We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Group Ride

Had a very enjoyable ride out round the local area today with a good group of people. Cafe stop... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JBIRJOO
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Cycling the Southern Coast of Portugal

I recently completed a 5-day solo cycling trip across the southern Portuguese coast from Vila Real... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
938rr
,
Madrid, Spain
Read all 218 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Albufeira
from $31.67
More Info
from $31.13
More Info
from $32.21
More Info
from $31.94
More Info
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
200
12
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
200
12
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy tour great group enjoyable ride southern coast marc cyclists route mtb countryside algarve roads tours capabilities saddle alte
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 218 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Had Marc Gomes as guide, along with another Britt we headed out for a four hour ride. The riding was superb - lovely smooth roads and very quiet - Marc was a great guide very informative and great at encouraging me to carry on to the top! 1390m of ascent we were greeted with the usual cloud and howling wind but a great sense of achievement!

A great day out and looking forward to another trip with Marc next week!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Palmer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Algarve Bike Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi,

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it !

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We wanted to hire bikes for our 7 day holiday in Albufeira. Algarve Bike Holidays were the first to respond, and provided us with 2 excellent bikes and a full complement of kit (inner tubes, tools etc) that not all bike hire companies provide!
The staff (Angela McQueen & colleagues) were polite, helpful and made the experience extremely professional.
We took part in a guided ride with Marc Gomes (altebike@gmail.com) and enjoyed a fantastic, challenging day on the bike. We were looked after the entire time, but had a freedom to enjoy the scenery and the route. Thank you Marc!!

If you’re new to cycling in the Algarve, go to this company, and take advantage of their first class service. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank damiang833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at Algarve Bike Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Hi Damian,

Thanks for your favourable review, much appreciated .

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Excellent day out. This was our first experience of a guided ride in the Algarve. Marc our guide was able to show us lots of hidden countryside and trails as well as a welcome cafe for coffee and pastry en-route.

Would definitely recommend this company and plan to use them again for another ride when we visit next year.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank 681job
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018

Marco was the tour guide- great guide, very friendly and in excellent shape ! I quite enjoyed the tour , good variety .

As well, a very client oriented organization, Paul was very quick to answer my email.

Very good bikes, i would recommend, and i wished i had stayed longer

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank PierreMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017

We rented bikes in low season ( which was last beginning of November), and everything went great. We booked 2 roadbikes a week before which were ready when we arrived. The bikes were very good to travel 5 days. We went up the Monchique through little villages and we didn't have any problems with any of our bikes. We rented some bicycle-bags which were high quality to prevent our stuff from dirt and rain, but (long live Portugal) there was not any rain.
Although we paid more using two bikes to travel the Algarve (i Think 5 days 170 euro something with te bags), than using a car (without gas), i think it's worth while to travel by bike through the landscape and little villages. It is absolutely lovely! The roads are not really good, but it is doable.
Just remember the Monchique is a hard way up ;).
Thank You to Fred and the lovely woman, who also took care of our things meanwhile we were bicycling a few days. The Belgian, and the Dutch one. :) Barrie en Inès

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank ineese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews