We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Group Ride

Had a very enjoyable ride out round the local area today with a good group of people. Cafe stop... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JBIRJOO
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Cycling the Southern Coast of Portugal

I recently completed a 5-day solo cycling trip across the southern Portuguese coast from Vila Real... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
938rr
,
Madrid, Spain
Read all 218 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Albufeira
from $31.67
More Info
from $31.13
More Info
from $32.21
More Info
from $31.94
More Info
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
200
12
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
12
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy tour great group enjoyable ride southern coast marc cyclists route mtb countryside algarve roads tours capabilities saddle alte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 218 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

I made 3 magnificent tours (between 70km and 110km per day) in Algarve with this company. Outstanding guiding by Marco, a local specialist speaking English like a native of London. Excellent quality of the rented E-MTB that I kept for a week. I highly recommend the services of this company.

Claude

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 559dumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

Mark was an excellent tour guide, friendly, very knowledgeable, enjoyed the bike tour would highly recommend

1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

Booked on to the central Algarve east bike tour 03/04/18.

Good parts: Booked via a tourist information office the day before but they fitted me in even at this short notice. Trip included collection from hotel by guide who was very prompt and professional as he was throughout our bike tour. He tailored the tour to suit the abilities of all the riders.

Bad parts: Once out on the road it became apparent that the bike supplied (a Scott road bike) was very poorly maintained, chain and cassette were so badly worn I could only use 2 or 3 gears as the chain jumped out of all the others...not ideal on the hilly terrain! In addition the headset was loose causing unpleasant judder on breaking.

Despite the very knowledgeable and professional staff I would not recommend the business simply because of the poorly maintained bike...There are several other hire centres nearby which no doubt would be worth trying.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 343sdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

We chose the Costs & Hills package with Algarve Bike Tour for our first overseas cycling travel in April 2018. Weather was perfect to cycle. A little cold in the morning, but almost sunny everyday (2hours of rain in total).

We greatly appreciated our experience and service with this assisted package. From the beginning to the end of the trip, Fred was our contact point. When we wrote to him after day 2 because I had a mechanical issue with the bike I rented from them, he did not hesitate to pick the bike at the end of the day and gave it to me back fixed the next morning.

All the hotels we stayed at were perfectly located in the main areas. All clean and very welcoming for cyclists.

We consider ourselves as average experience cyclists. Roads predefined by the company were just enough difficult/fun for a day trip, but spinning and home trainer all winter long were mandatory to be real prepared. The whole experience is well balanced, with a very nice break after Day 3 before the challenging climbing Day 4. Also, the most challenging parts of the routes are in the first half of the day, so you can enjoy the downhill at the end. Because most of the routes are in rural areas, we highly suggest to be enough proficient with general bike mechanic in case of any issues.

We strongly recommand Algarve Bike Tour for the great service we had. Even before arriving, they were fast to answer our multiple questions. They were always on time for the various transfers and our luggages were arrived before us at different the hotels.

A challenging experience for cycling lovers seaking to push their limits!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank NoemiR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Algarve Bike Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Noemi,

Thanks for your review, i am very pleased to hear that you have had a good time here .

Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Had Marc Gomes as guide, along with another Britt we headed out for a four hour ride. The riding was superb - lovely smooth roads and very quiet - Marc was a great guide very informative and great at encouraging me to carry on to the top! 1390m of ascent we were greeted with the usual cloud and howling wind but a great sense of achievement!

A great day out and looking forward to another trip with Marc next week!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Palmer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Algarve Bike Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it !

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews