We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian cuisine!!”
Review of Giania

Giania
Ranked #146 of 855 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come to GIANIA for a thin-crust wood-fired pizza made from scratch with the freshest local ingredients. The pizza base and the tomato sauce are made with the highest quality olive oil. Our repeat customers tell us that it is wonderful to enjoy a little piece of Italy in the lovely setting of the Algarve. Come see it for yourself- a lovely outdoor seating area where you can indulge in pizza, beer, sangria and wine. You may prefer an air conditioned inside space with some very lively music. Come for Pizzas, Pastas, Italian desserts and wonderful Alentejo wines! Our best selling house Pizza is topped with fresh peppery rocket salad leaves on a bed of mozzarella & cherry tomatoes. We also serve different types of Pastas, and not to mention, our home made Tiramisu and Pannacota for dessert. GIANIA is located in Albufeira near the bullring. It is opposite the old globe(water fountain) round about. There is parking at the back of the restaurant. Come give GIANIA a try and experience it first-hand, Thank you.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited this brand new restaurant on our last holiday and were absolutly surprised.
Never did we had such honest, pure en well balanced dishes in an Indian restaurant before.
The hospitallity of the owner provided a wonderfull service with a well meant smile and interesting facts about his menu. For instance, he told me that not only every dish is freshly prepared daily (!), but also that they use olive oil. Wich was absolutly noticeable by the delicate flavours and non greassy starters like; onion baiji, samosa's, the naan bread and the wonderfull, mouthwatering sauces of each main dish!!
Tender meats and delicious wines combined with a very aromatique white rice (and try the one with a mix of spices and herbs) and your feast may begin!!
Also very suitable for the non pepper eaters, most dishes can be made to your liking. But I advise you to take the owners advise on the spices required, because this will give you the best flavour sensation!!!
Therefor my headline: Best Indian 'Cuisine', because it is cuisine!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thankyou, much appreciated, hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having walked passed a few times we ventured inside to be delighted with excellent food and great service. At first we were a little put off as it seemed very quiet but don't let that stop you. We experienced the best Tikka Masala and Lamb Jalfrezi we have had in a long time. Everything was cooked fresh and we were able to say how spicy we would like it. The service was good and we felt it was very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank s_j_gibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thankyou, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On recommendation we dined at Giania last week and were simply wowed by the superb service by the owner, the quality of the fresh tasting food and the value for money, half the price of other Indian restaurants nearer the strip. Highly recommended......the tikka starter and sangria is a must. We will most certainly revisit. Rp from London

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pancho_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow we were very impressed by this Indian. We passed it a few times and eventually decided to give it a go and are very happy we did! The menu is small but only as they cook everything fresh and especially for you. The food was very fresh tasting and delicious. Everything we had we could not fault and the owner went out his way to please. I asked for a spicier chilli sauce to have with our poppadoms which was no problem...and it was certainly more spicy! Please don't be put off by the small menu as you won't be disappointed! We will definitely be back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I walked passed Giania and did not give it a second look, on the way back, which was at a considerably slower pace it caught our eye so we had a quick look and decided to come back in the evening for dinner, one of our better decisions, the food was fresh and exquisite, highly recommend you eat there and the staff are friendly and informative, thanks for the great food and a lovely evening, Tina & Jerome Chandiram

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JeromeC0563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilesh d, Owner at Giania, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks alot, really appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giania also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Giania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing