We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of KR Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KR Hotels
Ranked #9 of 30 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We wished we had stayed elsewhere! On the plus side, the location is very good (a few minutes to the Strip and about 10-15 minutes to the old town) and the reception/bar area is very modern and clean.

The rooms are furnished in a "funky" fashion (and the bathroom was nice) but overall the room felt cheap and nasty. The bed was like sleeping on lumpy concrete. I've slept in many hotel beds over the years, both hard, soft, small and huge, but this was definitely the worst bed ever. To be fair the price was very cheap, but it just wasn't worth the discomfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoVacancies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
11
85
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel, perfect location, staff were so nice. have told all our friends about it and will definatly be back again.Hada most amazing holiday from check-in all the way through to check out, Overall 10 out of 10. Thank You

Mr and Mrs Ryan
Ireland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidays r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was part of a group of six staying for a weekend in Oct. Loved it:

Hotel: Good location near new town - walk about 5-7 mins and your on the start of the strip. Rooms were clean, modern and simple. The best rooms are at the corner as you get a large balcony. There is no lifts and the stairs are a little dark but we didn't mind. Poll is small but prefect as the hotel does not hold that much

Staff are lovely and would do anything for you.


Food:
Bakery is round the corner near fat cats - worth every penny
Old town - all you can eat ribs at Shaloma 2 is gorgeous you will love it


Bars:
All good craic nicest cocktails were in wild and co and a blue something bar

Overall great hotel, clean, very modern, great location and lovely staff
Bad points - stairs only (only 3 level so fine for anyone fit enough)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from KR Hotels Albufeira Lounge, which is a small (20 bedrooms) almost brand new hotel/bed and breakfast. We absolutely loved the modern, contemporary design and decor of the hotel.
The rooms are basic but this is their design, bathrooms are lovely with powerful hot shower and there is a table and chairs on the balcony. They are also cleaned every day, with a towel change every day.
Hotel is in a great position with the strip of bars and clubs to the left and a less than 10 minute walk and the old town with its hundreds of lovely restaurants and bars to the right and a 15 minute walk. There is a beach about a 7 minute walk to the right of the hotel where you can hire sunbeds at 5 euros each and they offer 25% off food and 50% off drinks at the beach bar/restauarant with your sunbed ticket. There is also a supermarket a 5 minute walk to the right and then second right at the roundabout. The "noddy" tourist train also picks up at this roundabout which takes you from the strip to the old town, but a taxi is only 3.90 euros from or to the hotel to the old town. We walked most of the time as the walk is lovely on the way there (downhill) and good to walk off all the food on the way back (uphill).
The breakfast included in the room rate is continental, which includes tea, coffee, peach juice, cereal, assorted bread, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cake and a toaster if you want toast. Cheers bar, a 1 minute walk to the left of the hotel sells English breakfast cheaply if you want a cooked breakfast and there is a lovely restaurant a 2 minute walk to the right of the hotel (past cheers bar) called Festa Da Praia which serves lunch and dinner, is very reasonably priced, serves delicious food, the owner is very helpful and friendly and has a play area for kids.
The staff at this hotel are friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were given a map and directions to all the local facilities and were allowed to have breakfast in bed one morning and a takeaway in our room one evening when we were too lazy to go out.
The swimming pool is small but relaxing and peaceful even with the traffic from the main road, we had the pool to ourselves the first 2 days and then never more than 8 people at once and always sunbeds available.
There is no lift, which wasnt a problem to us as there is only 3 floors but could cause problems to less able or those travelling with young children and pushchairs etc.
We loved Albufeira Lounge and Albufeira and will definately go back to both!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gems78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 12 days. Check-in was very quick, receptionist gave us a map of Albufeira and as well she told us the locations of beaches and restaurants etc. We got nice room with balcony. Our room was cleaned every day. Hotel is well situated, close to beaches, close to new town and close to old town. Staff was always friendly and very helpful. The only thing i would improve would be continental breakfast - a little bit more choice would be lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dzejn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#40 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#61 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KR Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KR Hotels

Property: KR Hotels
Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Albufeira 8200-261, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KR Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your KR Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KR Hotels Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing