We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find ! Great Restaurant !”

A Cozinha do Chefe Matos
Ranked #190 of 920 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have tried many restaurants in the Alfufeira area and after reading the reviews on TA decided to give it a go. This restaurant has to be up there with the very best in Albufeira the food is very good with a slight 'fine dining' feel to the way they are presented with the usual decorations on the plate. I opted for the Veal tower special that consisted of several slices of veal on top of a slice of grilled pineapple and topped of with a large prawn and a drizzle of cheese sauce - different & supurb ! All of the others in the party of ten people were in agreement that their meals were of the best ones in all of the different restaurants that we used during the week. If you try this place you won't be dissappointed as the food is excellent !

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BurlingtonBobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 273 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had great mussels with a bisque type sauce, black pork with presunto and mushrooms in a Madeira sauce.. great lambchops, curry and almonds.

This was one of the best meals we have had in Portugal. Service was prompt and of a high standard also. Friendly staff. A few pratos do dias as well (daily offers/dishes).

This is off the tourist track a bit but well worth it IMO.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adoran45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant is situated about midway between Praia da Oura and the N125. Not the most scenic of locations, but the restaurant itself is smart, attractive and clean and the food is very good. The service is excellent - the staff take care to ensure you understand the choices with the menu and to provide you with what you would like.
The cooking is extremely competent both with fish and meat dishes. Portions are generous and prices competitive.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor, not the last one though as I have no idea what they were talking about! We had not booked and the restaurant was fully booked with two large parties, however when they realised we had arrived by taxi they immediately brought a table in from outside and set it up for us.
The waitress was incredibly helpful and we took her recommendations for the starters, garlic prawns, she told us that two portions would be plenty for 3 and she was right, they were filling and delicious. All our of us had fillet steaks in various sauces for our main courses which were served with a selection of vegetables, rice and proper chips! We could not manage a dessert as the steaks were so huge but they were fantastic!
The staff were so friendly and welcoming and they made plenty of time for us in spite of being so busy and even having to cope with a power cut. We will definitely return to this wonderful restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4SmithsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Even if it looks clean inside and the menu is not badly priced, service lacks the attention you would expect in a decent restaurant. The food choice is ok, but if you are here as a tourist, you would expect more traditional dishes, rather than what you can get in any restaurant around the corner from where you live.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gabriel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cozinha do Chefe Matos also viewed

 

Been to A Cozinha do Chefe Matos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing