We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Luna Clube Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luna Clube Oceano
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First time in Albufeira and stayed at Clube Oceano exactly half way between Old Town and the Strip. Only second time self catering as usually book long haul - all exclusive destinations.

All Staff at Oceano were without doubt, friendly, extremely helpful and professional. Our apartment was spotless, cleaned every day and nothing too much trouble. Extremely relaxed location appealing to mature couples, young couples and families. Would definately recommend these apartments and the beautiful culture of Portugese people. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JellyBean5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    208
    48
    9
    4
See reviews for
125
237
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from a weeks stay in the Clube Oceano in September 2012. When we arrived to check in the receptionist could not have been any more helpful. She has good English and pointed out to us on a map we could keep where the strip, old town and nearest supermarkets were which was handy as I had never been to Albufeira.
We had a studio appartment which was 2 floors below the reception which worried me as I thought it would be a bit dark and underground feeling. I had nothing to worry about, the studio was bright enought and led out on to the pool area. There was a seperate kitchen area which was fully equipped. The terrace that led out to the pool had sun all day which was a bonus. We had a twin room but pushed the beds together to make a double.
The pool area itself was great. There were 2 pools, one larger and one for small children, and both were clean. There were enough beds that even if you wanted a lie in you could still go out and get one whatever the time of day.
There was built in air con which wasn't great but did a job and you could rent a safety deposit box for 30E and get 15E back when you left.
One of my main negatives was lack of mirror in the main room, there was only one in the bathroom but obviously for drying and straightening hair thats useless so had to use my own tiny mirror.
The rooms could definately do with a bit of a do up but for a weeks stay at a reasonable price they were more than fine and id happily stay here again.
if you dont want to walk far for food there was a lovely restaurant at the top of the street at the hotel, and it was fairly priced.
The location was grand, the strip was only a 10 minute walk away, and the old town was about 20 minutes. Fine on the way there but at night theres a bit of a hill to get back up to the hotel so if walkings not your thing get a taxi, these only cost 4.5E max. There are two ways to get to Old Town from the hotel, along the main road or you could also walk along the beach and up the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just arrived back from Clube oceano after a weeks stay with my boyfriend. On arrival we were given an apartment room which we were pleased about as we only booked for a studio. However after a day there we were told we had to move to a studio as people had arrived wanting that room. This we were not pleased about as it meant we had to pack and unpack again.
The hotel and pool area is standard and basic but nice, no problems there. The beach is literally a 2 minute walk downhill and is beatiful. The old town is lovely, so much to do and such a good atmosphere. Its about a 15 minute walk downhill and up another smaller hill, and as you can imagine, it is quite tiring to do in the blistering heat. In the end we decided on getting taxi backs which were a reasonable price of €4.
Overall a good hotel with a good location!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week in Club Oceana. We were 2 girls on a weeks break. The apartment was spacious with 2 beds, fully fitted kitchen and bathroom. We were in room 110 looking over the pool area. Plenty of sunbeds, main reason for that was "pool lady" lifted towels if you were away more than 1/2 an hour which we found awful and we had to take it in turns to go to apartment and eat lunch. We stayed at the pool for 3 days and then went to the beach which was 5 minutes away as we were so fed up with her. Apartment other staff were great and friendly. Towels changed every other day, beds really comfortable. Club Oceana is in the middle betwen the old town and the strip. 15 miutes will walk you into either although into the old town has a bit of a hill (no real problem.As you come out of the apartments onto the main street there is a great coffee shop where again the staff are really friendly. Meals out were great value and we paid no more than 20 euros for meal and bottle of house wine. All in all great holiday except for "pool lady", her shop did not have much of a choice in it, beer,soft drinks, ice lollies would have been the most. Wel done Jet 2 holidays

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor and great view. Don't need to bring a kettle, fully equipped kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frances1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just back from Club Oceano 3 days ago. The apartments were really big, clean and all had a pool view. The location was excellent as you had the choice of the strip and the old town with some fab restaurants in between.

The 'pool lady,' Jane is lovely and people don't seem to appreciate how helpful she is. There was a mix of people around the pool from families with young children to groups of young adults who could be a bit excitable. Jane kept order at the pool, kept the groups of young people in check and ensured all felt comfortable and enjoyed their time in the sun. She had a good range of snacks and drinks which meant that not being allowed to eat at the pool was no problem.

I would def return to this hotel or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed in a studio for three. we were expecting to be on the lower floor having read all the reviews but were on the first floor. The studios on the lower floor looked absolutely fine it wouldn't have bothered me having one of those.
POSITIVES - staff friendly and helpful. studio large with decent kitcchen facilities. nearby snack bars and mini markets. never had a problem getting sunbeds round pool.above all a fantastic location - 15 mins walk to top of escalators (slow walk!!) and 15 mins to strip. 5 mins to the beautiful beach. Our studio had a massive balcony - they get smaller the higher the floor.
NEGATIVES - everything a little bit tired, could do with some tlc. eg cracked tiles in pool, fridge really old and struggling to work properly. there were lots of groups of youngsters staying here. on the whole this caused absolutely no problems they were relatively quiet and well behaved!! Just one night there was a lot of noise at 4.00am. no mirror anywhere except the bathroom - take one with you! only about 5 coathangers - again I was expecting this so took a dozen with me! worst thing was the air con. this is the only thing that would put me off going back here. it was really old and inefficient. even if we left it on the lowest setting all day the room was still too hot to sleep.
All in all I would recommend these apartments for the location, which is everything in Albufeira! If they bothered to spend some money on the air-con and some updating they would be perfect!

Room Tip: The lower ground studios are no darker than the 1st floor ones as the first floor ones have massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thegambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lovely holiday with my boyfriend having spent 10 nights at this hotel. Location was perfect 5 mins to the beach and supermarket and about 15-20 minutes walk to the new town the 'strip'and old town. You could walk to the old town either by road or walk straight along the beach to the main bit which was a lovely walk.The maids came round everyday and had clean towels every 3 days. When we first got there we have a basement apartment which i didnt like as it was dark being just below the pool but ideal if you want quick access to the pool area but as soon as i went to reception to say i disliked the location they were happy to help and we changed rooms to my delight. The shower wasnt great just a trickle which was abit frustrating but the studio apartment was very spacious but needed modernising. Was not a fan of the women who owned the pool bar as you were not allowed any of your own food and drink and she was constantly on the lookout for anyone who was drinking beverages or food that wasnt bought from her bar so you felt constantly on edge as her bar was too expensive. We took a couple of trips that the receptionist had recommended at a cheaper rate than the tour operators and was very reasonable. We went to Seville in Spain which was a gorgeous city took 3 hrs to get there and we did a catamaran cruise along the algarve coastline both are definately worth doing

Room Tip: Get a higher room for better view as basement rooms are dark and lead straight onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katiew325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
3,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Oceano

Property: Luna Clube Oceano
Address: Rua Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro | Forte de São João, Albufeira 8200-110, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel apartment Luna Clube Oceano is a friendly and modern 3* complex, located in Albufeira, in the heart of the Algarve, just 100 meters from S. Joao beach. Luna Clube Oceano offers a peaceful location and feature apartments equipped with balcony with pool view. The hotel facilities are ideal for couples and families that wish to be close to the center and the beach, seeking for a friendly service and a relaxing break. Luna Clube Oceano is set on a hill and offer a peaceful location and very close to the beach, where a wide selection of watersports are offered. The local restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walk and feature a lively nightlife. It offers the ideal location for those who wish to explore the Algarve, or simply relaxing by the pool or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Clube Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Oceano Hotel Albufeira
Clube Oceano Aparthotel Albufeira
Luna Clube Oceano Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing