We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still has room for improvement.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
Ranked #1 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Still has room for improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I came to this hotel looking for a 5-stars experience in the Algarve region. Hotel-wise, it is nice with a clean-modern design that might not appeal to everyone's taste. Staff was very friendly and helpful, as you'd expect from a 5-star hotel.

However, we had some bad experience -

In the spa, I had a facial, which was really a waste of my time and money (it wasn't very professional, to say the least - no manual work but only application of various facial masks) and was eventually refunded.
Dinner was really bad - refunded for one meal (meat was not chewable). Ordered a tuna dish - fish was not very fresh, and the clams it was served with were not fresh and I had to throw up later that night. Even with the dessert - the nuts were sour and stale.

The room is very much -NOT- soundproofed. We were awaken from our sleep in the morning to hear the person in the room above ours walk with heeled shoes, which was really upsetting.

We received a nice room upgrade to have a view as the hotel occupancy was rather empty (off-season).

To sum it up - There is still room for improvement. If you are seeking that "luxury" feeling, perhaps this is not the place (more "modern"/"chic" than luxury)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WhisperEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    109
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
207
364
24
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We choose Epic Sana having read lots of good reviews on Tripadvisor and cannot recommend it highly enough! We visited in early Jan so it was fairly quiet, which was great as we wanted a relaxing break. As others have said the hotel is new, spotless and stylish. It was our first 5 star experience and certainly seemed to tick all the boxes - valet parking, amazing food, lovely spa and gym facilities, turndown service (with chocolates on our pillows and slippers left out for us). We found all of the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. They were always very attentive and more than happy to recommend local places to visit. There were a few things that really stood out as exceptional. The yoga and pilates classes were of a very high standard and as the hotel was quite I had individual tuition many of the days. We attended a cooking class with Head Chef Luís Mourão who then invited us to dine with him that evening, and every evening thereafter greeted us in the restaurant. The fine dining restaurant manager Daniel, hosted a lovely wine tasting evening and was a lovely genuine character throughout our stay. On our final day we missed a cookie making workshop with the pastry chef as we had to leave for our flight. It was a lovely surprise on check-out when we were given a goodie bag with mini cookies and macaroons to make up for missing the class.
A recent review mentioned that there wasn't direct access onto the beach, which isn't correct. There is a walkway from the hotel directly to the beach which only takes about 3 mins, we didn't see this as an issue at all but maybe for people with young children this is more of a hassle. The beach was really quite during our visit and was great for runs and walks.
Overall the hotel made us feel special, we don't know if they just loved us or make everyone feel that way, but it was a great experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SineadOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Brand new resort with very nice rooms and quite enjoyable public areas. Friendly staff although in need of a little bit more training. Not having a direct exit to the beach is a negative point for all those who want to come and go to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid-A00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I chose the Epic Sana for a romantic New Years Eve getaway and the whole experience from start to finish was exceptional! We arrived very late and our bags had been whisked away before I had even stepped out from the taxi! Check in was super efficient and they even insisted we had a drink in the bar before we completed the check in as it was nearly closing time which after a long day was very welcome! Our room was fabulous with all the usual amenities that previous reviewers have mentioned. The bathroom is a little strange with the sliding partitions and while we as a couple were fine, it would be lacking in privacy for some people. One thing to note is the rainfall shower is prone to flooding the bathroom quite easily but there is no shortage of towels so it's not really an issue. The balcony comes supplied with table and chairs and a sun lounger which if we had have had better weather would have been fantastic! Breakfast each morning was superb, freshly made omelettes, baked goods, fruit, the list is endless. I also indulged in a glass of cava on the first morning for an extra special touch! We ate in the hotel restaurant on our last night and it was perhaps the finest meal we had throughout our stay, the rack of lamb was so soft it melted in the mouth! We opted for a couples spa treatment on New Years Day and spent a few lovely relaxing hours enjoying the pool and thermal suites topped off by reflexology - bliss! One thing to note is that the robes supplied by the hotel are TINY, something which the staff acknowledged is an ongoing problem so best to bring your own if this continues! I cannot say enough good things about the staff, they were courteous and welcoming at all times and really went out of their way to make you feel valued. Will we back? Absolutely!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank creagh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a hotel that more than exceeded our expectations. A modern, low rise, sophisticated hotel with every comfort. Superb for a relaxing holiday with a wonderful outdoor, indoor and well-being pool. From the time that we arrived to the time that we left we received excellent service and attention, the staff were very professional but friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We can't thank them enough for making this an exceptional weekend away. We had a superb room and what a big and comfortable bed it was. Room service was fantastic and clean towels twice a day. The air conditioning was virtually silent. The ultra modern bathroom with its sliding walls took a little getting used to, fantastic rain and power shower and a big bath...even the toilet roll matched the wall tiling. Large free to use safe in the room had a socket to charge a laptop that would fit inside. Must admit didn't use the Nespresso machine, a kettle and supply of free teabags, coffee sachets and milk would suffice. WiFi was free throughout the hotel and two Apple PCs were available for guest use. Superb food and an excellent menu prepared by talented chefs. Delightful setting, with its own stairs down to the beach...probably the best view and beach on the Algarve. Some shops and restaurants nearby. p.s. they made my birthday extra special and I was very touched by the good wishes I received throughout the day, the birthday cake and champagne.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We simply loved our stay in the Epic Sana.
Service was great, the room (we had a room with sea view on the 4th floor) and especially the bed was lovely and just the whole ambiance and premises are great.
True, we were there for the long weekend of November so definitely not in the high season meaning that the hotel was far from full, but we had a wonderful relaxing experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReizendeRoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a business trip for 4 days,in a great location and close to the sea,i had a great room,with balcony also a kitchen area with every thing you need,two tv set's and a radio system. Also a great shower room. The hotel has all you need to have a relaxing time and close to the shops and bars. so overall great place and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
7.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
10.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Porto Bay Falesia
Porto Bay Falesia
#3 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence
Pine Cliffs Residence
#10 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#2 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel

Property: EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#1 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located overlooking Falésia Beach (Albufeira), the EPIC SANA Algarve has 162 Bedrooms, 24 Resort Suites and 43 spacious Apartments with a modern design, complemented by up-to-date amenities and the latest generation technology. A large SPA, 5 outdoor swimming pools and an indoor swimming pool, Kid’s club, Baby Club, multi-sport court, three restaurants, two bars and a snack-bar next to the swimming pools, are some of the facilities on offer at the EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel. With 1.848m2 of meeting rooms and more than1,000m² of outdoor areas, the Congress Centre of the EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel will be a reference point for congresses and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel Albufeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing