We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,425)
Filter reviews
1,425 results
Traveler rating
1,132
216
54
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,132
216
54
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open deck al quimia bluum bar epic experience abyad restaurant garden suite turn down service nespresso machine beautiful hotel half board family pool pine trees private access pool staff kids club evening buffet beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,425 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Our rooms were fantastic and the resort seemed very peaceful for quite a large place - it has lots of different pools and areas so people are spread out. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

The facilities are top notch - pools, spa, gym, buffet looked amazing etc. There's a little village outside the front too with a supermarket, little bars and restaurants.

The path down to the beach and outskirts of the resort have been left beautifully unspoilt and offer some romantic 4-poster sunlounging spots.

We did the yoga and fitness programmes without realising they include a massively restricted calorie controlled diet (I just wanted to do yoga!). The food was great though but I wouldn't recommend it in this location as you are surrounded by 'normal' holidaymakers which makes it a lot tougher! They run a great programme of fitness and cultural activities you can dip in and out of anyway!

It's not cheap but you are certainly well looked after!

Room tip: Avoid bungalows near the main entrance - your view would be of the road with limited direct sunlight.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chyono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

We went back to the EPIC Sana hotel after a two years break. We were very cuirous if the quality would be the same. It is! Booking a pool view room and telling our wishes bevor arrival - everything went perfect. They noticed them.

We have been welcomed after a very early flight with our breakfast and our holidays started from the first moment on after check in. The room was ready very quickly before check-in time. But anyway, they offered us to stay at the pool area while waiting. Top grade to the reception-team during all the time:-)

Breakfast was very extensive with our own created smoothy every day. The buffet was so wide that you could try each day different food during the whole week. Only one minus: at one day there was a nearly complete other breakfast service team working. As a guest you realise that this team was working worse than expected.

To the pool area: Very clean area with plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas und towels. The staff was helpful at any time.

Room: Spaceous room, designer furniture and a very lovely bath with raindance shower. Balcony is very nice. The room was very clean at all the time, nice and plenty of small gifts. I like the Nespresso-Machine, too. Service was careful - good staff! Only the programs in the TV are strange. More than 40 programs and during our first days not the main German channels ARD or ZDF - that was hard during the first days at the FIFA World Cup.

Hotel area is very well groomed with lovely gardens and a good marketing idea with a love-tree for guests.

We had some drinks at the bar. It´s nice there but to my mind it´s too expensive.

Sports program was twice a day with different courses. I did some exercises and used the gym. Really good.

We will come again for sure! We had a perfect holiday week there.

If you like my comment, please like it!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

I like this place, but will outline the pro’s and cons in bullets for easy reading:

Pro’s
—great location. Right up from a gorgeous beach. Hard to get close to a beach in the Algarve.
—people are lovely
—it’s nice and central between Faro, Albufeira, Lagos, Villamoura. Everything you wanna do is accessible from here (other than surfing which is at least an hour away best case).
—concierge is solid, good options for various interests
—Algarve is a magical, magical place!!! I think this is one of the nicer hotels in he area
—laid out nicely, rooms are well sized, nice views
—we got to transfer from Algarve to Lisbon hotel at no charge. Amazing. That was very cool of them and that’s kind of their vibe.
—The hotel staff really want to make you happy. Can’t say enough about them. Young, good looking and sweet. Best feature!

Cons
—tiles missing from the pool. That’s kind of janky.
—restaurants aren’t great. One of the two nicer ones is closed two days a week, isn’t terribly well appointed or charming, kind of “meh”. The other one has great food but is situated in the residences area. Again no charm. Restaurants have no ambience here. Go to Yakuza for dinner. Insane! But the whole restaurant sitch needs to be re thought. As a priority. IMHO.
—little things here and there like valet situation isn’t terribly well organized. Waited one night for almost 20 mins to get my car. We went to Lisbon’s Epic Sana and had an even worse time w valet. No one greets you at the driveway. Kind of shocking actually. They desperately need to fix this basic function.
—rooms and hallways could use a bit of updating. I wouldn’t call this a charming hotel. It wants to be modern. Either be all in on modern or try and charm it up. Colors are typical Portugal. Kind of funky greens and so forth. Lime perhaps.
—pool temps are very cold. Too cold. If there’s wind, you’re not gonna be in the pool.
—they could use a beach club. You walk to the beach a pretty long way, and there are a billion people there, no hotel setup there, you’re on your own. They need to sort this out.
—you can sit at the pool for 30 mins and not get towel service or food or drink offered. Need to staff up there and the staff can be more attentive poolside.

BUT, I would recommend it! If you want Algarve, I had a really hard time finding a good place that’s walking distance to a good beach (I think by design they keep the beaches pristine and hotels are set way back), and I definitely characterize this hotel as a good place w good people working here. Just think they need to re think the dining setup and tighten little things like pool tile and pool temp and silly things like that. Maybe a makeover in the hallways. Again, a solid facility. Algarve is so magical, and it’s the best option here so unless you’re a total hotel snob, this place is a very good option in a country that’s climbing the economic curve kind of awkwardly. So you’re not gonna get Four Seasons here, at least not yet. And when you do, there goes the authenticity. Gotta keep it all in perspective, people.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank andrewgprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Hotel is beautiful and our room was very nice - Thank you Anastacia! We loved the little bunnies in the garden and birds. Very quiet around. easy access to the beach though be ready for the steps! Breakfast was nice though I was expecting more fish cuts as some people do not eat meat, but again staff was very nice and provided me every day salmon cuts. In the kids pool was little hassle and would be probably better if its guarded by the hotel staff as some people forgot that they are not alone and misbehaved. All in all was very nice!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nypytiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

83/5000
Hotel with good rooms and with space, very good breakfast, good coffee, and great quality.
A especial thanks to Tiago and Miguel, very good service and simpaty.
The ideal for those looking for a quiet place with a good view and close to the beach.

Room tip: good suites i recomend.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank markjamesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews