We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place & Great Views”

Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante
Ranked #75 of 810 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perhaps one of the most beautiful restaurants in Albufeira, Castelo do Mar boasts unique sea and Marina views, outside terraces and a relaxed ambience in an elegant setting. Our ecletic menu offers dishes of meats, fish, saeafood and vegetarian. Our ROOFTOP CHAMPAGNE & COCKTAIL BAR provides an elegant space to enjoy sunset cocktails and spectacular sea and Marina views before or after dining or for relaxing drinks only. An ideal venue for all occasions. If you have taken the time to write a review and we have not responded to it please accept our apologies. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to do so and offer our sincere thanks.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place & Great Views”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We walked all over to find a good restaurant one night of our holiday (the old town full of tourist traps) and found nothing. We resorted to picking a restaurant off trip advisor and it could not have worked out better for us!

Set above the Marina with views of the sea, we where greeted by a door man who open our taxi for us and we sat right by the window inside (as it was cold and raining!) The atmosphere was relaxed and a great escape from the 'brits abroad' feel of the old town. Staff where fantastic, friendly and even shared a little bit of banter. Decor inside was modern - only down side was as it was raining so the outside area was a no go :( This would have been fabulous to sit outside if it was a nice evening.

The food really was fantastic, we had starter which involved the largest slice of bread for a brushetta i've ever seen but was really tasty. I had the fish curry which was really filling and a large portion and I was only disappointed that I really couldn't finish it all! There was plenty of prawns and fish in it too, my partner had the pork dish which he scoffed in minutes so that was a good sign. He did say that it did not seem a large portion (he eats large portions usually) but he was definitely full after dessert!

We would definitely go to this restaurant again hopefully on a warmer evening next time to enjoy the terrace and drink more wine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vmoore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    95
    42
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited twice during our holiday as the food was so amazing cooked by an English chef (called Tristian I think). The restaurant isn't particularly big but still has a nice vibe and atmosphere. The staff we had couldn't have made us feel more welcome and relaxed they clearly enjoy what they do. Finding this place made our visit to The Algarve worth while. It's positioned by the Marina so has a beautiful setting. If you like good food you must eat here. Would highly recommend it and would certainly eat there again. Thank you for such a lovely experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Regency11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected stop but had a fab meal!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped off here last night after a walk to the marina and can honestly say it was one of the nicest meals we have had on holiday. Great atmosphere and staff were very nice. Definately go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb food and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Personable staff. Superb chef. Chic décor and relaxed atmosphere. The compact menu was full of inventive dishes and encouraged me to try new ingredients. Everyone from John who greets you to Yohan, Paul & Ian who service the dining & bar area were very friendly and professional. We ate here 4 times which speaks volumes for the menu. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummie615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we found this place sooner”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a group of 10 adults (mostly couples) we decided to try and have a nice meal for our last night. After scouring TripAdvisor I stumbled across Castelo do Mar. A quick phone call reserved our table quickly. Once we arrived by taxis we were greeted by a very pleasant gentleman in a green blazer we were early so we had options of having a drink in the inside lounge (which is very stylish, almost Morrocan) or outside on the terrace. We stayed out on the terrace, had some delicious red and white sangria as we looked over the Marina and watched the sun set over the hills. The menu was perfect (possibly too good, as I could have ate everything!) a good selection of dishes including fish, meat, and vegetarian. We also had starters and some had desserts. This was mostly as the prices were very reasonable; mains around 15 euros. Our bill only came to around 36 euros each, so we left a hefty tip as the service was spot on. Our waiter was a polite and sociable Englishman who chatted to us as he served us our sangria on the terrace and waited our table when we were eating. The atmosphere was lovely, and was reasonably quiet on the Monday night we went.
Overall I can't fault this place, it's just far enough away from the centre that you don't get people wandering by. I only wish that we had found this beauty of a restaurant on the first day of our holiday, so we could have gone back again and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank benjamoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Castelo do Mar Bar, Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing