Spa is lovely but very expensive... 39euros just to use the pool & gym area!!!! Keeps the riff raff out i suppose!

Service in the restaurant is poor and so is the food. It is expensive and not worth the money.
There was an Evening Buffet on one night which was 34 euros each inc local drinks... this was actually quite good, help yourself and enjoy.
However, the a la carte was another matter. I would not recommend it.

There is a beach front cafe which serves snacks and breakfast, this has a lovely location with views over the beach. Only steps from the hotel terrace/pool area. We ate lunch here most days and were very pleased with it.

In summary... The Hotel is Lovely, staff are generally good (except evening Restaurant) and friendly. The location is great. We will definately be returning. Although we would think twice in High Season, I can imagine the Hotel would be a different experience.

Room Tip: Ask for A Sea View on either Reception level or above. Restricted view on the lower levels. Except B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review.

It is really gratifying for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you are considering returning, which actually is the biggest compliment a Hotel can hope for. Thank you so much for this and also for your kind comments about our staff, which we really appreciated and which we will make sure will be passed on to them.

We regret, however, that you were not as satisfied with the Dinner restaurant as with the remaining facilities of the Hotel. Please be assured that our Executive Chef and F&B Management will be informed and we trust that upon your next visit you will be able to enjoy an improved experience at our restaurant.

As a small tip for your next visit, we would like to recommend taking advantage of our special Spa offers. The Thalasso Thermal circuit, for instance, is currently available at €15 instead of €39 and if you book it together with your room, we do offer even better deals. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more information.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another pleasant stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Grand real is superb .
It's as the name says grand.
The reception itself is so inviting without being intimidating . It has a huge window that overloooks the pool and the ocean.
The rooms are everything you could want or expect from a 5star resort.
There is also villas scattered around if you don't want the hotel experience..
It's easy to get there . Many transfers company's on the Internet we dropped lucky with ours yellowish transfers com they are called . We found them easily in airport a young lady in yellow had our name on a yellow piece of paper welcomed us warmly , introduced to our driver in a yellow polo shirt who took us to our car with a fantastic smiley yellow fish on the side and then gave us a bottle of wait for it......... RED WINE..great service

Room Tip: dont actually think its relavent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your kind review about our Hotel and are very happy that you enjoyed every single aspect of your stay with us.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community and we look forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in late Dec. We managed to get a good deal on a studio apt. The hotel was tastefully decorated, comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. The studio apt. was very well equipped and comfortable. The apt was cleaned every day. The hotel led onto a very nice beach. The hotel courtesy bus was infrequent in Dec. but a taxi to the old town was only €5. We also visited the spa during our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kerrie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

As we already said, there is no bigger compliment than a returning guest and we are therefore really happy and proud that you are planning to visit us again.Please be assured that we will do our utmost to make your next stay with us as, or even more enjoyable, as your previous stay.

Thank you, also on behalf of our entire team, for your feedback and especially the kind comments about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3,162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
863 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing