We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jo Jo's Restaurante

Jo Jo's Restaurante
Ranked #622 of 769 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

17 people on holiday can find it hard to fit into a restaurant but Louise and her gang couldn't have been more helpful, moving tables around when all we wanted was a drink. We booked a few tables for the following night to partake of their €5 special. We were very impressed by the quality of the food and the attention we received from the staff. Nothing was too much bother. One of my 5 grandsons was ill and Louise sent a staff member with my son-in-law to the pharmacy for medication. She gave us details of hospitals and telephone numbers for emergency services and a blanket to keep him warm ( sorry we didnt get it back to you).
I would recommend the food and attention to all if you are in the old town albufeira.
Thanks for everything x

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PammyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    16
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best tomato soup in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Called in here a couple of times for snacks only at a lunch time, lovely spot (when the sun is out,- it was march) , friendly service, fresh,good value food, and the best tomato soup in the world. Premises is clean, well maintained. Poor,friendly, freezing tout Laura, had to put up with the "summer" wind, being completely snubbed and the nutty woman with her ratty bloody dogs everyday.Will go back for an evening meal next visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigwaverider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food not even fit for a dog!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Be very wary of this place!! Its under 2 names on this site, 'Jo Jo's Restuarnat, Pizzeria' and 'Jojo's'..
The guy outside dosnt have a clue what hes talking about. he claims they are experts in food. We got a frozen meat piece disguised to be a fillet steak!! Spagetti sauce for soup and jelly cheese for a goats cheese starter!! Who do they think their fooling!
5 star prices for 1 star meals!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrendous food at premium rates, give it a wide birth.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went here with my wife and 7 month old son on the last night of our week long stay in Albufeira. First impressions were positive with a friendly greeting from staff who were polite and warm with good English. I ordered fish soup and pasta carbonara. My wife ordered smoked salmon with avocado to start, though the avocado element never actually appeared in the dish. She also ordered the steak tournador, which at €21.50, was the most expensive steak on the list. After asking for the steak to be cooked medium, it arrived almost blue. When we asked for the steak to be cooked a little more, it came back well done, but cut in half. When we asked why it had been cut in half, it transpired that it was actually someone else's dinner who had had the same complaint.
The steak was

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I liked everything ,Food well presented tasted divine.Door men pushy but food backed up their claims.Found on last night what a shame.If i go back to Albuferia this will be my first port of call.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo Jo's Restaurante also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Jo Jo's Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing