We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alfagar Alto da Colina(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$402
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$583
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$1,701
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,415)
Filter reviews
3,415 results
Traveler rating
1,807
1,072
370
116
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,807
1,072
370
116
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubold townsanta eulaliasea view suitefish restaurantstar hotelprivate beachthe main hotellovely hotelhalf boardheated poolself cateringfree shuttleevening buffetbeach barlovely beachout of season
Filter
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 3,415 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

booked a garden view, the confirmation said village view but never checked. The room overlooked the car park with cars and buses going round a circular route in front of our room. No way can you sit on balcony with glass of wine.

It took 4 days with many reminders each day to have screw removed from floor of our bathroom. My wife nearly cut open her foot.

The room smelt of drains and took 3 days with many reminders to partly resolve- still there when left. One attempt by hotel left water with black bits all over our bathroom. My wife nearly fell over.

The restaurant - st eulalia- overcooked the vegetables, the fish was tasteless although maitre di assured me very much better that get in uk. Price would be reasonable if good quality . Maitra di very condesending- poorly handled.

The bed had a wooden base with mattress on top. Very hard and came back with Back ache.

Three pools- one child one kiddie and one adult . says fourth one which indoor one?

Location close to sandy beach very good. breakfast and service very good and what expect from 5X.

This is not five star quality hotel

Room Tip: all rooms not sea facing are over car park. room next to lift is noisy after repaired lift. I never eat in St Eulalia restaurant again - great fish restaurant close by.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We would like to apologise if the room was not in perfect conditions and, maybe even worse, that it took several attempts and reminders for the reported problems to be fixed. Please be assured that this does not correspond to our usual standards of service and that we will do our utmost to improve and avoid similar situations in the future.
We also regret if you felt that the Hotel gave misleading information. We always try to provide as correct and accurate information as possible in order to avoid any misunderstandings or disappointment. The designations used by you, Garden View or Village View, do both actually not exist and are both incorrect. The correct designation that you will find on our site, documentation, brochures etc. is either Sea View or Resort View. Should you have found anywhere, on the Internet or through an operator, another incorrect designation, please inform us where in order for us to request for it to be corrected. The pool description however, is correct, we have in fact 4 adults outdoor pools in our Resort, two in the main pool area in front of the Hotel and another two separate pool areas in the Resort. Plus, each one of these pool areas has a child pool, which equals a total of 4 adult and 3 children pools. We have no indoor pool however. The pool you were referring to is a Thalasso Thermal Circuit, which s not a leisure pool, but a treatment.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that you will contact us with more information about the room description.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel at the end of June 2012, this is really good standard family hotel, we went B&B and there is a huge choice at breakfast, the evening buffet in the main restaurant was of good quality but I felt was a little expensive. There is a fish restaurant which is excellent and a snack restaurant which is also of good quality however this is only open in the day, both of these have a beautiful outlook out to sea. The main pool area was good and there was never any issues getting sun beds, the pool bar is also good if you just want a sandwich and the staff are always friendly. Outside the Hotel and turn left there is a fifteen minute walk to the strip, la poetta restaurant is worth a visit otherwise its not the place for famalies avoid !! . If you turn right out of the hotel and walk for fifteen minutes or so there are a number of nice restaurants on the left, these are more suitable for families and the food is very good.
The only negative comment I would make was that on last few days of our stay there was the annual conference for the Eutopen Machine Tool Merchants Association, although there was only around 20 to 30 attendees they did take over the hotel somewhat and on our last night the main fish restaurant was closed to all guests other than their delegates which didn't leave us with many eating options as we wanted to stay at the hotel that night.

In summary a good quality family hotel with nice food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review.
We are really glad that you have had a pleasant stay and were impressed with the quality of food and service provided.

We regret that you haven’t been able to enjoy dinner on your last evening. All guests are equally important for us and we therefore try to make sure that, whenever we have a congress or meeting going on, it does not interfere with our holiday guests’ experience and avoid using available facilities for private functions, but if this is not avoidable for any reason, we ensure that other alternatives are available for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Santa Eulália and remain at your disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


João Máximo
Assistant Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have visited this hotel many times over the last 6 years and still love it! However over the last 2 years we have noticed minor changes that in my opinion make it a good 4* but definitely not 5*! The decor and grounds need addressing, the pool areas especially the Poente pool are in need of maintenance (lots of damaged decking and tiles missing in pool) the stone flooring walkways also have missing bricks. I agree with the comments about the room decor and know that they have been the same since opening the tv's should be replaced with flat screens and the wifi could do with improving. The pool towel system is terrible and has gone from help yourself, to swap for a card at the pool bar, to this year swap one card for a towel at reception (only 1 clean towel per guest per day) which is really not convenient if you are staying in the garden suites as you have to go back each day and swap. All that said, the staff are excellent, rooms spotlessly clean and the breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. Bar prices are expensive so if travelling with kids as we did get a garden suite and keep plenty in the fridge!! Will go back again but think some changes needs to made to bring it back up to its official rating.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Dangeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for your preference shown towards the Grande Real Santa Eulália over the last few years.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially the service provided by our team, but regret that you feel that the quality of the Resort has declined over the last few years. The Resort is 8 years old and some areas might begin looking “tired”, but we are constantly reviewing, inspecting and carrying out maintenance work in order to keep everything in good, clean and safe conditions. We would love to replace the televisions by flat screens, and it is in fact one of our top priorities, but considering that we have 344 rooms and some of them have several televisions, it is a huge investment that we are not able to undertake right now.
We also regret that you were not satisfied with the towel system. As you mention, we have in fact tried out several systems over the last few years. Initially, we had no control at all, but since guests took towels out to the beaches, parks etc, and didn’t return them, we had to implement some kind of control. We then introduced the towel cards that guests could swap for towels in several points of the resort, but since guests often tried to use different points for picking up towels and cards, we had several problems and no efficient control. That’s why we this year opted for one central point in the Hotel and so far the feedback has been mostly positive.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the 5th year I have been to this hotel and i will return next year. We go B&B and there is a huge array of choices. Rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. Reception and breakfast staff are lovely and friendly.Cant fault the place, would highly recommend. Location wise you do need a car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HC1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Grande Real Santa Eulália.
We are glad that you enjoyed your 5th stay with us as much as the previous ones and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were with our 6year old grandson and overall this hotel didn't disappoint, the staff in particular were excellent, both friendly and efficient. Rooms and facilities were adequate, breakfast and lunch at the pool cafe were good but dinner in both the main restaurants (we were half board) was poor. The quality of the food was poor and there was very little choice for young children, our grandson existed on bread and soup! I would rate it 4*ish

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maur2043630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but regret that you were not satisfied with the quality and choice of food, especially for your grandchild. We are not sure if you took advantage of it, but we do have a Kid’s Menu, which usually is very appreciated by the children, as it features a choice of children’s favourite dishes, like Pasta, Hamburgers etc. and we are sure that there would have been something that would have suited his taste too.
Also, the feedback regarding the Buffet and food in general has been mostly very positive, but we will pass your comments on to our Executive Chef.
We hope that we will still be able to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at our Resort and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews