We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Ranked #70 of 755 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Occasional live music on selected nights provides a harmonious backdrop to your overall dining experience. Dishes include meats, fish, seafood and vegetarian options. Our newly opened ROOFTOP CHAMPAGNE & COCKTAIL BAR provides an elegant space to enjoy sunset cocktails and spectacular sea and Marina views. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a fantastic meal at this great restaurant. We met a couple from Manchester who recommended it and they were not wrong. After a warm welcome, we chose the Goats cheese and beetroot salad and the huge prawns to start, followed by the sea bass and black pig. We were not "doing " pudding until we witnessed them arriving at other tables - cheesecake and chocolate brownie were delicious. Great view, staff and amazing food gives the restaurant a very well deserved 5 *****!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam21Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    89
    40
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, delicious and classy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very impressed with this restaurant - have been before and even better than first time. Beautiful setting - we had a drink in the outdoor seating area while checking out the menu and enjoying the fabulous view. Food was delicious and beautifully presented, as high a quality as any top restaurant back home. Service was a little slow at times (took ages to get bill) but to be fair they were very busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIbby653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you returned. On this occasion it seems that serevice was not as good as it should have been and for this we apologize. We do hope that your experience was not affected too much by this. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puteaux, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Pretty disappointed to have to wait 45 mins for a table and then find restaurant was half empty, so not a good start.

Starters were ok, but mains were excellent. Desserts were so so.

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry that you had to wait for a table. Whilst we appreciate that it may appear that tables are available we operate a reservations policy that gives customers an opportunity to secure a table by calling to make a booking. Where necessary this means holding a table for a customer for a lengthy time to ensure that they are accommodated. Often guests for what ever reason are unable to arrive for their reservation and after a reasonable time we then give the table away. I can only assume that this may have been the reason for you being seated at a previously unoccupied table. To avoid delays in being seated we recommend that you make a reservation.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Castelo do Mar and hope that your experience was not spoiled too much by having to wait to be seated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Back again and this place never disappoints.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Back to alburufra, and mainly just for this restaurant. Love the atmosphere, and the views from the terrace are superb. Again the food never disappoints and combined with excellent service 10/10 does not do it justice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will once again visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fantastic service, lovely staff, great music, superb value and an unbelievable view. But most of all the food was so tasty and delicious - so much so that you could lick your plate clean! A restaurant which should definitely be your number one place to eat in Albufeira! Unreal

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AisQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A, Owner at Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your review and the information contained in it will assist others to make a decision when considering dining with us and we greatly appreciate the additional custom that this may help to generate for us. On behalf of the team at Castelo do Mar, we thank you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing