We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View and best meal in Albufeira”
Review of The Beach Basket

The Beach Basket
Ranked #44 of 811 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the Old Town with a terrace overlooking the main beach - wonderful food and delightful, friendly, helpful staff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing View and best meal in Albufeira”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

this little restaurant restored our faith in Portuguese cooking and was the first place everyone left happy. This was our last meal on holiday and it was great to sit outside and watch the sun go down over the beach. small confusion over one order but the staff were so apologetic and dealt with this straight away. Extremely good service and very happy. I will definitely head back here next time

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqui909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    142
    39
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary meal”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Had our anniversary meal here while on holiday, This is a very well run friendly place with beautiful authentic Algarvian food.
We decided on the Seafood Cataplana, which came with two lobster Tails, whole crab cut in half, Giant prawns and Clams cooked in a fantastic tomato and garlic stock. It was simply sensational.
It cost €54 and took nearly an hour to eat. Well worth spoiling yourself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My wife's favourite”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Went here twice on our recent visit to Albufeira, once was for lunch and once for our dinner.
First of all the views over the beach are amazing, my wife fell in love with the place there and then, we both had the seafood spaghetti which was ideal for lunch as there was plenty of seafood and just enough spaghetti.
We enjoyed it so much we booked a table for the Saturday evening, if anything that was even more enjoyable. We both had starters, then my wife had prawn and scallop kebab and I had medallions of monkfish, both meals were outstanding, the food was washed down with a bottle of wine which was reccomended by the lady serving us and was fantastic.
We will certainly be going back on our next visit to Albufeira in June.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food great views”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ambiance , views fab, meal great, but staff running around as only two serving. Portuguese steak is a must.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best meal in Albufiera”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was definitely our favourite restaurant in Albufeira. We ate 3 times and have no complaints. It has a family feel to it, although I'm not 100% sure if it is a family run business. We were served by Rita all 3 times. Cannot compliment her enough, her passion and knowledge for the food and wine was outstanding. There was also a younger chap running the floor who was also very helpful. All 3 occasions I ate the Goats Cheese starter, this was in a pastry base with apple puree and the girlled goats cheese and honey on top dressed with rocket leaves - best goats cheese combination I have ever tried! Amazing! By boyfriend ate the mussles twice (very good!) and clams once as starters. For mains the seabass is to die for! So meaty and fresh. The chefs grill the seabass in a homemade garlic and parsley olive oil which makes the seabass at The Beach Basket stand out from any other grilled fish you can get in Albufiera. Was fastastic. Finally, the homemade desserts.... the tiramisu, again, to die for! Lighter than air and incredibly creamy. The restaurant is quite rustic, nothing fancy, old Portugese building. Nice outside seating area with lovely views of Fisherman's beach. Can't compliment the restaurant enough, and my boyfriend and I have very high standards from both working in the catering industry. A must visit!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CM9493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Basket also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Beach Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing