We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Santa Eulalia. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful and always smiling. The hotel itself is very nice as well, the spa in particular is worth a visit but the prices for treatments are quite pricey. there are free activities every day, such as pilates, yoga, stretching, etc which were well carried out and a nice addition.

We loved the breakfasts everyday and there was a great selection of foods, cheeses, breads, cooked breakfasts and even champagne available. We were lucky as it was quite quiet but when it got busier at the weekend it was a bit tight around the breakfast buffet and tables were running out. I wouldn't want to be there in the height of summer.

The pool area and the beach were both really clean and well tended and there is even a little area for book swapping in the kids hut.

There were only 2 things we weren't so impressed with and that was the room themselves and the evening meals. While the room was spacious and comfy the carpet was worn in places where it looked like it had been bleached by something. It looked a bit shabby. Also the bathroom was nice enough but didn't feel 5 star. They did regularly replenish the toiletries though.

We only ate in the hotel one evening and the food was very average. There was no atmosphere in the restuarant and the service was slow and quite inattentive. The food itself was disappointing and we thought this was overpriced compared to some lovely meals we had locally.

All in all, a lovely trip which we thoroughly enjoyed and the staff were very friendly. We would recommend heading to nearby Villamora for a nice evening near the marina.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JennyH_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Although we are glad that your overall experience was an enjoyable one, we are disappointed that not everything was perfect, namely the rooms and the evening meals.
We sincerely regret if the service during dinner times was not up to our usual standards and not as quick as attentive as it should have been. We assure you that we will do our utmost to provide a high quality service and food at all times.
Regarding the rooms, we are pleased to inform you that we are continuously and gradually replacing the carpets of the room, which we have to admit is a Sisyphean task.
We also regret if you expected our prices for Spa treatments to be lower. We are not familiar with the prices of treatments in Hotels in other countries, but compared to other Hotels and Resorts of the area, our prices for treatments are on the same level, or often below the prices charged by our competitors. To make our Spa even more attractive, we also offer daily specials and discounts, as for instance our Happy Hour or two selected treatments at 50% off the regular price per day, and we join the Algarve Spa week, which takes place twice a year and during which the best Spa’s of the Algarve offer all massages at 50% off.
Thank you once again, also on behalf of the whole team, for your kind and considering comments about our Resort and especially about the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,268
    732
    245
    81
    30
See reviews for
884
910
43
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I m not going to write too much as its already been said this is a truly outstanding hotel in anybody' s book , a real treat .
We also chose a transfer we were very happy with yellowfishtransfers were good value ,nice vehicle and punctual.
The area is gorgeous beaches ,restaurants etc.
Convenience store s close by .
Would do it all again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you will happily return, which, in fact, is one of the biggest compliments a hotel can hope for.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an, hopefully, another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemini999
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Grande Real Sant Eulalia Spa Hotel for 1 week in early March in a studio apartment which is located behind the main hotel in 2 storey townhouses. The studio was decorated with lots of colour and a 'Mexican' feel to it but very pleasant. All the balconies faced the sun all day so it was lovely to sit on the balcony or terrace. The studios are all on the 1st floor and the bigger apartments are on the ground floor. It was very, very quiet when we stayed which suited us. The hotel was lovely. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Their spa and gym facilities seemed excellent, although we did not use them. There was a spacious swimming pool area in front of the hotel which overlooked the beach and all guests had easy access to the beach via a key locked door which was very handy. There is a beach cafe/bar called Cafe Bar Atlantico (seems linked to the hotel) just below the hotel which is very popular for lunch, snacks or breakfast. The beach is beautiful and very quiet out of season. Great place for walkers. The hotel provides a very good free shuttle bus service to Albuferia old town and new town 5 times a day which we thought was excellent. The main swimming pool is heated. We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality, peaceful location with very good facilities.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to get the sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemini999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

It is very gratifying for us to learn that you were completely satisfied with every aspect of your stay, from the accommodation to the facilities, location and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team and we sincerely thank you for your kind and detailed review.
There are just two minor points that we would like to clarify in order to avoid misunderstandings. As you mentioned, all Studios are located on the first floor of the buildings. The two-bedroom Resort Suites are also located on the first floors, so reserving a bigger Resort Suite does not automatically mean ground floor. Also most rooms get sun, but the rooms facing south, which in the case of the hotel main building would be the sea view rooms, get sun during a longer period than the rooms facing north. If a sunny room or balcony is very important for you and you are planning to stay in the Hotel main building, we would recommend reserving a seaview room.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to a sunny, relaxing and peaceful stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália Resort & Hotel SPA.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Santa Eulalia at a buyers conference and had a great time, I really enjoyed the hotel, even if I didn't get to try all of the facilities.
The entracne the hotel is amazing with a massive lobby with lots of glass, all very bright and welcoming, the reception staff handled the mass arrival of several coaches very well and I was quickly able to check into my room. I didn't have a sea view (my room looked directly onto the car park) but from what I was told the sea room views are definitely the place to be. The room itself was very comfortable, a lovely sized bed, that although a little hard for my tastes was comfortable enough. The room was clean and well stocked with dressing gowns and extra pillows. Although there was no kettle and coffee nor an iron.
Overall the decor looked a little tired almost like the fading glamour of the Brighton Grand, little chips of paint here and there and could probably do with a bit of a make over.
However, the staff throughout the hotel complex were exceptional, absolutely fantastic service everywhere I went, the food was good quality, the drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were friendly considerate and helpful.

All in all a very nice hotel that I hope to bring my wife back to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service and friendliness of our team.
It is a pity that you were not able to try all our facilities, but we hope that you will have more time available during your next visit with your wife. We hope that until then some of the points mentioned by you have been corrected. We are constantly carrying out maintenance works in our Hotel and Resort. Some of our Resort Suites for instance, have just been painted, and we have already scheduled further renovation works in some of our rooms for the weeks following Easter. There are no plans however to equip all our rooms by standard with kettles and irons, but these items are available upon request.
Thank you once again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcome you back, hopefully, soon.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Grande Real. I have to say that from start to finish it has been an absolutely fabulous experience. Although a small mix up on our suite on arrival, this was soon sorted and I have to say that Sovereign holidays were amazing. The staff and in particular the Kids Club staff were amazing. My 4 year old daughter just about had one on one attention, which she loved. The Spa is amazing and once again all the staff are wonderful. Your every need taken care of without the staff being too intrusive. We had the hotel just about to ourselves which was perfect. Our daughter had a fantastic time, made even better my her new little friend she met at the club and we also enjoyed the company of her parents as well.
All in all a truly wonderful holiday and we are in the process of booking to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate all reviews and comments, but, of course, it is especially gratifying for us to read a review from a guest that has spent the best holiday ever at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. Thank you very much for your kind and considering comments, also on behalf of our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year and hope that you and your daughter will enjoy your next stay with us as much as you did this time.


Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at this for a few nights during the month of August.
Room was a nice size and very comfortable.
The hotel is situated on the beach which was great considering most hotels in Albufeira require long walks to get to the beach.
Breakfast was included and they offered a great selection.
The hotel has a couple of bars onsite and is fairly tranquil and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great outdoor locations for a nice night out

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is very gratifying for us to read reviews from guests, and especially from those that enjoyed everything about their stay as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day to the Grande Real Santa Eulália.

Kind regards


Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 day break at the real santa. The Location was great, right on the beach. and the room was comfortable, although the carpets could be cleaner, and the sea view we paid for was blocked by a plant.

Breakfast was great, and we ate from the a la carte menu in the evening, and we enjoyed all our meals. i was disappointed with the kids menu, it was typical chicken nuggets and chips etc.

The kids enjoyed the kids club despite being the only kids in there.

We would like to go back to visit the real santa when it is a litle busier

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bas020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, General Manager at Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
We are glad that you and your kids have had an enjoyable stay at the Grande Real Santa Eulália. We hardly receive feedback from children and therefore we were especially pleased to learn that yours had a good time at the Realito Kid’s Club. It is a pity though, that they were the only children in the Realito. Outside the normal school holidays, the number of children in our Resort is quite low, but since you are planning to revisit us during a busier period, we are quite sure that the number of children will also be higher and your children will be able to play with other kids and make new friends at the Kid’s Club.
During the high season, we also have an increased choice of meals for children, since we do not only have the regular Kid’s Menu, but also have a special Buffet for children available in the main restaurant. But, even during the low season, we are able to offer alternatives to the Kid’s Menu, which we must agree is a typical Kid’s menu with standard dishes, which unfortunately are the most requested ones. We tried to offer other, healthier options in our very first Kid’s Menu, but the demand for these dishes was so low, that we had to adapt our Kid’s Menu and include the standard dishes, as Chicken Nuggets, Fish Fingers, etc. . However, we can always prepare other dishes, as long as they are ordered in advance. Just contact our Executive Chef or Headwaiter, who will be pleased to assist you.
We are sorry if the carpet in your room did not seem to be clean. Pease be assured that all our carpets are vacuumed and washed regularly. Unfortunately, there are stains that cannot be removed, even though we tried several products and techniques, but we are very pleased to inform you that the carpets are gradually being replaced. We also regret that you were not completely satisfied with your sea view, which honestly surprised us. The Hotel building lies only a few metres above the Santa Eulália Beach and there are no major obstacles between the building and the beach, therefore all rooms designated as sea view should offer a relatively unobstructed view. However, if you prefer a room located in another area or floor, please do mention it during your next booking and we will try to have your request and preferences in consideration.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards



Lourenço Ribeiro
General Manager
Hotéis Real Algarve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 154 in Albufeira
3,151 reviews
2.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa

Property: Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
Address: Praia de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort And Hotel Spa
Santa Eulalia Portugal
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing